English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2013, 17:19   #1
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Question 8 GB Compact Flash card

I read the pinned guide:

Quote:
The 7,87GB limitDescription: Max HDD or card capacity 7,87GB (total drive size).
Applies to: A600/1200/4000 IDE with modern filesystem but original IDE driver (scsi.device)

Reason: CHS addressing is artificially limited to 7,87GB (16383/16/63) by the ATA-specification, therefore larger drives still report 7.87GB size when accessed with CHS. (CHS was made obsolete in ATA-6 in 2002)

Source: Scsi.device, as it only supports CHS addressing. (But when given larger than ATA-standard CHS values, it works correctly up to 128GB.)


So, can explain me what is the easiest way to make the 8GB CF card work on my A1200? Is the scsi.device available in WinUAE and how do I set it up?

Thanks.


Kenan is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 17:40   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,728
In WinUAE select an A1200 or A4000 quickstart config. To be sure, go to the ROMs page and check that it has selected an A1200 or A4000 ROM, then go to the Chipset page and check that it has selected a chipset matching the ROM.

Now go to the Harddrives page, click on Add Harddrive, select your CF card, tick the Read/Write box and change controller to IDE0. The latter will connect the CF card to the internal IDE port of the emulated Amiga.

Now you can handle the CF card with Amiga software as if it was connected to a real Amiga (which means it uses scsi.device as driver).

To make all 7.87 GiB available you only need a capable file system, for example Aminet - disk/misc/pfs3aio.lha

Note that 7.87 GiB means 8,455,200,768 Bytes. Most manufacturers would call this 8.46 GB which means that your 8 GB card is probably smaller than the limit. What I want to say is that it's not worth the hassle with scsi.device patches because the mentioned file system is sufficient for 8 GB.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 19:35   #3
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^Thank you.
Kenan is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 20:22   #4
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
This is just great..I inserted a CF to the card reader on the PC (the card already has WB installed, it's a 4GB card) just to test things out, and even after loading up Install 3.1. and setting the device as either SCSI or Uahf in the Information (-> Save) and then clicking on the HDToolBox icon, it simply can't list/see my CF card as a hard drive. What am I doing wrong?
Kenan is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 21:25   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,770
Is it mounted properly in WinUAE?
It has to say [3.8GB, RW] next to the CF card in the harddrive list.

Edit: Use uaehf.device is you select UAE controller, scsi.device if IDE0.
demolition is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 21:41   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Are you running as Admin? (You must 'right click' and run as 'administrator' on the Icon)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 21:54   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Are you running as Admin? (You must 'right click' and run as 'administrator' on the Icon)
Shouldn't be necessary with an already prepared card, but still can't hurt. At least I never had trouble booting from CF cards in non-admin mode.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compact Flash card - how to format/partition and install WB? RGB_Gamer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 15 02 March 2010 13:45
selling a compact flash card? anyone steve_uktv MarketPlace 14 07 February 2010 02:03
Compact Flash Card as a Disk in WinUAE? Tempest 2084 support.WinUAE 36 30 May 2009 20:35
Compact Flash card as floppy drive? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 4 31 July 2007 19:27
How To Get A600 To Read Compact Flash Card ? Rich M Amiga scene 5 02 May 2005 07:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06809 seconds with 13 queries