English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2017, 00:29   #1
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 773
Action Replay Help

Hello, how can I use Action Replay to know what assembly is currently running?

I have read the manual and this says that the "D" command followed by the (return) key will begin Disassembly in 68000 m/c from the point atwhich the program was frozen.

From WinUAE I am pressing the PAGEUP which takes me to AR. I then press D and each time I press enter I get assembly commands printed. However what I can't understand is that when I press X (return) and continue to another part of the game and press PAGEUP again, when I press D I get the same assembly previously printed (starts from same place).

Is there something that I am doing wrong?

What I would like is to trigger an event in the game and see what assembly is being executed to handle that event.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 13 April 2017, 02:00   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Hello, how can I use Action Replay to know what assembly is currently running?

I have read the manual and this says that the "D" command followed by the (return) key will begin Disassembly in 68000 m/c from the point atwhich the program was frozen.

From WinUAE I am pressing the PAGEUP which takes me to AR. I then press D and each time I press enter I get assembly commands printed. However what I can't understand is that when I press X (return) and continue to another part of the game and press PAGEUP again, when I press D I get the same assembly previously printed (starts from same place).

Is there something that I am doing wrong?

What I would like is to trigger an event in the game and see what assembly is being executed to handle that event.
It could simply be that the game happens to use a common routine that it finds itself in a lot of the time.

To confirm, type R which will display all the current registers, if you look for the PC register, this is the PROGRAM COUNTER and that tells you precisely what the current address the program is currently about to execute next.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 13 April 2017, 17:22   #3
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
At http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/actionreplay

you can download the action replay manual.

There, under monitor commands, you will find some useful commands.
Action replay can let you set a break point at some address with BS xxxxxx
and when the program reach that location, the freezer will be activated.
Dan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Action Replay 3 Hungry Horace Hardware mods 45 03 October 2008 02:27
Action Replay 1.0 thor support.WinUAE 13 25 February 2007 15:05
Action Replay? Unregistered support.Hardware 53 26 March 2005 22:52
Action Replay 3 or 4 d0okie support.WinUAE 5 09 September 2004 00:20
Action Replay Dawid79 support.WinUAE 1 11 July 2002 18:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11771 seconds with 13 queries