English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2014, 11:51   #21
John Pillow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 37
Would be great to be able to use something compact like Amiga Forever KX Light that boots straight into Amiga OS 4.x

http://www.amigaforever.com/kxlight/

I’d buy a dedicated laptop just for this :-)
John Pillow is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 12:01   #22
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Yes, kxlight is really cool, yes, this is what I'm hoping for for FS-UAE.
I am uploading my ISO to file sharing site (minus the ROMs) and will share the link shortly.
kire_online is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 12:13   #23
John Pillow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 37
Amazing, many thanks for your efforts!
John Pillow is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 12:36   #24
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Here is my first attempt at this;

http://www.filedropper.com/lxpupfs-uae-r2

There are no ROMs or ADF files.

Boot the CD, it should be very quick.
You can tweak the xserver resolution and drivers if required in the Quick Setup.
Then you can save session to a local file on HDD/USB, etc, 512Mb is plenty.
Reboot and it will pick up your new save file.
Then copy the ROMs and ADFs to the appropriate directories under /root/FS-UAE/Kickstarts and /root/FS-UAE/Floppies.

This is where I need help with a tool that can copy ROMs from AmigaForever CD, similar to the Puppy Universal Installer, under the setup menu.

Also some help with config files so that changing floppies can be done from within FS-UAE Removable Media for DF0:

Let me know what you think, go on, boot it up in vmware if you're feeling lazy.

Last edited by kire_online; 26 August 2014 at 14:51.
kire_online is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 13:07   #25
John Pillow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 37
I’m no Linux expert but maybe as post installation commands these are enough?

read -p “Insert your Amiga Forever DVD to complete installation”
mount -t iso9660 /dev/dvdrom
cp -a /dev/scd0/Amiga\ Files/Shared/rom/ /root/FS-UAE/Kickstarts
echo “Done!”
eject /dev/dvd

Last edited by John Pillow; 26 August 2014 at 14:48. Reason: Typo
John Pillow is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 16:15   #26
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Help required with config from the FS-UAE experts please.

If I have two ADF files in the Floppies directory, I'd like them to appear as available to swap into DF0: from within FS-UAE ?

Is this using the floppy_image_n options ?
Is there another way to configure this ?

Is there a way to associate the ADF file to launch with fs-uae when clicked from PCManFM ?
I was thinking of another approach, the options to select A500, A1200, A4000 would simply symlink the appropriate config file to default config.
Then I could just launch a game like IK+ by clicking it's ADF file (have to setup association first)

What do you guys think ?
kire_online is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 16:59   #27
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 370
I attached my idea of a kickstart- and workbench importer script. It does stuff automatically: The user will be asked for a directory for the files. The script searches for all kickstarts and one wb-image based on checksums. The kickstarts will be copied to /Kickstarts and the wb to /Floppies/Workbench_imported.adf, so it can directly be used in a config file.

Note: This is not yet ready for use! (Missing checksums and needs some polishing). We should also provide an option to the user to manually select ks+wb if autodetection fails...
Attached Files
File Type: txt ks-wb-importer.sh.txt (1.4 KB, 82 views)
jbl007 is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 17:22   #28
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by kire_online View Post
If I have two ADF files in the Floppies directory, I'd like them to appear as available to swap into DF0: from within FS-UAE ?
Easy. Use "floppy_image_x=" for the floppy list. floppy_image_0=adf1.adf floppy_image_1=2.adf .....

Quote:
Is there a way to associate the ADF file to launch with fs-uae when clicked from PCManFM ?
No idea about PCManFM (without looking at the man page), perhaps you can do "fs-uae /path/to/config --floppy_drive_0=%f" %f is used by many file managers. Or you can create a wrapper script eg. fs-uae-launch-a500.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
fs-uae /path/to/a500-config --floppy_drive_0=$1
Quote:
I was thinking of another approach, the options to select A500, A1200, A4000 would simply symlink the appropriate config file to default config.
Then I could just launch a game like IK+ by clicking it's ADF file (have to setup association first)

What do you guys think ?
I vote for the wrapper script. (see above)
But one problem remains: the is no way to figure out if we need A500 or A1200 or whatever without asking the user.

