English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2010, 21:30   #21
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridium View Post
I have all the real Workbench disks except the 'Install' disk
It seems like before we can get you going you need to format the CF card in the Amiga, I can send you a 3.1 install disk to use if it helps.

PM me.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 April 2010, 05:48   #22
AGN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridium View Post
That's the problem the r/w option is ghosted:
My bet: there is partition table on that CF card.
Remove any partitions or better blank first megabyte of that card using dd command under any linux live cd. Beware, dd could damage Your real HDD.
Is disabledrivesafetycheck set for winuae?
AGN is offline  
Old 02 April 2010, 18:33   #23
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
It seems like before we can get you going you need to format the CF card in the Amiga, I can send you a 3.1 install disk to use if it helps.

PM me.

Steve.
I've sent you a PM, but I've just dug out and unboxed my A1200 and ALL of the Workbench disks aren't there God knows where they are!

And with WB disk sets going for stupid money on fleaBay it looks like I'm totally screwed
iridium is offline  
Old 03 April 2010, 11:59   #24
extralife
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: denmark
Posts: 267
is it possible if he added it as a "pc drive" in winuae's workbench enviroment, to then format it as an "amiga" harddrive from there ? thinking maybe it was possible to cheat the system that way.........did i make any sense at all

dont cry over wasted WB disks, google is your bestsest friend for that
extralife is offline  
Old 03 April 2010, 20:35   #25
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by extralife View Post
is it possible if he added it as a "pc drive" in winuae's workbench enviroment, to then format it as an "amiga" harddrive from there ? thinking maybe it was possible to cheat the system that way.........did i make any sense at all
Yes, you make sense, thank you.

I've managed to add the CF card as a hard drive under WinUAE by selecting the controller as IDE0 (but the r/w is still ghosted) BUT, when I set up the partitions etc. in HDToolBox it won't let me save/write the configuration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by extralife View Post
dont cry over wasted WB disks, google is your bestsest friend for that
I have just about every Workbench disk produced as an .adf (and nearly every KS ROM) I just can't seem to find my original media

Thanks
iridium is offline  
Old 03 April 2010, 21:57   #26
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi,

I wrote a step by step guide for you, see attached.

Let me know how you get on!

Steve.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Setting up Classic Workbench.zip (5.8 KB, 386 views)

Last edited by fitzsteve; 09 April 2010 at 15:15. Reason: Fixed a typo - please re-download the file =)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 April 2010, 14:57   #27
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hi,

I wrote a step by step guide for you, see attached.

Let me know how you get on!

Steve.
Thanks for the time you've taken writing the set up guide, I'll let you know how I get on but it seems so comprehensive that I don't foresee having any problems.

I received the last part (ribbon cable) from Hong Kong today so I can go ahead and install it all in the next day or so
iridium is offline  
Old 09 April 2010, 14:59   #28
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
No Problem!

Good Luck, and let us know how you get on. If you get stuck just shout.

Steve.

(PS please download the guide again I fixed a typo that could be confusing)

Last edited by fitzsteve; 09 April 2010 at 15:16.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 19:16   #29
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Ok, I've just managed to get around to doing this.

This may be a stupid question, but which side of this is Pin 1???

Thanks.

iridium is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 19:53   #30
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridium View Post
Ok, I've just managed to get around to doing this.

This may be a stupid question, but which side of this is Pin 1???

Thanks.

The one wth a square solder pad, in the pic on the left.
FOL is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 20:00   #31
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
so in that pic it is set for 2-3:slave/master
the exact opposite to my card that just happens to be infront of me
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 20:13   #32
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
The one wth a square solder pad, in the pic on the left.
Thanks for that.

I also found this pdf which is quite useful because the pics show the orientation of the card and cable.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PZ5KV2QA
iridium is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 20:23   #33
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
so in that pic it is set for 2-3:slave/master
the exact opposite to my card that just happens to be infront of me
I've swapped the jumper from that pic, but yet again it's unclear which pin is number 1!
iridium is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 21:24   #34
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridium View Post
I've swapped the jumper from that pic, but yet again it's unclear which pin is number 1!
It looks like mine, so the pic is correct.
You will soon find out.
FOL is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 21:30   #35
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
must admit I`m assuming my card is set up to be master
can`t test at moment though
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 21:34   #36
iridium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
It looks like mine, so the pic is correct.
You will soon find out.
LOL. I'll swap it back...
iridium is offline  
Old 25 April 2010, 21:55   #37
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
dose it make that much difference ? assuming its the only device connected
or have you something else connected seeing as its a 44 pin one
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reviving our dead A1200 mainboards ancalimon support.Hardware 4 07 December 2011 22:07
Reviving my BlizzardPPC help ancalimon support.Hardware 3 28 October 2011 20:10
Reviving a couple of A500+'s janik support.Hardware 27 28 July 2011 23:39
Reviving A1200 that does not boot tygre support.Hardware 25 08 June 2011 06:02
Help reviving A2000 rev 6.2 gdanko support.Hardware 2 06 August 2006 13:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23437 seconds with 15 queries