English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2017, 00:15   #1
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Anyone know of a UK repairer for Accelerator cards?

Howdy as title, i have a Viper 1230/28, but i cant breathe any life into it, despite being told it "works if you give it a wiggle", and having tried it on 4 different A1200's

Anyone know of any repairers for this kind of stuff in the UK


thanks peeps

Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 09 August 2017, 12:03   #2
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,475
I would drop bebek a PM, he's based in Poole.
trixster is offline  
Old 09 August 2017, 13:01   #3
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 443
Yea bebek does good work.
Had him work on two of my A3640's and also do the 64MB mod on my A4000 board.
kgc210 is offline  
Old 09 August 2017, 13:39   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,230
They do repairs at AmigaKit too.

I've wanted to get my Cyberstorm MKIII repaired for a long time but never found anyone private that I quite trusted enough to send it to.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 August 2017, 14:05   #5
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
thanks all for your input.

Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 10 August 2017, 02:27   #6
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
They do repairs at AmigaKit too.
Avoid.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 10 August 2017, 08:54   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
Avoid.
Why? Link to story?
alexh is offline  
Old 10 August 2017, 09:21   #8
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 55
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Why? Link to story?
What story?
No need to try and be clever. It's no secret that Amigakit get so loaded up they don't even respond to emails for weeks!
Plenty of "story's" around if that's what your after, even just on this forum, where peoples hardware have been away at Amigakit for months without been repaired.
There was one person recently I remember posting that his Amiga had been gone 6 month and when he eventually did manage to contact them it still hadn't been touched.
I should imagine he said avoid just because of this, they can be too busy to do things in a reasonable amount of time.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 10 August 2017, 11:17   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
No need to try and be clever.
I don't need to try

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
Plenty of "story's" around if that's what your after, even just on this forum, where peoples hardware have been away at Amigakit for months without been repaired.
I've never read such posts. That doesn't mean they don't exist just that I've never seen them. Hence was asking -Acid- for a link to a post of a negative experience getting HW repaired at AmigaKit
alexh is offline  
Old 10 August 2017, 12:26   #10
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 829
I had bad experience with Amigakit. They should recap my A4k motherboard after two years iirc i got tired of waiting and asked them to send my motherboard back (directly to Chucky). The motherboard was in worse condition, not even the ROMs were ok. Sure my motherboard wasn't in great condition when i sent it, but the only issue i noticed was bad audio (could of course been something else too).
fryguy is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 03:58   #11
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Why? Link to story?
Just threads i've read on forums about massive delays and none existent communication. I buy stuff from them whenever I need something but just from reading other people's problems with them I would never send them anything to be repaired.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 16:22   #12
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 167
I've got the same card and had the same problem when I first got it. It was not detected in either of my A1200's.
First I got it to detect by putting it in at a slight angle.
I think the contacts in the connector had become slightly corroded because after a while of being connected and disconnected it was eventually started working first time every time. The constant reconnecting must have scraped the worst of the corrosion off.
I'd have a look at the contacts in the connector and check if any of them are corroded o bent out of shape.
Vypr is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 20:46   #13
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vypr View Post
I've got the same card and had the same problem when I first got it. It was not detected in either of my A1200's.
First I got it to detect by putting it in at a slight angle.
I think the contacts in the connector had become slightly corroded because after a while of being connected and disconnected it was eventually started working first time every time. The constant reconnecting must have scraped the worst of the corrosion off.
I'd have a look at the contacts in the connector and check if any of them are corroded o bent out of shape.
thanks mate

Toryglen-boy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 accelerator cards banedon Hardware mods 6 04 June 2015 10:48
accelerator cards sidrulez! support.Other 7 04 October 2014 19:26
How do accelerator cards work? This one Apollo 1240 theugly support.Hardware 25 27 August 2013 20:08
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Insights on how accelerator cards work on Amigas jman support.Hardware 12 27 April 2011 23:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08389 seconds with 15 queries