English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2003, 15:58   #1
devilstar
Junior Member
devilstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 40
Slow updating of windows

This is a problem that i have brought up before.

My problem is that when i use UAE(all versions) and are doing stuff that is using windows (requesters, installers etc) all the content like bars, arrows and everything gets drawn up on the screen pixel by pixel very slow. Every other aspect of the amiga emulation works very well. I've tried to make new emulation settings but nothing works. can i have forgotten some prefs in the workbench or in uae settings? This is really annoying as i want to use Workbench alot.

Some info about my system:
1,8ghz athlon cpu
512mb ram
Geforce 4 gfx card with 128mb ddr ram
windows xp

Would be very happy if somenone had a clue how i could get rid of this problem
devilstar is offline  
Old 21 August 2003, 17:02   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
Do you use OCS/ECS/AGA or Picasso96 ? Which screen mode ? Windowed or fullscreen ? Which display settings ? JIT cache enabled ? Sound enabled ? OpenGL filters enabled ?
thomas is offline  
Old 21 August 2003, 17:20   #3
devilstar
Junior Member
devilstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 40
For the Workbench i use Picasso96, resolution 800*600x32.
Im using JIT, Fullscreen, full sound (but sound is not playing)
and openGL filters disabled.

could my problem be one of these?
devilstar is offline  
Old 22 August 2003, 11:11   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
I'm not sure.

Check that you are using the latest version of Picasso96. Espacially the rtg.library and the uaegfx driver.

Increase the amount of RTG memory. Give it 4, 8 or 16MB.

Same for JIT.

Try to disable sound.

Try a 16bit screen mode.

Update DirectX. Check that you are using appropriate DirectX drivers for your gfx card.

Check your Workbench setup. A looping or busy-waiting application can cause slow-down as well.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 August 2003, 15:58   #5
devilstar
Junior Member
devilstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 40
Okey, will check for latest picasso96 and rtg.library.

RTG memory is set to 16
Jit is set at 8mb

i will try 16bits resolution instead.

I'm using latest directX

Dont think i got something that slows down my system


Thanks for all the tips!!
devilstar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating WinUAE Justice support.WinUAE 1 27 November 2010 13:54
Updating WHDLoad Kitty New to Emulation or Amiga scene 22 29 October 2009 02:16
Updating Picasso terryhan support.WinUAE 4 29 September 2007 12:44
The updating starts :) Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 14 30 September 2005 18:58
Slow rendering of windows! please help! devilstar support.WinUAE 3 14 June 2003 10:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14533 seconds with 15 queries