English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2018, 22:41   #1
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
OpenArena

Burn PPC's this weekend . Compiled with my latest Q3 sources.

Just make a baseoa dir with openarena packs (0.8.8 version with pak 6 patches-085/088)

Very demanding: Better use vertexlights "r_vertexLight to 1".

Last edited by Cowcat; 04 October 2018 at 20:41.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 01:45   #2
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Burn PPC's this weekend . Compiled with my latest Q3 sources.

Just make a baseoa dir with openarena packs (0.8.8 version with pak 6 patches-085/088)

Very demanding: Better use vertexlights "r_vertexLight to 1".
Bit more help setting this up would be appreciated :-)

This is a replacement for the Q3 exe? And I have to make another dir called baseoa?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 10:02   #3
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Bit more help setting this up would be appreciated :-)


It's a full replacement of Q3 (exe, data & configs): No need at all for the Q3 ones.

I have the new exec (openarena) and the new dir (baseoa) in the same place where Q3 resides: No problem there, but maybe could be if a multiplayer arena needs new pak data and you have already another downloaded before by Q3.

If it asks for download, enable "cl_allowDownload" on console or config.

Has almost the same problems as last Q3 beta: Whatever option that switches off the display, screws the game (still can figure out that without the faster vertexarrays).

But, new fixes and usual updates from various sources: Model is visible now on menu settings (a minigl enhancement) & flares lights start to work (but not on vertexLight mode of course).
Cowcat is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 20:51   #4
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
And the non guaranteed
Attached Files
File Type: lha OpenArena_68k.lha (549.3 KB, 208 views)
Cowcat is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 22:40   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,555
Tested the 68k version I get error: Sys_Error: Couldn't load default.cfg
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 May 2018, 23:47   #6
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Sys_Error: Couldn't load default.cfg
I have no default.cfg. .

Could be because of a different set of paks?

Mine on baseoa (extracted from openarena-0.0.8-repack.zip out there) :

Code:
38138505 oct 31  2008 pak0.pk3
38421794 oct 31  2008 pak1-maps.pk3
26754265 oct 31  2008 pak2-players-mature.pk3
74389371 oct 31  2008 pak2-players.pk3
97077243 oct 31  2008 pak4-textures.pk3
2907315 oct 31  2008 pak5-TA.pk3
24912892 oct 31  2008 pak6-misc.pk3
36972040 feb 21  2010 pak6-patch085.pk3
70645224 feb  7  2012 pak6-patch088.pk3
Also the debian maps worked (some of those a little different in size).
Cowcat is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 01:21   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,555
Quake III Arena with old Engine works

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=209

Code:
21/11/1999  23:32       479.493.658 pak0.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17           374.405 pak1.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17         7.511.182 pak2.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17           276.305 pak3.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17         9.600.350 pak4.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17           191.872 pak5.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17         7.346.884 pak6.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17           320.873 pak7.pk3
14/11/2002  14:17           454.478 pak8.pk3

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 May 2018 at 01:30.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 01:53   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,555
Ok tested OpenArena-0.8.8 and it works well even if a bit slow

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 17 August 2018 at 07:53.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 09:17   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,555
Resolved Error Sys_Error: Couldn't load default.cfg
Game Quake III Arena it works too, it was enough to rename directory "baseq3" to "baseoa"
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 09:31   #10
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Quake III Arena with old Engine works ?
What? .

If you are referring to use Q3 data with OA engine (or reverse) it could work to certain extent: The net protocol version and naming servers plus some functions are disabled/modded a little at compile time, but it's the exact engine.

There's a new modern source tree actually for OA with new features and rendering modes but I'm not gonna go there: Just took some stuff for flares lights.

As mentioned, OA data is full on on effects and texture abuse (or they say that) and even on a 1.4G CPU some scenes could go down to 14 fps with bots !!!
Cowcat is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 09:51   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
What? .
I was referring to the test done some time ago with "quake3-68k"

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 20:10   #12
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 782
Looking at the time it takes to start to menu and from menu to game:

I think this might be related to unpacking the pak files. Is it possible to load in more before sending it to the PPC to unpack? I see the 68K on 60% and the PPC on 5% during this time.

Also, do I need to enable sound like you had to do with Q3?

Looks very cool! Now to find the settings to make it more playable :-)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 21:01   #13
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Looking at the time it takes to start to menu and from menu to game:

Is it possible to load in more before sending it to the PPC to unpack? I see the 68K on 60% and the PPC on 5% during this time.
I don't know -same slowness with MOS-. Time to have an updated/ultra optimized posix lib ???

Too many stuff is used/abused within the OA paks: I checked that "expensive" light functions are called every frame even on simple maps vs Q3 called fewer times on some maps.

Quote:
do I need to enable sound like you had to do with Q3?
Just like Q3: You can copy/paste parameters from your Q3 config. In fact a default config is almost identical between both games.

Some parameters for shell (applicable also to Q3):

Code:
openarena +set r_fullscreen 1 +set r_vertexLight 1 +set s_initsound 1
Cowcat is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 14:41   #14
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 782
Will you back port some of the stuff to Q3 as it seems much faster. I'm referring to the missing models in the menu and such?

Great job thus far. Vbcc I'm guessing?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 14 May 2018, 16:05   #15
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Will you back port some of the stuff to Q3 as it seems much faster. I'm referring to the missing models in the menu and such?
In fact those are my latest Q3 updates, but didn't want to upload another beta(4,5 or 6) just for the sake of "details"....and some render improvements for dynamic lights and fog that now are inside same gllockarray() stuff, etc, etc.

Had openarena for a while but some stuff was missing, like locating more openarena servers: Fixed it, played online like 2 hours and found it was ok so, why not uploading it ?

Newer Q3 will be delivered to the chosen ones ...noooo

Still strong on vbcc: Hope for an update of it regarding data structure alignment for some altivec. Maybe a gcc port just for it, but I'm busy with another id3tech absurdity.....
Cowcat is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 00:19   #16
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Burn PPC's this weekend . Compiled with my latest Q3 sources.

Just make a baseoa dir with openarena packs (0.8.8 version with pak 6 patches-085/088)

Very demanding: Better use vertexlights "r_vertexLight to 1".

I'm downloading it now, and I will test it tomorrow in home- thank Cowcat
BULI is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 23:11   #17
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
I'm downloading it now, and I will test it tomorrow in home- thank Cowcat
Game works!
OP compare to Q3 is bit slower, but works great- big thanks Cowcat

I dream about good car drive game for PPC, like Colin McRae, Richard Burns or Need For Speed - dreamer..

Last edited by BULI; 17 May 2018 at 01:15.
BULI is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 20:44   #18
starship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 99
Of course it runs only with warp3d. No software mod Like quake3 arena, right?

Last edited by starship; 21 May 2018 at 20:50.
starship is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 21:18   #19
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 450
Quote:
Of course it runs only with warp3d. No software mod Like quake3 arena, right?
All id Tech 3 engines use exclusively 3D gfx hardware. Quake2 was the latest that allowed software rendering. So yes, only warp3d.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 09 June 2018, 00:51   #20
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,388
Works pretty good. I used openarena-data-0.8.8.tgz. Have to figure out faster settings.
grelbfarlk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09329 seconds with 15 queries