English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2018, 06:06   #1
trumpy81
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 15
WinUAE preventing screensaver

Since I started using WinUAE 3.6.0 and now WinUAE 3.6.1 it has prevented my Win 10 screensaver from starting up after I have closed WinUAE.

I have disabled the option in WinUAE Host > Miscellaneous > Disable screensaver, but that has no effect in restoring the screensaver after I have run WinUAE.

The only way I can get the screensaver to work again is to reboot windows.

I have checked the ScreenSaveActive registry entry and it is correctly set to 1.

Is there another setting I have missed or ... ??

I should also add, that my monitors do not turn off either, probably because the screensaver does not run.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by trumpy81; 12 March 2018 at 08:47.
trumpy81 is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 11:34   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,916
This does not sound like WinUAE directly causing it because it does not do any global changes and all local changes automatically disappear when program exits.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 11:52   #3
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 134
Do you need screensaver? Screensavers are made for CRT monitors. With modern monitors they are unnecessary. Except if you need to lock down your computer.
Tomislav is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 11:55   #4
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 576
screensavers are still a thing!?
-Acid- is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 14:14   #5
trumpy81
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This does not sound like WinUAE directly causing it because it does not do any global changes and all local changes automatically disappear when program exits.
I have checked repeatedly and I only have a problem with the screensaver and monitors not turning off after I have run WinUAE.

If I don't run WinUAE then I don't have any issue with the screensaver or monitors turning off.

If you have any ideas what the issue might be, I'm all ears
trumpy81 is offline  
Old 12 March 2018, 16:44   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,916
Does it happen if you only open GUI?
Does it happen if you run it only in window mode? In fullscreen mode?

DirectDraw/D3D9/D3D11 mode?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 00:09   #7
trumpy81
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 15
If I opened the WinUAE properties window at all the SS would stop running afterwards, it was occuring after I ran a VM also. I only run my VM's in windowed mode.

Window style = standard
Graphics API = Direct 3D 11
Graphics API Options = Hardware D3D11

I have Picasso 96 installed using the UAEgfx settings only. Screen size is currently set to 1600x900 32bit.

Of course, I just opened the WinUAE Properties window and let the computer sit with it open and it ran the screensaver and shut off the monitors as it should.

I then started a VM and ran it for a minute or two and then closed WinUAE. The screensaver did not run when expected, but the monitors turned off at the time the screensaver should have started running.

I think something weird is going on here. I have a feeling this may be related to my GFX card somehow or possibly Direct 3D.

I am running the following specs for my PC, if it matters:

Corsair Carbide 400R MidTower Case (modified for SATA access)
Intel Core i7 5930K Haswell-E 3.5GHz 8MB - Running @ 4.3GHz (Stable)
Corsair H80 Liquid CPU Cooler
Asus X99 Rampage V Extreme (BIOS v3801)
G Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-3000C15-4GRR @ 3000MHz x4 16GB Total
Samsung SM951 MZVPV512HDGL-00000 M.2 512GB SSD
Samsung 850 Pro Series 2.5" 256GB SSD
Samsung 830 Pro Series 2.5" 256GB SSD
6x Seagate ST4000VN000 4TB NAS 3.5" Hard Drives
2x Seagate ST6000VN0021 6TB NAS 3.5" Hard Drive
ASUS DRW-24D3ST CD/DVD Burner
Nvidia Geforce GTX 1060
2x Asus VE278Q 27" Monitors
Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Logitech G502 Mouse
Corsair RM1000 1000w Modular Power Supply
Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit (UEFI Mode On)

Last edited by trumpy81; 13 March 2018 at 05:36.
trumpy81 is offline  
Old 13 March 2018, 00:35   #8
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
Do you need screensaver? Screensavers are made for CRT monitors. With modern monitors they are unnecessary. Except if you need to lock down your computer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
screensavers are still a thing!?
I was going to post the same thing, but I figured I would be seen as unhelpful.

Then again, I've seen screensavers that actually worsened the problem with CRT displays, like Disney ones which burn "© Disney" into the screen because they're always there, in direct violation of the principle of a screensaver. D'oh!
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preventing amigas from getting yellow with time paulo_becas support.Hardware 19 28 June 2015 16:17
Software failure preventing completion of Dispossable hero apachacha support.WinUAE 1 25 September 2011 12:25
My Amiga screensaver. Dan Nostalgia & memories 1 04 July 2011 23:13
boing ball screensaver for PC boing_1000 request.Other 4 19 November 2006 21:50
the best screensaver Thalion request.Apps 6 29 July 2005 16:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06523 seconds with 15 queries