English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 October 2017, 16:02   #2101
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Guys. how do I know if my Xilinx cplds ( That I bought) are 10ns, and when is the T530s (SATA) board be available to buy..
hooleydog is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 16:26   #2102
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 968
Speedgrade is specified in part of the part code thats printed on the package usually.
Locutus is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 20:16   #2103
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Well this are the ones that I bought...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XILINX10.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	55168  
hooleydog is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 20:44   #2104
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooleydog View Post
Well this are the ones that I bought...
wrong chip
You need 64 pin, not 44..
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
..The 534S will have 4mb and Sata and that will be my last 030 board for the 500. No matter how much people try to bully me :/
but hopefully You will finish TF540 You've started to draw?

No metter will You design new boards for Amiga or not, i will NOT unsubscribe from Your channel.
Cause i know, there will be a lot of fun there. Will it be Atari, MiST or something totally different!

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 26 October 2017 at 20:55.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 22:36   #2105
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Oh I will do boards for sure. Trip to Boston first


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 00:22   #2106
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooleydog View Post
Well this are the ones that I bought...
Oh yeah wrong one. Lucky I canceled that order, is this the correct one then.. For the bus and ram...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xilinx ram.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	349.4 KB
ID:	55169  

Last edited by hooleydog; 27 October 2017 at 00:37.
hooleydog is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 06:37   #2107
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I have no plans to do an update to the TF530 board. The 534S will have 4mb and Sata and that will be my last 030 board for the 500. No matter how much people try to bully me :/
i dont suppose you would consider a side project of a 530 or 534S for the A600? cant be difficult (well, impossible for me) and i am sure all the A600 owners would share the love.
Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 07:06   #2108
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toryglen-boy View Post
i dont suppose you would consider a side project of a 530 or 534S for the A600? cant be difficult (well, impossible for me) and i am sure all the A600 owners would share the love.
We discussed this on one of the live streams with Steve recently.There will be no boards for A600. But there will be something for A1200
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 08:50   #2109
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,471
Very nice device and I would like to get one for my A500, but 2MB Fast RAM is simply not enough. 8MB should be the minimum for this I am afraid.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 11:20   #2110
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Very nice device and I would like to get one for my A500, but 2MB Fast RAM is simply not enough. 8MB should be the minimum for this I am afraid.
Bash on then - it's an open source project after all
indigolemon is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 13:57   #2111
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Very nice device and I would like to get one for my A500, but 2MB Fast RAM is simply not enough. 8MB should be the minimum for this I am afraid.
This ram is insanely expensive and 8mb would set you back around $150 alone. Having said that, the sources sre open so a hw engineer could easily make one with more ram.
alenppc is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 15:43   #2112
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
I am just following this, and I don't quite grasp the RAM situation. Why use super expensive RAM? Does it simplify the design? Back in the days we typically used 30 pin or 72 pin SIMMS, these are still available, do they require expensive/complicated RAM controllers?
kolla is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 15:53   #2113
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
We discussed this on one of the live streams with Steve recently.There will be no boards for A600. But there will be something for A1200
I'm assuming something 68030 based? the A600 could use a nice 68030 board far better than an A1200, you can take your pick of A1200 boards based around a 68030. unless it's something 68040 or 060 based. that would be nice.
Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 16:07   #2114
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I am just following this, and I don't quite grasp the RAM situation. Why use super expensive RAM? Does it simplify the design? Back in the days we typically used 30 pin or 72 pin SIMMS, these are still available, do they require expensive/complicated RAM controllers?
There's a discussion on this thread somewhere (I think) - SRAM was much easier to hook up than DRAM as it didn't need any extra controller logic, it's not impossible, but it was outside the scope of this project. Also, at the time this was started the SRAM chips were quite a bit cheaper than they are now.
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 16:34   #2115
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 300
Also, board specs were to be 10cm*10cm so they can be affordable by everyone, so that rules out SIMMs. Something that has been really important in making these available and cheap to prototype.

Nothing stopping you adding other RAM, such as PeteAU's trapdoor + Gary open source project, or one of the many other RAM projects out there.
dalek is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 16:54   #2116
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toryglen-boy View Post
i dont suppose you would consider a side project of a 530 or 534S for the A600? cant be difficult (well, impossible for me) and i am sure all the A600 owners would share the love.


The A600 has the Furia board and the vampire. No need


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 16:57   #2117
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I am just following this, and I don't quite grasp the RAM situation. Why use super expensive RAM? Does it simplify the design? Back in the days we typically used 30 pin or 72 pin SIMMS, these are still available, do they require expensive/complicated RAM controllers?

DRAM is pathetically slow. We can max the cpu with SRAM and make it out perform an A1200 at the same clock speed. That was the goal and it worked. If you want more ram this is not the project for you. The RAM chips I used were £1.50 each when I started the project so they weren’t super expensive.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 17:23   #2118
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 572
Has the TF530 created such demand for these chips that the market price has increased?
patrik is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 17:53   #2119
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 816
It has, but that's a standard business model for stores like digikey and mouser. The same happened with the tf328 ram, except in this case we had more alternatives.
The ISSI sram is still 50% cheaper but doesn't work properly on the 530.
alenppc is offline  
Old 28 October 2017, 10:51   #2120
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
It has, but that's a standard business model for stores like digikey and mouser. The same happened with the tf328 ram, except in this case we had more alternatives.
The ISSI sram is still 50% cheaper but doesn't work properly on the 530.


I will fix it at some point. But probably after the TF534S


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20585 seconds with 16 queries