English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2006, 18:33   #1
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Exclamation Amiga 3000 issues - Leaked battery havoc

Hello there,
Today I got my first A3000 by mail. It's a desktop mobo rev 9. It has a pretty bad battery leakage and some broken resistor packs and I hope to fix them and resurrect this board. I'ld like to have some help identify what the broken parts are so I can get new ones and also clarify the rom situation (the board came without roms).

ok let's start with the resistor pack.



the broken black thingie (I thought it's a resistor pack) can anyone tell what this is ?

here is the area of big badaboom.



I've removed the resistors numbered 1 and 3 and the diodes (?) numbered 2. Can anyone help me with the values with the resistors and diodes ?(if they're diodes indeed).

this is the back of the leaked area. it looks clean so I hope I can resurrect it.



this is how it looks after I removed the resistors and diodes and did some cleaning.



Finally, as I said this board came with no roms. I've found some 2.04 roms in my vault which I suspect to be A3000 roms. Can I use these roms with this board ?



I also got hold of an A3000 rom tower thinking that I may need it. What's this item for ? Do I need it ?



thanks for your time and patience reading this far. I've uploaded A3000 schematics for your convenience.
coze is offline  
Old 17 October 2006, 18:53   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
wow, pretty messy! good luck fixing it!
keropi is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 03:10   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
Image 1

10(9 plus 1 ground (10) ) 1k ohms SIP package by the looks of it. (please check i could be wrong.)

Image 2
1. (resistor 1) 5% tolerance (Colour is a little fuzzy)

[2 1 2]Ohms ( red, black, red ) OR
[2 1 1]Ohms ( red, black, brown )


2. (resistor / ic 2) I cannot make out any markings


3. ( resistor 3) - (gold, white, red, violet, yellow)

[472]ohm 5% tolerance


please double check these as I may have them wrong. Alexh and Jope would have greater
knowleged in this department and I am sure if they have time they will help

heres a handy linkie

http://www.token.com.tw/resistor/res...color-code.htm

what you are undertaking coze, is no mean feat, best of luck..
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 03:49   #4
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
The ROM tower is used in the back sockets as opposed to the front sockets the released ROMs go in.

The ROM tower will boot kickstart 1.4 and it looks for a kickstart file on the first hard drive to boot 2.04. I can't recall what file it looks for, but probably devs:kickstart

What does the board do when powered up?
r.cade is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 03:51   #5
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
It's really not that bad. Mostly the damage is on the ground plane which is no big deal. Might be a couple traces to fix, but maybe not.
r.cade is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 04:28   #6
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
At the moment I don't have a PSU, so I can't test it. First I'll mod an ATX psu and possibly will have to change the power connector for that.

@Zetr0

thanks
coze is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 09:55   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,921
The ROM tower is to be used only with the motherboard revisions that were shipped with one.

It's there because on some motherboards, the ROM socket's pin strips were flipped (IE you'd have to bend all the ROM's legs over and plug it in upside down)

Last edited by Jope; 18 October 2006 at 11:34.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 12:26   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
The ROM tower is to be used only with the motherboard revisions that were shipped with one.

It's there because on some motherboards, the ROM socket's pin strips were flipped (IE you'd have to bend all the ROM's legs over and plug it in upside down)
Indeed some FINE thinking from Commodore!!! LOL

I wonder wich techhead lost his job over that one...

I can just see it....

"but honestly boss looking at the plans they mount from beneath the board..... *donk!*

With half the crap they pump out with polarized capacitors mounted the wrong way and board designes that are essentially backward makes you wonder if there using reveresed transparencies instead of real paper LOL
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 12:31   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,921
Hehe, well thankfully they already had PCB cad in the A3000 era, so no transparencies this time.. ;-)

But mistakes happen and Commodore was really a small outfit all the way .. 10 ppl max working on the computer.. One person working on the chipset (Dave Haynie), perhaps three or four on the circuit boards..
Jope is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 14:11   #10
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I had a look at the schematics and I think the resistor is R190 (470 Ohm) and the diode is D191 (1N4148)
See diagramm top right corner:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A3000_RTC.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	173.4 KB
ID:	12303  
lopos2000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 3000 coin battery + indivision installation bjavor support.Hardware 7 29 December 2012 21:00
amiga 3000 issues amicrawler support.Hardware 11 02 October 2009 02:28
What leaked and killed my A2000? rlcarr support.Hardware 4 20 April 2008 23:07
WHDLoad causing havoc(!) Iznougoud Retrogaming General Discussion 0 08 November 2007 02:29
Yes its another battery leaked A500+ chaoticjelly support.Hardware 3 03 July 2006 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07484 seconds with 14 queries