English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2018, 16:56   #1
oundfire99
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norwich
Posts: 24
Gotek and Floppy Drives

I have got a Gotek USB in place of the internal floppy drive and an external cable which allows you to plugin a PC floppy drive and another Gotek connected to the external hard drive port on the back on my A500. I am only using the Amiga for Octamed and Technosound Turbo. Would it be better to keep the Gotek as main boot drive so I can transfer files from PC to Amiga and use second external floppy drive for saving onto? Been trying to work this one out, ideally I would get an internal flash drive but not got the funds atm. Any ideas would be welcome, thanks.

This is the cable https://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-exter...-/272437676307

Last edited by oundfire99; 05 November 2018 at 18:58. Reason: added link to cable
oundfire99 is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 11:07   #2
Psiq
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Gloucester UK
Posts: 35
You could get a drive switch which allows you to swap DF0 & DF1 round so you can boot from the external drive.

This would allow you to keep the internal floppy drive.
Psiq is offline  
Old 15 November 2018, 14:03   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,384
Yes, a switch to swap over the select lines will work, but only when the internal drive is the floppy drive and the external is the Gotek.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 November 2018, 18:40   #4
oundfire99
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norwich
Posts: 24
Thanks for your answers, will look into the switch and putting back the internal floppy drive.
oundfire99 is offline  
Old 21 November 2018, 23:58   #5
DerSheriff
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 32
I recommend you to add another socket in between the real motherboard socket and the chip. So you'll lift the legs of the middle socket instead of chip ones
DerSheriff is offline  
Old 22 November 2018, 00:32   #6
oundfire99
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Norwich
Posts: 24
Nice, thank for your replies ; )
oundfire99 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Floppy Drives not working on A500 DF0, but Gotek does jraclarke support.Hardware 1 02 August 2018 23:22
using 2x Gotek drives on one Amiga loading floppy images into both of them turrican9 support.Hardware 11 04 January 2016 01:46
If you like Gotek drives and A500s I think you'll be interested in this. Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 61 30 September 2014 01:39
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 01:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06676 seconds with 13 queries