English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2009, 10:22   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Distorted sound with Vsync enabled...

Hi everyone,

I've just started getting into Winuae again and i've noticed a sound issue whenever i run "Fullscreen+Vsync".... The sound starts to slightly distort and go a bit "crackly". I downloaded version 1.6.1 and have tried it with 3 totally different PC's running Windows 7 and XP but this issue is present on all systems. It's fine without Vsync enabled but why?

I've tried running Winuae using default A500 and A1200 configurations and have also deleted the default config file to start again from scratch with no success

I don't ever remember this happening with older versions.... I don't understand why the sound would go bad by turning on Vsync? The PC's i tried it with are quite powerful and more than enough for any emulator and they all have different sound cards Any help is appreciated, thanks
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 November 2009, 10:28   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=47456 and here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40916
Turn on on-screen leds in the misc panel and look at the leftmost led. If it isn't going between -/+10 that's the problem then and increasing the priority of WinUAE might help.
TCD is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 11:00   #3
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Thanks for the links I had a browse and found nothing that really helps

I enabled the led's for fullscreen mode and the sound led goes blue when Vsync is enabled and reads around +93 and +97 but with Vsync disabled the sound led goes back to normal and reads between -02 and +03 (which is how it should be i guess?)
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 11:07   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPie5000 View Post
I enabled the led's for fullscreen mode and the sound led goes blue when Vsync is enabled and reads around +93 and +97 but with Vsync disabled the sound led goes back to normal and reads between -02 and +03 (which is how it should be i guess?)
Yep -02 / +03 is how it should be and +93 / +97 is indeed the problem. Have you changed the priority to 'Above normal' and maybe you want to increase the sound buffer size to 3 or 4 (if it isn't already).
TCD is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 11:20   #5
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Yep -02 / +03 is how it should be and +93 / +97 is indeed the problem. Have you changed the priority to 'Above normal' and maybe you want to increase the sound buffer size to 3 or 4 (if it isn't already).
I tried the sound buffer at 3 / 4 and set priority to "above normal" but it makes no difference Maybe i should try an older version and see if the same thing happens? It can't be my actual PC as i've tried it with 3 different systems.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 11:29   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,015
Just tried it here and indeed the sound goes up to ~+90, but I get no distortion. You could try an older version (like mentioned in the threads) and see if it makes a difference. Hopefully Toni has an idea for you.
TCD is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 11:47   #7
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
It may simply mean that WinUAE tries to refresh your monitor accordingly to the Amiga PAL v. refresh rate, which at least indicates your PC gfx adapter (nvidia or ATi, btw ?) "takes its orders" properly.
Try setting a 5:4 proportional resolution, both in the fullscreen field of WinUAE and on your PC.
e.g. : 1280x1024
Also, try setting audio to enabled instead of enabled 100%. (momentarily, then revert it, 'cause it's not recommended to leave it to enabled).

Last edited by NewDeli; 04 November 2009 at 11:54.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 11:57   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,195
Standard vsync question: are you 100% sure your refresh rate is exactly what you asked? You won't always get what you ask..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 November 2009, 17:29   #9
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Standard vsync question: are you 100% sure your refresh rate is exactly what you asked? You won't always get what you ask..
Ok i've just checked and my monitor refresh changes from 75hz to 60hz when i run any games through Winuae... I just assumed it would run at PAL 50hz how can i change the refresh rate from within Winuae (if any of my monitors go that low?) Cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 17:34   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,060
Use 100Hz, if you have any CRT monitor. For your LCD displays: If they don't support 50Hz (like some LCD TV displays) you have to live with it. Untick Vsync then.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 04 November 2009, 17:37   #11
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Ok i set the display to PAL 50hz from within Winuae but my monitor still displays the picture at 60hz? Maybe i will give it a go on the other systems.... They all use LCD screens so fingers crossed!
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 18:07   #12
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
There are certain settings in the drivers option of the gfx adapter which would allow more adjustability in this screen resizing / Vsync'ing field. That's why I asked about the brand.
e.g. : In the Catalyst CC, for vSync, I set Always, except if the application doesn't specify it, and its the GPU that should do the scaling...

Last edited by NewDeli; 04 November 2009 at 18:13.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 11:21   #13
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I resanltly found that my nividia card would let me define resolutions but still haven`t got one to work ay 50Hz stable with me monitor, though I`m still messing
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 11:44   #14
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Well i tried Winuae with my other PC's but none of them will support a refresh rate lower than 60hz! Windows XP and Windows 7 will not go lower than 60hz and neither will my LCD screens So i guess i'm stuffed for using fullscreen mode with Vsync enabled as it just makes the sound go all distorted
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 11:48   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,060
Vsync also speeds up a PAL game about 20% (60 instead of 50 fps) if you run it in Vsync 60Hz. Turn it off.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 05 November 2009, 11:57   #16
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Vsync also speeds up a PAL game about 20% (60 instead of 50 fps) if you run it in Vsync 60Hz. Turn it off.
So basically i can never properly run Winuae in PAL 50hz mode Do all the video filters still work with Vsync turned off? I cannot use Vsync in any mode due to it causing problems with the sound.... on all 3 PC's i've tried it with!!

EDIT: if i run in NTSC 60hz mode with Vsync enabled then the audio sounds clear but is too fast and with Vsync turned of i notice a bit of screen tearing

Last edited by PowerPie5000; 05 November 2009 at 12:04.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 12:05   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,060
None of your displays supports 50Hz (checked your manuals?), you don't have a LCD TV?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 05 November 2009, 12:10   #18
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
None of your displays supports 50Hz (checked your manuals?), you don't have a LCD TV?
The lowest they go seems to be 60hz.... and Windows XP + Windows 7 will not let me select anything lower than 60hz in the display control panel

2 of the PC's i tried use ATI graphics cards and the other uses Intel graphics but i get the same result with all systems and they use different screens, sound cards and graphics chips etc...
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 12:15   #19
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I just tried running Winuae in PAL 100hz mode and the sound led goes yellow and displays -99 (it sounds very bad!)
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 12:15   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,060
Windows/PC hardware isn't important. You could easily add a custom 50Hz refresh rate if one of your displays is capable. Mainly older monitors or LCD TVs supports a 50Hz mode. Newer LCDs even supports 100Hz as it seems.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Faerytale Adventure - Distorted Sound Rick Dangerous Retrogaming General Discussion 18 10 April 2013 00:30
Sound glitches in non-vsync modes with desktop composition enabled mark_k support.WinUAE 10 13 January 2013 22:21
Distorted sound with ptreplay neoman Coders. Language 12 05 December 2012 13:15
Sound emulation resets to enabled when switching quickstarts TCD support.WinUAE 1 19 July 2011 15:52
Amiga 4000 Sound Distorted and low virge support.Hardware 26 04 May 2011 00:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08986 seconds with 13 queries