English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2010, 12:31   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Can making a backup kill a game? Some kind of protection code?

Hi All,

I have two copies of Rainbow Islands and somebody on another board was looking for a copy so I agreed to sell him one, anyway I tested it first, fired up my A600 and had a few games and all was fine.

So I took a couple of pics for him and thought to do a thorough test I'd make an ADF with EasyADF since i'd never tested that function.

Anyway I done this on my A1200 and EasyADF failed to make the ADF. I tested the game again after in my A600 and now it wont boot, it just guru's with a software failure immediately

Any idea's?

I have another copy so i'm not needing to bring this back to life but I don't want to risk any other disks in the same way!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 February 2010, 12:39   #2
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
Copy protections can be very sophisticated, but at best they only involve the way data has been stored physically on the disk, and can only stop you from making a working copy of the game using standard hardware and copying methods, but they can never damage the disk. If your original game disk stopped working after you tried to copy it then it has simply reached its end of life due normal use and wear.

There's some good information on these things on http://www.softpres.org/
Leffmann is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 13:15   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Copy protections can be very sophisticated, but at best they only involve the way data has been stored physically on the disk, and can only stop you from making a working copy of the game using standard hardware and copying methods, but they can never damage the disk. If your original game disk stopped working after you tried to copy it then it has simply reached its end of life due normal use and wear.

There's some good information on these things on http://www.softpres.org/

Thanks mate, I thought it was probably just coincidence.. Good job i've got a spare
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 13:57   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
or all the magnetic stuff is now on the heads of your floppy drive
hope not, hope you tested drive with a blank disk
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 18:42   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
or all the magnetic stuff is now on the heads of your floppy drive
hope not, hope you tested drive with a blank disk
I've played other games fine since, but the next disks that went in the drive were 'backups' or 'blanksl
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 19:12   #6
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
In short: no protection can do that - but damaged disk surface can
IFW is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 20:03   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,940
If the disk wasn't write protected, I guess a virus could have overwritten the bootblock?
alexh is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 21:11   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If the disk wasn't write protected, I guess a virus could have overwritten the bootblock?
It was write protected, I think it was just its time to go...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 18 February 2010, 23:48   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,173
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
many original disk were shit quality..... and since the way some protections drove the floppy drive, GRRRRRRRRRRRRRROOOOONNNNNNN.........GRRRIIIIII.....GROOONNNNNNNNN.

You follow me here ?

the floppies just hate this....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 February 2010, 01:57   #10
lost_lemming
Registered User
lost_lemming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Birmingham
Age: 32
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hi All,

I have two copies of Rainbow Islands
Is one of your copies from a black box which has "taito's island-hop coin-io" on the side? if so, my official disk never worked
lost_lemming is offline  
Old 19 February 2010, 02:34   #11
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,655
>the floppies just hate this....

I had a copy of APB that was like this, really banged the hell out of the drive when loading. My brothers didn't like me to play it because of that, said it would knock the heads out of alignment...it never did though fortunately.
Minuous is offline  
Old 20 February 2010, 16:15   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_lemming View Post
Is one of your copies from a black box which has "taito's island-hop coin-io" on the side? if so, my official disk never worked
They're both unboxed.

Ones a grey disk (now dead) and the other is a blue disk.

Both were working last week in my A600 switched to 1.3 rom. Neither worked in my A1200..

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 03:59   #13
Firthy2002
2nd era...
Firthy2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 34
Posts: 262
Send a message via ICQ to Firthy2002 Send a message via AIM to Firthy2002 Send a message via MSN to Firthy2002 Send a message via Yahoo to Firthy2002 Send a message via Skype™ to Firthy2002
I had blue disk version, don't think it worked on my A1200 either, IIRC.
Firthy2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making Turrican 3 backup and writing it back to diskette. Mendel support.Games 12 11 June 2013 21:39
rage protection code albino request.Other 3 11 May 2013 23:27
making backup copy of Workbench 2.04 disk museum support.Apps 8 08 January 2013 22:29
Does Exile AGA retain the code protection from the original? MethodGit support.Games 5 25 July 2012 01:32
Wish to hack out code protection in a few PC games. Anyone wanna help? MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 27 18 January 2010 21:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18021 seconds with 14 queries