English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 June 2010, 12:28   #1
Dagger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dagenham / England
Posts: 176
Hardware & Software

Need help with a few things please.

I have an external CDrom running through the pcmcia slot. Can I have my CF0 driver and CD0 driver both loaded together on startup in the DOSDrivers folder?

If you have an internal CDrom fitted with no HD would any drivers be required?

My cdtv has once again stopped reading any disc even though I have used a cdrom cleaner, how hard is it to strip the machine and get access to the cdrom so that I can clean the lens manually?

Many thanks in advance
Dagger is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 16:47   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
for your first question yes you can have both drivers as I have them on my A1200 desktop both in the devs/dosdrivers so they mount on startup. Sorry I cant help with the others but I an sure some one who can will be along soon
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 17:05   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Hiyas Dagger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger View Post
Need help with a few things please.

I have an external CDrom running through the pcmcia slot. Can I have my CF0 driver and CD0 driver both loaded together on startup in the DOSDrivers folder?
Steve has you covered on this =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger View Post
If you have an internal CDrom fitted with no HD would any drivers be required?
Unless you have a modified Kickstart ROM this is not going to work, Its a little involved, you will need access to Hex editor, Kickstart ROM files, a program called remus and the required modules to allow booting from CDROM ... oh and a EPROM burner.

yeah... its a little involved, if this is somthing that interests you and you would like to know more have a chat with RedSkull and Doobrey.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger View Post
My cdtv has once again stopped reading any disc even though I have used a cdrom cleaner, how hard is it to strip the machine and get access to the cdrom so that I can clean the lens manually?

Many thanks in advance
Hmm, this can go either way I am afraid to say, by cleaning the lens you can mis-align it, once that happens its next to impossible to get back working.

On the other hand it could work or infact be mis-alligned.

I had some ideas for the CDTV Rom mechanism, perhaps replacing it with an ATAPI IDE mechanism and PCB board. But I need some more time to formalze the idea lol.

In the mean time, cleaning the lens physically = damned if you do and damned if you dont.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 18:16   #4
Dagger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dagenham / England
Posts: 176
Many thanks for the replies, much appreciated. As for the cdtv seems nothing ventured nothing gained.
Dagger is offline  
Old 08 June 2010, 21:20   #5
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Pending on the controller you have for the CD-ROM, it will work or not.

Squirrel SCSI is very jealous of the use of the PCMCIA port. Other controllers doesn't have this type of issue (Archos Overdrive, for example).
rkauer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for the Blitzcopy Software, I got the Hardware already... Hacky request.Apps 43 14 September 2016 13:10
Free hardware & software...with a catch! Fingerlickin_B MarketPlace 7 09 August 2011 01:18
aminet & amiga Plus cds - floppy & cd software/games - hardware & magazines for SALE! bastibs MarketPlace 1 07 May 2008 11:33
Amiga Hardware & Software for sale AndreasM MarketPlace 0 24 August 2007 19:25
hardware or software problem ? hal support.Hardware 14 18 September 2002 01:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06220 seconds with 13 queries