Now I would advertise oagdlaunch but I don't do that.

What about including fs-uae-launcher in the image?
jbl007 is offline  
Old 28 August 2014, 01:07   #29
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Here's a more upto date ISO you can try out.

http://www.filedropper.com/puppyfsuae04_1

I will try and get FS_UAE Launcher installed and working next.
kire_online is offline  
Old 29 August 2014, 12:18   #30
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
I have installed FS-UAE Launcher, but I get this error related to Python;

# python --version
Python 2.7.3
# ./fs-uae-launcher
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/Archive.py", line 15, in <module>
from lhafile import LhaFile
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/lhafile/__init__.py", line 2, in <module>
from .lhafile import *
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/lhafile/lhafile.py", line 45, in <module>
import lzhlib
ImportError: No module named lzhlib
LhaFile module import problem
checking /usr/bin/Portable.ini
checking /usr/Portable.ini
checking /Portable.ini
no Portable.ini found in search path
base_dir not decided yet, checking FS_UAE_BASE_DIR
using default base_dir
- checking /root/.config/fs-uae-launcher/base-dir
- checking /root/.config/fs-uae/base-dir
base dir is /root/FS-UAE
fs-uae-launcher
2.4.1
stable
enabling except hook
enable tread exception handler
('Linux', 'puppypc16943', '3.9.11', '#1 SMP Sat Jul 27 19:40:54 GMT-8 2013', 'i686', 'i686')
[u'./fs-uae-launcher']
FS-UAE Launcher 2.4.1

Unhandled exception detected in thread MainThread:
ImportError:Resources.py:<module>:9

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./fs-uae-launcher", line 68, in <module>
from fs_uae_launcher.ConfigChecker import ConfigChecker
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fs_uae_launcher/ConfigChecker.py", line 7, in <module>
from .Config import Config
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fs_uae_launcher/Config.py", line 28, in <module>
from fsgs.platform import PlatformHandler
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/platform.py", line 49, in <module>
from .platforms.amiga import AmigaPlatformHandler
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/platforms/amiga.py", line 8, in <module>
from fsgs.amiga.runner import AmigaRunner
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/amiga/runner.py", line 10, in <module>
from fsgs.amiga.LaunchHandler import LaunchHandler
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/amiga/LaunchHandler.py", line 18, in <module>
from fsbc.Resources import Resources
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsbc/Resources.py", line 9, in <module>
from pkg_resources import resource_filename, resource_stream
ImportError: No module named pkg_resources


Unhandled exception detected in thread MainThread:
ImportError:Resources.py:<module>:9

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./fs-uae-launcher", line 68, in <module>
from fs_uae_launcher.ConfigChecker import ConfigChecker
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fs_uae_launcher/ConfigChecker.py", line 7, in <module>
from .Config import Config
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fs_uae_launcher/Config.py", line 28, in <module>
from fsgs.platform import PlatformHandler
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/platform.py", line 49, in <module>
from .platforms.amiga import AmigaPlatformHandler
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/platforms/amiga.py", line 8, in <module>
from fsgs.amiga.runner import AmigaRunner
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/amiga/runner.py", line 10, in <module>
from fsgs.amiga.LaunchHandler import LaunchHandler
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsgs/amiga/LaunchHandler.py", line 18, in <module>
from fsbc.Resources import Resources
File "/usr/share/fs-uae-launcher/fsbc/Resources.py", line 9, in <module>
from pkg_resources import resource_filename, resource_stream
ImportError: No module named pkg_resources
kire_online is offline  
Old 29 August 2014, 12:24   #31
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
The error message should be fairly obvious. It says you're missing the module pkg_resources.

So install python-setuptools or whatever package provides pkg_resources on your system.

