English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2018, 11:39   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,267
Does ClassicWB support SFS/PFS3 or long file names in general?

If I create a. vhd file using this filing system, will I be able to use long 107-character filenames as supported by AmigaOS, and as I can do when using a PC folder in WinUAE?

Also, how can I reduce DOpus to one directory window rather than two, to fit in those long names if so?

Last edited by Foebane; 05 March 2018 at 12:05.
Foebane is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 12:49   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Also, how can I reduce DOpus to one directory window rather than two, to fit in those long names if so?
With Dopus4 you can not have a single window, you can instead dock, see screenshots (you can do this with Dopus5)
With Dopus4 you can not see names above its availability (you can do this with Dopus5)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 April 2018 at 18:14.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 05 March 2018, 12:52   #3
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 575
With psf3aio is a tool in the full dist called setfnsize in C, load up a shell and type in setfnsize dh0: 107 - you need to do it for every partition you want long filenames on and it will be set to the maximum length (of 107 including extentions).
-Acid- is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 12:53   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
will I be able to use long 107-character filenames as supported by AmigaOS
look at the overview image of the CF / SD and large drives FAQ,
Names column: PFS3 AIO 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
With psf3aio is a tool in the full dist called setfnsize in C,
which full version?
pfs3aio.lha 2.3 on aminet does not include this tool.

#1) the original PFS3 aminet release does include that tool

Last edited by emufan; 05 March 2018 at 13:01.
emufan is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 18:18   #5
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,267
I've got a problem with using a Windows folder as an Amiga HDD in WinUAE: the filenames of that drive, under emulation, are also truncated to 30 characters - why is that? I'm sure the filename length was a lot less limited before.

The only change I can think of is that I moved my ClassicWB install over to a FFS VHD with RDB - could that have limited the length of all filenames under that OS, for some reason?
Foebane is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 18:25   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Super long filenames create all sorts of trouble in many programs (like DirWork). Avoid.

Also, ClassicWB is not an OS, it's an AmigaOS packaged with stuff. So whatever AMigaOS can or cannot do, classicWB is the same.
Akira is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 18:36   #7
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 782
In Dopus4, you should be able to grab the middle between the two windows and enlarge one of them by dragging to the left or right.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 18:37   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,553
What do you need the long names?, these only create problems for you. Without using long names because you do not use file comments?
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 05 March 2018, 18:39   #9
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Super long filenames create all sorts of trouble in many programs (like DirWork). Avoid.

Also, ClassicWB is not an OS, it's an AmigaOS packaged with stuff. So whatever AMigaOS can or cannot do, classicWB is the same.
So I should stay as I am, with the 30-character limit? Then again, my current DOpus is easier to use, and I think longer filenames would make it more awkward. And it is working fine at the moment, but I've come across a few examples where 30 characters would NEARLY force me to shorten some names.
Foebane is offline  
Old 05 March 2018, 20:03   #10
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
What do you need the long names?, these only create problems for you. Without using long names because you do not use file comments?
I have an HTML list of demos as named by Pouet.net, and some of them can get really long, but I still wanted to use those names for the .lha archives together with a space and a number to represent the Amiga model they're for.

For example, original HTML list:

Quote:
AUSTRALIAN DRUG FOUNDATION evening at basrah 4000
AUSTRALIAN DRUG FOUNDATION feeling blue 4000
AUSTRALIAN DRUG FOUNDATION outside planet earth 4000
Then the .lha filenames, with the names cropped to 28 characters (so they can be extracted directly into Amiga folders under emulation) and the number for the model:

Code:
AUSTRALIAN DRUG FOUNDATION e 4.lha
AUSTRALIAN DRUG FOUNDATION f 4.lha
AUSTRALIAN DRUG FOUNDATION o 4.lha
The final Amiga folder names are the above, minus the .lha.

As you can see, this is the closest I've come to having to break my rules concerning naming convention, although I'd have to adapt if there was a longer group name.

But I guess I'll have to stick with it. At least it's not the Atari ST, which is a whole smorgasbord of restrictions with the 8.3 filenames.
Foebane is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 10:49   #11
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
the original PFS3 aminet release does include that tool
Yes that's what I meant, aio only includes the handler.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 10:51   #12
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
The only change I can think of is that I moved my ClassicWB install over to a FFS VHD with RDB - could that have limited the length of all filenames under that OS, for some reason?
FFS is limited to 32 character filenames iirc, but if adding a pc folder as a drive you should not get any shortened filenames.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 06 March 2018, 23:07   #13
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 1,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
if adding a pc folder as a drive you should not get any shortened filenames.
I didn't get shortened filenames in the past, but I am now, even in regular WB.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 + KS3.1 + ClassicWB + PFS3 , am I safe with 4+GB HD? keropi support.Apps 20 14 February 2008 17:52
VERY long names in whd update packs... keropi project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 54 03 April 2007 01:18
LHA32 long names kipper2k New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 08 September 2006 00:12
long file names in PC to Amiga SeeD32 support.Apps 9 19 October 2002 22:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09342 seconds with 15 queries