English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2018, 17:49   #1701
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,351
To check things on disks I usually just load my ClassicWB Lite 3.1 .HDF and insert the desired disk (and hope it's not NDOS)
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 17:57   #1702
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
dir instead of cd/echo, since you can start sys:c/example,
but with cd/echo you have no clue what's on the disk
Yeh.. Judging by the ROM residents in 2.x+ they were mainly looking to optimize startup times for floppy users. :-) Many startup-sequence related commands are in ROM.
Jope is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 18:44   #1703
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
back in time, with only an A500 it was no fun, and so it's today using emulators

for sure I would have bought a flash kickstart module to make some additions,
if those thing were available in the old days
emufan is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 19:32   #1704
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
Does compression of data on Amiga DD disks gives loading speed advance versus the same data written uncompressed on disk?


For example what is the difference between 128 KB data loaded, vs 64 KB loaded and then decompressed to 128 KB (assuming 50% compression effectiveness and fast depacking algo, like PowerPacker)?
I imagine so. Floppy disks are very slow.

You need extra RAM though. In your example you need 64KB+128KB+the size of the decompression routine.

There are probably some tricks to reduce RAM, like using 1 buffer of 128K and decompressing 'backwards'.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 19:33   #1705
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 121
HARD DISK (2 partitions, Work & System): 692459 graphics mem, 0 other mem

CF (1 partition System): 710698 graphics mem, 0 other mem
jolly11 is offline  
Old 03 February 2018, 12:57   #1706
MajicMushroom
Proper Old Skool Scener
MajicMushroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 210
What the hell is Bogo RAM?
MajicMushroom is offline  
Old 03 February 2018, 15:48   #1707
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 573
TO use ide0 as the hd controller in WinUAE is it just a case of disabling JIT and enabling A600/1200 IDE?
-Acid- is offline  
Old 03 February 2018, 19:35   #1708
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajicMushroom View Post
What the hell is Bogo RAM?
Guessing someone's funny name for $C00000 RAM?
Jope is offline  
Old 04 February 2018, 02:02   #1709
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The 256k ROM space of 1.x was so tight that they had to leave all the ROM resident commands out.
It's worse than that actually, they waited until the beginning of the month to get single digit dates!
NorthWay is offline  
Old 04 February 2018, 08:52   #1710
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Heh, got any link to that anecdote? :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 04 February 2018, 22:25   #1711
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Heh, got any link to that anecdote? :-)
"The Amiga Years" book IIRC.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 09 February 2018, 19:19   #1712
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
Some questions that will make me look very stupid but I'm too lazy to create a fake account to post them :-)

1) What's the need for "Version >NIL:" and "FailAt 21" at beginning of a stock Startup-Sequence ?
2) Which *%ç%* hardware really needs drivers to be loaded with BindDrivers ?

Thanks in advance
TuKo is offline  
Old 09 February 2018, 19:34   #1713
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
1) What's the need for "Version >NIL:" and "FailAt 21" at beginning of a stock Startup-Sequence ?
I've seen when you quit some games it fails with a returncode:



If you use / set "FailAt 21" then you don't see the message.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 February 2018, 19:43   #1714
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 241
Thanks DamienD, my question wasn't maybe precise enough. Why did Commmodore/AmigaTech/Escom/whatever did put this one in their Workbench Startup-Sequence ? Were they expecting something failing with Error 20 ?
TuKo is offline  
Old 09 February 2018, 19:50   #1715
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
Thanks DamienD, my question wasn't maybe precise enough. Why did Commmodore/AmigaTech/Escom/whatever did put this one in their Workbench Startup-Sequence ? Were they expecting something failing with Error 20 ?
No, failat sets the level at which the script will halt and not continue.
So with FailAt 21 it means that any error below 21 will not halt the whole startup-sequence, it will just fail at that line and go on. I don't think they did it to expect something failing, rather to make the startup-sequence work through even if something you add fails.

http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/AmigaOS...ference#FAILAT

>NIL: redirects anything the command outputs to the null device. This is so nothing is shown on a shell window. It's useful in the beginning of the startup-sequence, because it will not open a Shell window until there's some output. There could be tiny memory implications on this (opening a screen with a Shell window uses memory) but mostly, it will mean your boot will go almost directly to WB without showing a Shell window (unless other stuff throws output).

It also cleans up the startup, otherwise everything would be verbose.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 February 2018, 19:50   #1716
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
Some questions that will make me look very stupid but I'm too lazy to create a fake account to post them :-)

1) What's the need for "Version >NIL:" and "FailAt 21" at beginning of a stock Startup-Sequence ?
2) Which *%ç%* hardware really needs drivers to be loaded with BindDrivers ?

Thanks in advance
1)
"version >NIL:" does not much, if it is not followed by something like:
"version >NIL: exec.library 45 20"
this would test the version of exec and return 20 if it is too low, but be quiet if it is all right.

if you put "FailAt 21" before that, the script would continue even with the error code 20 thrown.

2)
E.g. the A2088 (XT) Bridgeboard needs BindDrivers
Gorf is offline  
Old 09 February 2018, 23:25   #1717
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,637
I think the A2090 also uses BindDrivers, and the Oktapussy replacement firmware for Oktagon/Alfadata controllers can be loaded using BindDrivers.
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 February 2018, 01:38   #1718
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
2) Which *%ç%* hardware really needs drivers to be loaded with BindDrivers ?
It's a nice cost reduction feature. You need a ROM, traces, interfacing logic and such on the card to handle this, but with the driver on file you can do without. It is obviously not the best solution for something that you would use to start up the machine, but for other purposes, why not?

And AFAIK the ROM driver is copied to ram in the same fashion as would a BindDrivers version file so you can make both version with a few build time switches.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 10 February 2018, 08:57   #1719
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
No, failat sets the level at which the script will halt and not continue.
So with FailAt 21 it means that any error below 21 will not halt the whole startup-sequence, it will just fail at that line and go on. I don't think they did it to expect something failing, rather to make the startup-sequence work through even if something you add fails.
Basically if you intend on using the If command's WARN/ERROR/FAIL parameters, 21 is the minimum FailAt level you can run at, so it is set in there for you.

http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/AmigaOS...d_Reference#IF
Jope is offline  
Old 10 February 2018, 15:00   #1720
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,255
Version >NIL: might not look useful, but it does actually do something - it opens version.library and also sets two environmental variables with the version information of Kickstart and Workbench. Other parts of the startup sequence can then check Kickstart or Workbench versions without having to run the Version command again.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 12:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 16:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 22:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 10:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14087 seconds with 16 queries