English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2003, 15:34   #1
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s

Not a problem as such, but seemed the best place to post this.

What's people's opinions of these accelerators? Worth the £89.99? I heard the Apollos can't be disabled with a simple key press which is a bit offputting.

Speedwise though, it should surpass my Blizzard 030 by a long way.

Any advice would be appreciated
Echo is offline  
Old 22 November 2003, 19:32   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 946
No, no, no, no no. No. No no no. Worst £250 (at the time) I've ever spent. If someone offered me an Apollo 060 board for free, I'd laugh and turn it down. Don't buy it.
ant512 is offline  
Old 22 November 2003, 19:38   #3
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
get one. worth it. got a blizzard 060 myself with key disactivation mind

think i recall they run colder than a 030 card too
Antiriad is offline  
Old 22 November 2003, 20:26   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Apollo Cards suck ! They are for sure faster than any 030 but the card itself is a mess .... they are unstable as hell, the SCSI ports are REALLY slow and buggy .... for half the price above, MAYBE but else..... nonono
RetroMan is offline  
Old 22 November 2003, 20:28   #5
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally posted by Antiriad
get one. worth it. got a blizzard 060 myself with key disactivation mind

think i recall they run colder than a 030 card too
If you can get a Blizzard 060, you should definitely get one. Got two here - excellent boards. The Apollo, however, is still crap. Quick list of crapness:

- Software-only SCSI
- Cannot be disabled
- Extremely picky about SIMMs
- Software incompatibilities (both standard 060 incompatibilities shared with the Blizzard, and other inexplicable incompatibilities)
- Unstable to the point of being useless (my board would run for an hour at the most before it crashed; the Blizzard has no such problems. Heat was not a problem, nor power, as it was installed in a tower)
- Shoddy design (based on the 040 board, and includes a fiddly voltage regulator to switch from 5V to 3.3V)

I experienced many other annoyances and problems with my Apollo 060/66, and spent a fortune trying to get it working properly (including buying the tower case, various SIMMs, a new motherboard, a new buffered IDE interface, new kickstart ROMs, a new hard disk... Pretty much replaced everything). Eventually got a pair of Blizzard 060 boards and haven't used the Apollo since.
ant512 is offline  
Old 22 November 2003, 20:31   #6
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Yikes, that's a no then

I'd love a Blizzard 060 of course, my Blizzard 030 MKIV has been flawless for years, but any that turn up in Amibench / auctions etc have been daft prices. I guess they must be really sought after cards these days
Echo is offline  
Old 23 November 2003, 20:25   #7
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
Re: Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s

Quote:
Originally posted by Echo
What's people's opinions of these accelerators? Worth the £89.99?
Just a note that you aren't getting an Apollo 060 for £89.99... rather just the MC68060 CPU.
adolescent is offline  
Old 23 November 2003, 21:01   #8
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Re: Re: Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s

Quote:
Originally posted by adolescent
Just a note that you aren't getting an Apollo 060 for £89.99... rather just the MC68060 CPU.
That doesn't make sence, it has to be the card, read the description

Quote:
The 1260/66 is suitable for both standard desktop console or towered A1200's. It can be supplied with a second simm socket - allowing mixed simms to be used up to a total of 64MB - for use in tower systems only
Since when have Processors had SIMM Sockets?
Enverex is offline  
Old 24 November 2003, 03:09   #9
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
Re: Re: Re: Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s

Quote:
Originally posted by NightShade737
That doesn't make sence, it has to be the card, read the description

...

Since when have Processors had SIMM Sockets?
Good argument. But, the description isn't for the item that costs 89.95. Here's a link to the catalog page...

http://www.eyetech.co.uk/search.php?...SearchCat=AM68
adolescent is offline  
Old 24 November 2003, 09:03   #10
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
If that's the case, no way would I pay £90 for just the CPU.

I could get an XP2600+ (with hs & fan) for this price ffs!

I realise prices have to increase when parts run dry, but sheesh.
Echo is offline  
Old 24 November 2003, 09:30   #11
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Re: Re: Re: Re: Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s

Quote:
Originally posted by adolescent
Good argument. But, the description isn't for the item that costs 89.95. Here's a link to the catalog page...

http://www.eyetech.co.uk/search.php?...SearchCat=AM68
Now that makes sence. What doesn't make sence is how they have linked that to the other one though. Just a tad misleading...
Enverex is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo 060 Acid support.Other 11 18 February 2011 15:31
Broken Apollo 060 (upped from 040) 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 61 15 May 2010 13:38
Help getting ACT Apollo 060 / Viper 060 and CS060Mk2 - working with ClassicWB ADV Zetr0 support.Other 30 23 March 2010 15:39
Bought a D-BOX for my Apollo 060 setup adonay Hardware mods 12 05 December 2007 19:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13643 seconds with 13 queries