English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2017, 23:17   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
[AmigaCD] Wasted Dreams - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amighista View Post
In case you need suggestion for your next AmigaCD game to be HDFied my vote goes to Wasted Dreams, a real gem: http://hol.abime.net/1674
Your wish is my command

...so have now created a bare-bones .HDF with this game installed.

Grab this new file from the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/HDFs"

Regarding an .LHA file, I created one (which took 6+ hours to .LHA everything up). Even though all was fine / no errors during the process, unfortunately when extracting there's a problem with one of the video files that's over 200MB

...same issue really that occurred with [AmigaCD] Genetic Species - .LHA (for real Amiga users).

To be honest I could do the something similar i.e. break the 208MB file into 10 parts and provide a script to rejoin after extraction but ATM I can't be bothered. Sorry "real" Amiga users.
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 September 2017, 23:32   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
...ooops; forgot to mention; you can find the solution for the game on HOL here
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 September 2017, 23:46   #3
amighista
Registered User

amighista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 32
Thanks again DamienD, superb work!
amighista is offline  
Old 01 October 2017, 18:47   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
.LHA (for real Amiga users)

Bah, couldn't help myself... as my Dad always says; if you're going to do a job, do it properly

So, have now created an .LHA file for "real" Amiga users. Did the same thing as what was done with the 192MB .CDXL file for "Genetic Species" i.e split the file into 10 parts and included a script file to easily rejoin...

Anyway, here is the required process. Follow this exactly to letter:

a) Download the "WastedDreamsAGA.lha" file from the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/LHAs".
b) Copy to somewhere on your Amiga's hard drive.
c) Extract to wherever you like.
d) Run a Shell, change into "<wherever you extracted to>/WastedDreams/Wdvideo".
e) Enter "script".
f) After completion, just to clean things up, enter "delete script".



All good to go

I've tested this in WinUAE and all is working now without any issue.

...thread title adjusted accordingly.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 15:00   #5
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 39
Posts: 2,611
Neil79 is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 15:52   #6
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 1,987
Good work! By coincidence I got this and Codename Hell Squad booting on a CD32 with fastram last week, I removed the Intros though as they are so sloooww lol
Amigajay is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 17:18   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
Nice one Amigajay
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 18:49   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Big work

Damiano however if it can serve on AmigaOS there were also some great GUIs to Split and Join, here are some

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 11 November 2017 at 22:55.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 18:59   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
I used FSplit to split the file; same as what I used with the Genetic Species 192MB .CDXL file.

...and then Workbench's native "Join" to put back together
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 18:34   #10
xanderbeanz
Registered User

xanderbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I used FSplit to split the file; same as what I used with the Genetic Species 192MB .CDXL file.

...and then Workbench's native "Join" to put back together
Hi Damien,

I downloaded your archive and ran the script. The script worked fine, but the game crashes to software failure when I click the “engine” icon, which I believe, is how you launch the game without the intro.

I’m running an A500+, 33mhz 68000, Kickstart 3.1, 2MB Chip, 8MB Fast

It also crashed in WinUAE, which is set up to mirror my A500+ exactly.

Any idea what the issue would be? Should I perhaps try to grab the ISO from somewhere and use that to install it?

Thanks for doing these archives by the way, great work!
xanderbeanz is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 19:02   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
Hmmm, from memory I think I only kept the AGA version icons...

I'll have a look tonight when home and get back to you

....but yes, this one is very easy to install and run without the need for the CD-ROM; can't remember if I even had to setup any "assigns".

You can grab the .ISO from the EAB File Server here.
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 19:28   #12
xanderbeanz
Registered User

xanderbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 144
Thanks, that might be the issue then, it might be expecting to see palette registers which aren’t there.

I’ll have to download from the google drive instead of the EAB server, I need 50 posts or something before I can access that, right?


Thanks!
xanderbeanz is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 20:46   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Hmmm, from memory I think I only kept the AGA version icons...
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanderbeanz View Post
Thanks, that might be the issue then, it might be expecting to see palette registers which aren’t there.
Just checked the files on original CD-ROM; seems my memory is failing me... there are only these 2 x icons there.

Not sure what the issue is then; maybe it requires a different ECS setup to what your A500+ has?

Maybe there's something in the manual in terms of required hardware...

Edit: the manual only says this:


Last edited by DamienD; 06 August 2018 at 20:55.
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 20:59   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanderbeanz View Post
I’ll have to download from the google drive instead of the EAB server, I need 50 posts or something before I can access that, right?
No, you can still download from the EAB File Server but there are restrictions when using a generic account i.e:
  • The anonymous ftp user have been changed to 50kb/sec max download speed.
  • The anonymous ftp user have been changed from 40 logins max to 20.
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 21:08   #15
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanderbeanz View Post
I’m running an A500+, 33mhz 68000, Kickstart 3.1, 2MB Chip, 8MB Fast

It also crashed in WinUAE, which is set up to mirror my A500+ exactly.
I've now also tested this using my .HDF via WinUAE using your above settings exactly; crashes as you say.

Tried changing to a 68010 CPU but same deal... then tested with a 68020 CPU; this works.

...but obviously you don't have a 68020 CPU in your A500+
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 August 2018, 21:54   #16
xanderbeanz
Registered User

xanderbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 144
It’s ok. It might have to be a game I play only in WinUAE. Not a massive deal.

Thanks for going the extra mile there.

I might get one of those vampires at some point when they release Gold 3 core.
xanderbeanz is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 01:33   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanderbeanz View Post
I might get one of those vampires at some point when they release Gold 3 core.
If you like playing video games, maybe it would be better to take A1200 HD 4/8 MB RAM, in this way you will have a total compatibility with all the games that require a CPU 020 and even games AGA
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 12:00   #18
xanderbeanz
Registered User

xanderbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you like playing video games, maybe it would be better to take A1200 HD 4/8 MB RAM, in this way you will have a total compatibility with all the games that require a CPU 020 and even games AGA
I bought an A500+ because I thought it was the best looking of the non-boxy Amiga’s, and because my concerns are mainly musical, I figured I didn’t need AGA.

But the more I think about it, I wouldn’t mind an A1200. The Amiga I had in the 90’s was an A1200 with 030/50 and it was awesome, it’d be nice to have a similar machine back in my life. It even ran Doom!
xanderbeanz is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 04:43   #19
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
The Videos wont work in ECS but in AGA. ( i just tried it in WinUAE for now )
Is this normal ? They work in the Game Trapped 2 on a real ECS Amiga.

Hmmm, does anybody know ?

Greetings & thanks, Nibbler
Nibbler is offline  
Old 21 August 2018, 04:57   #20
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
found the answer in the HOL
http://hol.abime.net/1674

... i quote "AGA chipset (for rendered intro animation)"

So i guess, none of the Videos will show up on OCS/ECS Amigas.
Well, that spare me some Compact Flash Space
Nibbler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[AmigaCD] T-zer0 - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 55 18 October 2017 02:42
[AmigaCD] The Strangers - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 24 06 October 2017 02:52
[AmigaCD] Code name Hell Squad - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 4 03 October 2017 21:13
[AmigaCD] Land of Genesis - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 37 02 October 2017 23:10
[AmigaCD] onEscapee - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 49 26 May 2017 03:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09467 seconds with 15 queries