English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2009, 21:19   #1
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Fromating CF card in Windows 7

I Cant seem to format/read my 256meg cf card in Winuae 1.6.1 under win7
try`d running winuae as admin but no change

cf card works fine in A4000 and used to work in winuae under xp

can anyone else confirm similar behavior or suggestions as whats wrong

I`ll try latest beta in a bit
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 21:36   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
I Cant seem to format/read my 256meg cf card in Winuae 1.6.1 under win7
try`d running winuae as admin but no change

cf card works fine in A4000 and used to work in winuae under xp

can anyone else confirm similar behavior or suggestions as whats wrong

I`ll try latest beta in a bit
Ive been having this problem, I can get it to see the cards, but after partitioning, it refuses to format. Saying something about invalid harddrive type.
FOL is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 21:41   #3
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I just get Ndos disk in winuae but when put it back in A4000 its formated

shouts "Toni"

edit: latest beta dosn`t help either
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 22:24   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,502
"Not enough information error"

("works fine here")
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 November 2009, 22:47   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
so what info do you need ?

using win7 utimate core 2 duo 1.8mhz 4gig ram
usb card reader, 256meg cf card
winuae 1.6.1


Bloody works now
was just going get actual error msg
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 22:52   #6
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
must have been
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

("works fine here")
that did it
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 22:57   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
must have been

that did it

Thats right, "Ndos disk" error after it tries to format.

What do you mean not enough information toni?

As in RDB info or PC specs? Cause I still cant get it to work.
FOL is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 23:47   #8
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 489
You need to run as admin and add "-disableharddrivesafetycheck" without the quotes after winuae.exe in the shortcut properties. Sorry for bad formatting of this post, I'm typing this on my mobile phone.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 00:01   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
You need to run as admin and add "-disableharddrivesafetycheck" without the quotes after winuae.exe in the shortcut properties. Sorry for bad formatting of this post, I'm typing this on my mobile phone.
Im using XP and never had to run it as admin before. Has it changed in WinUAE since the last 2 releases?.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 00:48   #10
Mozzerfan
Registered User
Mozzerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Im using XP and never had to run it as admin before. Has it changed in WinUAE since the last 2 releases?.
Under XP you don't have to run it as admin.

Under Vista (and now win 7) you do.

Edit: I guess it has to do with vista's UAC.
Mozzerfan is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 09:09   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,502
Direct drive access requires full admin privileges. Nothing to do with WinUAE.

I need:

a) winuaebootlog.txt after clicking "add harddrive"
b) hd controller type used
c) CF adapter used (USB or IDE)
d) Amiga OS version used, hdtoolbox version used (partitioning works, formatting does not = AmigaOS problems, not WinUAE problems)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 November 2009, 19:50   #12
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Direct drive access requires full admin privileges. Nothing to do with WinUAE.

I need:

a) winuaebootlog.txt after clicking "add harddrive"
b) hd controller type used
c) CF adapter used (USB or IDE)
d) Amiga OS version used, hdtoolbox version used (partitioning works, formatting does not = AmigaOS problems, not WinUAE problems)
Aye, will do.

Busy at the moment though.
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help. Accelerator card breaks startup-sequence scsi.device (CF Card)? ibsimpson Hardware mods 1 09 May 2012 17:12
PC app that reads/writes to Amiga-formatted card in card reader? Photon support.Apps 6 19 July 2011 10:33
WANTED: Zorro Network card and/or cheap 060 card Madrid MarketPlace 0 10 March 2011 23:52
A600: CF in IDE, SRAM card in PCMCIA... how to add a 'to PC transfer card'? Photon support.Hardware 9 15 January 2011 19:17
For sale: AteoBus A1200 busboard with Pixel64 RTG card, Network and scsi card. Smiley MarketPlace 0 19 July 2006 00:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09300 seconds with 15 queries