English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 29 May 2007, 09:08   #1
starglider

what's a good monitor for amiga emulation?

I'm new to Amiga emulation and am using WinUAE. But my good old CRT monitor is about to die and I will soon purchase a new one. I noticed TFT LCD monitors are the new thing, though, and was wondering if they were better than CRTs for emulative purposes (especially games).

Reading in another thread I saw something about 50 Hz and V-Sync for good scrolling in Amiga games. My current CRT handles 50 Hz (and up to 100 Hz) and even though it sometimes skips, I can live with it.

So my question is should I go for another CRT (quality ones seem hard to find these days) or just go with a TFT LCD (more expensive, sexier, and take up less room)? I just want a good monitor. If someone can recommend me, I would be thankful. Also, if you can recommend a particular model you've had experience with, that would be good too.

By the way, it has been a very nostalgic experience for me reading these forums, listening to mods and playing the games, so I thank the community for that.
Old 29 May 2007, 09:14   #2
keropi

bah, low-res graphics look crap on lcd's...
anything below 640x480 (and even this) will look crap....
that is why I have not migrated to lcd's yet...
Old 29 May 2007, 09:48   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

Yes, LCD screen is too sharp for Amiga games, large pixels pop-up from screen.
Old 29 May 2007, 15:12   #4
spiff
Oh noes!

And a good CRT isn't too sharp??? What crap CRTs have you guys been using?

For emulation I'd say the biggest problem with cheap LCDs is the loss of brightness when scrolling (ghosting). Any white pixel surrounded by darker ones will be gray unless you stand still.