English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2007, 08:50   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
What audio device for gaming pc?

[since there is no OT section that ppl might actually check, I post here my pc question... posts here are deleted automatically after inactivity, right?)

I have upgraded a little my home pc, and now it actually plays modern games...
I have a PeniumD 920 dual-core 4mb cache 2.80hgz cpu with 2GB DDR2 ram , a Biostar 8600GTS vga on an Asrock ConRoe1333-GLAN mobo...
now the onboard audio is: "7.1 CH Windows® Vista™ Premium Level HD Audio (ALC888 Audio Codec)" and I also have a SB Audigy1 pci card, that I used on my previous setup... what audio do u think I should use? right now I have the Audigy installed, but I wonder if the onboard one is better...

also, WTH after all drivers and windows updates, the system cannot standby/shutdown? I get the lame "you can now safely turn off your computer" screen!!!!! damn!
edit: now I see there are no ACPI devices installed... strange, since the BIOS acpi settings are enabled!

thanks!

Last edited by keropi; 31 August 2007 at 09:25.
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 10:31   #2
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Man, with that horsepower you got you should try out Vista...maybe your "Vista" onboard sound then will blow your Audigy out of the sky
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 10:34   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
bah amigo, I am not that curious... not because I think vista is not good, time must pass until almost all progs adapt to vista
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 10:44   #4
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
What are the specs of your Audigy1?
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 11:13   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
dunno, it is an audigy1 LOL
btw, the acpi prob is gone after a BIOS update and re-installation of xp...
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 13:07   #6
jimbo100
Registered User
jimbo100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 225
Well I recently updated from A Pentium 4 3.2GHz CPU with SB Audigy card to a new ASUS mainboard with onboard 7.1 audio and Quad Core CPU and I have to say the onboard sound is miles in front of the old Audigy card.

Ditch the Audigy card and use the onboard sound!
jimbo100 is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 13:25   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I’ll help you decide, although it depends on what you want from your PC and the operating system you end up with.

Onboard sound uses software (therefore the CPU) to process the actual sound and an onboard DAC (digital to analog converter) on the motherboard to output it to your speakers. This is of course bypassed if you use digital not analog out on the back of your PC. This is described as “software” sound.

Soundcards on the other hand do the processing of the sound instead of the CPU, so generally should have lower CPU utilization. They usually have better quality DAC’s as well. This is known as hardware (accelerated) sound.

In the past, hardware sound was more desirable as onboard used to suck CPU cycles and the DACS were of poor quality to keep motherboard costs down.

Today however, CPU’s are so powerful that the overhead from processing sound is minimal in comparison to hardware solutions. Motherboard DACS are also of higher quality than the past offerings and for general use you’d be hard pressed to notice a difference between hardware and software. If the software solution has good drivers and a better DAC than the soundcard, the onboard may even be better!

Now for games.

If you’re using Windows XP and games are important, check what version of EAX is supported. I’ll guarantee your onboard sound will only support up to EAX2, as Creative copyrighted anything higher. If your Audigy supports a higher version, then it’ll enjoy better support and effects in EAX games.

If you go over to Vista, hardware sound is no longer supported and it will be done in software regardless. Microsoft decided to officially drop hardware-accelerated sound (much to Creatives annoyance I’m sure). The sound to choose then would be the option that has the better drivers and OpenAL support, as that’s the new standard.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 31 August 2007 at 13:39.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 13:51   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
bah... when I upgrade to vista, I'll ditch the audigy
thanks all!
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 16:09   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
I prefer to us the Soundblaster X-Fi for my gaming and general audio needs.

So far I see no need to upgrade to Vista.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 17:19   #10
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
I prefer to us the Soundblaster X-Fi for my gaming and general audio needs.

So far I see no need to upgrade to Vista.
Vista is for those who want to make good use of their RAM
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 31 August 2007, 21:43   #11
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
doesnt really matter too much what you use under vista as all sound is mixed in software as hardware acceleration has been removes for ..stability .... .
to get Hardware accelerated effects the game would have to support OpenAL or work with the directsound emulator.

The audigy1 isnt a bad card but its also not 24bit as its advatised to be.there are very few onboard solutions that will compete with it though. if your board comes with a realtec chipset than any sound card is better
Mad-Matt is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
audio device in use problem Hungry Horace project.WHDLoad 14 28 January 2019 11:41
Galaxy Invader 1000 (my first gaming device) blade002 Retrogaming General Discussion 21 07 February 2017 20:22
force close of audio.device source support.Games 3 19 April 2011 17:01
uaescsi.device and cd audio (again) hexaae support.WinUAE 38 06 June 2007 20:21
Enhanced audio.device solution for MorphOS Paul News 0 10 February 2005 19:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07695 seconds with 15 queries