English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 October 2010, 13:45   #1
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Zool won't load with CE on

I'm talking about at least 2 of the cracked ADF versions. No problems with the IPF, though. Take the one below for example, after bypassing the crack credits, the screen goes black and the floppy is accessed for a few seconds before everything stops.

Zool (1992)(Gremlin)(Disk 1 of 2)[cr CSL].adf (CRC32:44BDF0E2)
Zool (1992)(Gremlin)(Disk 2 of 2)[cr CSL].adf (CRC32:9D01465E)

Disabling CE fixes the problem.

Get the savestate here: http://filesurf.ru/209998/zool.uss.html

Regards.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (9.3 KB, 130 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (18.7 KB, 124 views)
Maren is offline  
Old 19 October 2010, 22:31   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,522
Floppy disk

Stupid bug. Paula FIFO was not reset when disk DMA was started and previous DMA was still active. (This loader is quite weird..)














Code:
for (int i = 0; i < 3; i++)
 fifo_inuse[0] = 0;
..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 October 2010, 22:41   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,425
That loader is beyond weird and shit. If its the one I think it is, its ridiculously slow to load the game.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 20 October 2010, 11:57   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,522
I guess crackers didn't have space for full track buffer because loader uses sector sized DMA, then immediately polls DMA'd data and either accepts the sector (if header sector number matches) and continues decoding the rest or aborts the DMA immediately and restarts until correct sector is found.

Confusing part is unused doublebuffered sector buffer (two buffers, pointers swapped after each sector). Both DMA and MFM decoder use same buffer pointer..

Start DMA to buffer1, poll word at buffer1+6 until contents are non-zero, read 2 MFM longs, zero read longs, MFM decode and back to polling until all data has been read. Swap buffer pointers and continue..
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dopus won't load on real A1200 Xav support.Apps 13 24 October 2010 22:49
Mega Twins won't load Tim Janssen support.WinUAE 2 17 March 2004 09:57
Sensible Soccer V. 1.0 ( Fairlight ) won´t load SteSilk support.Games 0 10 February 2003 14:49
adf's won't load - am i stupid? mineisthemost New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 03 December 2002 21:05
Dragons Breath, won't load. Please help! Unregistered support.WinUAE 6 01 October 2002 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07351 seconds with 14 queries