I recommend you install/use the development versions instead. They have updated package requirements - FS-UAE uses SDL2 instead of SDL, FS-UAE Launcher uses Python 3 instead of Python 2, among other changes. This way, you'll avoid extra work in the future since you'll "have to" upgrade to newer FS-UAE sooner or later anyway.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 29 August 2014, 13:22   #32
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
We now have FS-UAE Launcher installed and running.
I'll have a bit more of a play and then share an ISO for everyone.

http://i.imgur.com/Lb5DikB.jpg
kire_online is offline  
Old 29 August 2014, 13:42   #33
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by kire_online View Post
We now have FS-UAE Launcher installed and running.
I'll have a bit more of a play and then share an ISO for everyone.

http://i.imgur.com/Lb5DikB.jpg
It looks cool, i will download and test it, if it's ready.
huepper is offline  
Old 29 August 2014, 20:54   #34
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,311
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
No CD32 Config ?
Foul is offline  
Old 29 August 2014, 22:15   #35
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 431
Nice work. Looking forward to test the iso when it is uploaded.
Higgy is offline  
Old 30 August 2014, 08:58   #36
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Here is rev5 of the ISO, it's gone over 200Mb now, but I'll trim stuff back later;

http://www.filedropper.com/puppyfsuae05

Looking for enhancements to add to the next ISO
I will add more amiga wallpaper options, enhance the fs-uae config files, any other ideas?

BTW, has anyone found this image in a better resolution ;

http://i.imgur.com/E2Om3ij.jpg

Last edited by TCD; 30 August 2014 at 09:08. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
kire_online is offline  
Old 30 August 2014, 12:21   #37
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,311
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
downloaded and working

It would be cool to place a short link to the desktop with a "Put Kickstarts here" for novice

wallpaper : http://awesome.commodore.me/wallpapers/
Foul is offline  
Old 30 August 2014, 13:26   #38
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by kire_online View Post
Here is rev5 of the ISO, it's gone over 200Mb now, but I'll trim stuff back later;

http://www.filedropper.com/puppyfsuae05

Looking for enhancements to add to the next ISO
I will add more amiga wallpaper options, enhance the fs-uae config files, any other ideas?

BTW, has anyone found this image in a better resolution ;

http://i.imgur.com/E2Om3ij.jpg
Awesome. Will I be able to run this on flash drive? I've got multi distros at present but via some installer found online.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 30 August 2014, 14:18   #39
kire_online
Registered User
kire_online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Awesome. Will I be able to run this on flash drive? I've got multi distros at present but via some installer found online.
Yes, this is the whole idea, you can run it from flash drive on almost any computer and save state back to the flash drive.

Once you boot the ISO,you can install to flash drive;
use gparted to format and set boot flag on the flash drive first
use puppy universal installer - from menu Setup-> Puppy universal installer
create initial save file to flash drive on first shutdown.
boot from usb flash drive from then on, no more ISO needed.

I have added shortcut to Kickstarts folder and added some new wallpapers

http://i.imgur.com/v8AgCwg.jpg

Keep the ideas coming, I need more ideas about config files.

I've only just started exploring the FS-UAE Launcher and http://oagd.net/
kire_online is offline  
Old 31 August 2014, 16:26   #40
AmithlonGuy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: HaS
Posts: 29
Hi kire. Do you know a way how to get puppy more like a kiosk system. I just startet to port my little menu to linux and now i want to start it instead of the desktop. Do you know a way?
AmithlonGuy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux distro for emulation Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 4 30 April 2014 16:47
Porting to Tiny Core Linux and Puppy Linux lorenzos support.FS-UAE 1 05 January 2013 16:13
G-FS-UAE (GUI/Frontend for Linux FS-UAE) Speedvicio support.FS-UAE 12 05 November 2012 20:14
xamiga-like distro & p-uae amiga_user support.OtherUAE 2 04 May 2011 22:48
Is there a linux distro for use with a bppc? keropi support.Apps 12 29 July 2005 14:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09337 seconds with 14 queries