English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2010, 13:31   #1
AndersHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 111
Installing laptop cd-drive in A1200

Hey

I'm thinking about replacing my external ugly and old CD-drive for my A1200 with an internal one e.g. from a laptop machine instead..

But I'm not really a master of the tweaks and mods of Amiga's (I prefer to use them as nostalgic gamemachines), so I was hoping it could be simple "plug & play"-procedure since my current CD-drive works fine.

It is connected with IDE as well as the external HD, so my plan was:

Replace old external HD with CF card
Replace old external CD-drive with CD or DVD or such from a laptop
install everything inside the Amiga, for better and more "original" look.

Can you recommend any cheap, slim cd-drives that will install easily to my original setup? Or will this setup require other tweaks, mods and installations that won't easily do on a somewhat standard A1200?

What about power - does a laptop cd-drive work exactly like an external? I'm thinking the IDE hd and CD that I'm using now needs powercables from the board, but the ATA in the motherboard will work fine with a laptop cd-drive AND deliver power as well, right?

Last edited by AndersHP; 18 August 2010 at 13:55.
AndersHP is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 August 2010, 14:34   #2
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
I mount a slim cd-rom in the a1200 (slave) and a cf 4mega with cf-ide, i have installed ide-fix software and all are ok.

You have external cd-rom?
Please send more info
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 21 August 2010, 18:08   #3
AndersHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 111
Yes I currently have an external CD-rom drive installed as well as an external 3,5 inch harddrive. They are connected with IDE cables sticking out of the Amiga.

I just wondered if installing a laptop cd-rom drive would apply directly onto the A1200 mobo, as well as replacing the 3,5inch HD with a CF.

So, like this:

MOBO -> IDE cable -> CF -> IDE cable -> laptop cd-rom drive

Using a cable like this:
http://www.vesalia.de/?V02b0f1354554...d20076b6a7b247

Onto CF like this:
http://www.vesalia.de/e_cfide44adapter.htm

3 questions:

1) Is this easily possible?
It would be quite neat to have both hd and cd inside the Amiga, instead of having all these external drives lying around...

2) Will this require extra mods of the Amiga or is it possible to do on a stock A1200?

3) Is it true, that the IDE-controller on the A1200 mobo is a 44pin, so "all" I have to do is buy the two parts mentioned above, as well as a laptop cd-drive with 44-pin IDE interface? Or is modern IDE-drives nowadays with 40 or 50-pins? I have seen both... Also I've seen mentioned that the 44-pin controller on the motherboard is a 44-pin ATA, which confuses me even more.. Is it IDE or ATA?

Last edited by AndersHP; 21 August 2010 at 20:49.
AndersHP is offline  
Old 21 August 2010, 23:58   #4
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
the cable is ok

the cfide in other link are 2,40 €

1) easy

2) you must create a hole for the tray of cd-rom

3) ide, eide, ata, pata are equal, the pin 41,42,43,44 are power 5 volt

you only add a jumper in cd-rom to set slave

i refurbished a toshiba xm-1402b

look here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=48042
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 00:53   #5
AndersHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 111
Yeah that looks exactly like what I was thinking, thanks!

The IDEFIX-adapter, what does it do exactly? The toshiba-drive is 2,5 inch IDE interface, is it not? Or is the IDE-fix a 2,5 inch -> 3,5 inch converter?
AndersHP is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 00:59   #6
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
in my a1200, only cable 44pin and software idefix (no adapter)

next time i insert photo
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 01:01   #7
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
i use http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/IDEfix97
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 01:15   #8
AndersHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 111
Ah sorry, I thought it was your Amiga on the photos.. I'd like to see a photo of your setup?
Does IDEFIX '97 do the same thing as the IDEFIX-adapter on the photos?

Last edited by AndersHP; 22 August 2010 at 01:22.
AndersHP is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 05:43   #9
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,161
Your don't need the IDEFIX adaptor if only using 2 IDE devices, it simply allows you to use more.

It sounds like you already have the software end sorted out if previously using a CD-ROM, so now it's just hardware you need to worry about.

The IDE adaptors I've seen (& used) for laptop drives are all 40 pin, so you'll need a cable with 2x 44 pin connectors & 1x 40 pin connector.(motherboard-44 pin, CF adaptor-44 pin, CD-ROM adaptor-40 pin)
AmigaKit should be able to help you out there.

Steal the CD-ROM's voltage from the FDD power cable, simply run four extra wires & a plug off it.

If this is already covered in the link provided, nevermind.
PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 10:56   #10
AndersHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 111
OK I understand the principle, but cannot seem to find a IDE cable 44 - 44 - 40 at neither AmigaKit or Vesalia Online..

The "missing" 4 pins is the power I guess?
Is it possible to buy an adapter for the CD-drive instead? 44 pin - 40 pin + power?

And just to be sure: It's all 2,5 inch, right? I mean 40 and 44 pins are available in both 2,5 and 3,5 inch, I gather?

Last edited by AndersHP; 22 August 2010 at 11:03.
AndersHP is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 11:30   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,521
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
2.5" drives are 44 pin, 3.5" drives are 40 pin..

Really old laptop CD drives are 44pin, more modern ones have a special 50pin connector, you can find adapters so you can plug these into a 44 pin or 40 pin cable.

The four extra pins are power and ground. The adapters supply these separately. The rest of the pins are identical.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 11:49   #12
AndersHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
2.5" drives are 44 pin, 3.5" drives are 40 pin..

Really old laptop CD drives are 44pin, more modern ones have a special 50pin connector, you can find adapters so you can plug these into a 44 pin or 40 pin cable.
So I guess the easiest would be to buy a Toshiba drive like mentioned above:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Toshiba-XM-140...orage_Internal

It seems to be 44 pin, meaning it would fit right into the setup I mention..?
AndersHP is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 12:03   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,521
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Yep, but be advised that there may be compatibility issues. I have two 44 pin cd-roms and only one of them work in the A1200.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 August 2010, 16:26   #14
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 669
40 $ is crazy

http://img833.imageshack.us/i/dscf8194.jpg/
http://img844.imageshack.us/i/dscf8195.jpg/
cpiac64 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a 2nd hard drive on an A1200 Bead support.Hardware 12 17 October 2011 21:13
Western Digital 60GB Laptop Drive and an Amiga A1200 Claw22000 support.Hardware 24 21 March 2009 15:10
Installing a 20gB drive in a A1200'a ? Mr B support.Hardware 46 08 March 2007 10:49
Installing OS 3.9 on A1200 with no CD drive DanE support.Hardware 5 05 September 2006 14:32
For Sale: 1.5GB Laptop Hard Drive (for A1200) rattus MarketPlace 1 07 November 2005 10:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22510 seconds with 11 queries