English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2017, 15:15   #1
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 514
SoftFloat FPU emulation

Hi Toni, could this new feature be made as program?
arti is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 18:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,129
I think you need to be more specific.. "Program"?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 21:24   #3
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 720
i think like mac application to enable fpu emulation (i don't remember the name)
Seiya is offline  
Old 04 July 2017, 11:05   #4
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 403
If you mean as FPU emulation for real Amigas, look at this page.

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...oftfpu+vampire

But remember, you'll need in any case a fast CPU
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 04 July 2017, 13:25   #5
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
i think like mac application to enable fpu emulation (i don't remember the name)
Yes, exacly, it was called SoftwareFPU https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/1963/software-fpu
arti is offline  
Old 04 July 2017, 13:47   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,129
I guess it is doable. (But don't ask me to do it)

Biggest missing part is F-line exception handler that decodes FPU instructions, decodes effective addresses (I don't think the platform you think about does that even if real 68EC040/060 does it.. FPU stack frames may have same problem), and more and redirects execution to emulator code.

It will be very slow because softfloat internally calculates everything in extended precision (80-bit) format, just like real 6888x FPU.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 15:23   #7
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,573
Funny thing is, if you run old software-fpu in Shapeshifter - guess what happens?
kolla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the Amiga Emulation scene (but not the Amiga or Emulation) - controller query mrvp Member Introductions 3 30 August 2015 21:57
FPU emulation elowan support.FS-UAE 8 31 January 2013 07:53
Possible FPU emulation bug in 2.5.1? Zoltar support.WinUAE 13 05 January 2013 15:52
Fpu emulation bug cefa68000 support.WinUAE 2 09 February 2007 20:14
Is a faster WinUAE FPU emulation possible? PeterK support.WinUAE 19 12 May 2005 14:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08079 seconds with 13 queries