English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 January 2021, 01:20   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
Amiga Digital Video HDMI for the A500 and A600

Hi All,

For those people that would like to add HDMI to their A500 (and A600) then this is the place to check. First things, here is the authors github.

https://github.com/c0pperdragon/Amiga-Digital-Video

This is an open source project that has been created by C0pperdragon and based on a fork of other works. You can read the github to get all the info you need.

Basically it will use a Pi Zero attached to your Denise to produce a Digital HDMI output of your RGB signals being fed to your Denise. The output lag is only a couple of milliseconds but don't take my word for it, check out the following youtube video created by Jan Beta.

Here is the link to his profile and his videos on the HDMI adapter. It will work on OCS and ECS and an a500 (and a600, i will create an adapter to make it work) so that it wont interfere with any CPU accelerators like the Furia etc

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCft...9EgH0eDOZtjzcA

I will create a video in the next week of the how to buy/build and setup of the board. I will not be selling these, i have a few boards left over from my purchase and i will pass them on to friends, COpperdragon has ordered more boards to try to keep up with demand so first come first served.

At present the A500 version is pretty well plug n Play. The A600 version will require some soldering and i will try to make it as easy as possible for the end user when i (hopefully) design a nice little board.

I will add more info later, if anyone has comments on the HDMI adpter then please chime in. I have heard nothing but good things about it

(And the price, would be roughly about $50 CAD to build
kipper2k is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 01:57   #2
fxgogo
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Richmond / U.K.
Posts: 261
Yeah been seeing this on other posts and forums. It is very exciting. Did you see Jan Beta’s coverage on it? The picture quality is something else. On of the more electronically minded members on RMCretro’s discord is doing a bunch of boards for us members. Can’t wait to get mine.
fxgogo is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 02:14   #3
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
I think it is WELL worth the price. The cost of a basic Raspberry Pi Zero is about $6 (don't need the Wifi version 1). It is a shame you can't buy more than 1 pi zero at a time (at least over here). It would help with a group buy option to save on shipping costs.If i get permission i will add this to my SMDa1k and 500 motherboard so as to display default HDMI output
kipper2k is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 02:42   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,597
How does this improve from the forked project which already supported the Amiga?

https://github.com/hoglet67/RGBtoHDMI
alexh is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 02:47   #5
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I think this is a competing or potentially forked project still in development?

https://github.com/hoglet67/RGBtoHDMI
Hi Alexh, Bang on!, he is using the software created by Hoglet67. The Amiga version doesn't need the CPLD as it already has the Analog inputs. The adapter board itself just needs level shifters (5v - 3.3v) and a 3.3v regulator that connect the Amiga signals to the Pi I/O pins. I think there was mention of also overclocking the Pi Zero, i will check that out to see if it actually makes a difference
kipper2k is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 14:37   #6
Heywood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 34
I have one of these boards in my hot little hands - just waiting for the Pi Zero to come in the mail to give a go in my A500.

I also have an OSSC that I normally use for my A600 and CD32 via the Kipper2k riser. What would be nice is to try to do a meaningful side by side comparison between the two and maybe my 1084.

Is there any Amiga specific video latency testing software around? One way I suspect might be to do something like selecting a game a game that does something like shoot/jump in an easily repeatable manner, and modifying a joystick or something so that a LED lights up when the input changes and using a relatively high-speed camera to count the number of frames to when the display shows the game changing and repeat it for each display output type.
Heywood is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 14:38   #7
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 167
Sensible Soccer is my goto latency test.
lilwshu is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 14:40   #8
Ernst Blofeld
<optimized out>

Ernst Blofeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: <optimized out>
Posts: 275
What would be needed to adapt this to the 1000?
Ernst Blofeld is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 14:45   #9
Heywood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilwshu View Post
Sensible Soccer is my goto latency test.

I can understand playing a game in a particular setup so many times you can feel when something is out of whack but how do you perform the objective evaluation in this game? It might be sacrilegious but game type isn't my particular cup of tea so I'm not sure when you would be able to have a repeatable situation to test - is it when you have the ball and you want to pass?
Heywood is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 14:46   #10
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 385
This is very cool and shouldn't it have an AUTO PAL or NTSC output based on the game versions itself?

Or is the output locked on game start due to the regional specific output of the Amigas?
Valken is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 15:21   #11
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heywood View Post
I can understand playing a game in a particular setup so many times you can feel when something is out of whack but how do you perform the objective evaluation in this game? It might be sacrilegious but game type isn't my particular cup of tea so I'm not sure when you would be able to have a repeatable situation to test - is it when you have the ball and you want to pass?
Disclaimer: This is is no way scientific and likely subjective.

If you have one, plug your Amiga into a CRT then start a two player game and move your player around. You should see no delay between your actions and the player moving. Then repeat on whatever else you want to test.

I've found that even if other games seem OK, this test will reveal any lag.
lilwshu is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 16:44   #12
btp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Greece
Posts: 25
An idea to measure lag could be to connect at the same time your 1084 (or similar) monitor on the Amiga's usual RGB video out and your HDMI monitor/tv on the Pi Zero's output. Then use a 50fps capturing camera to record the 2 screens displaying a demo running on the Amiga.
btp is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 16:55   #13
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
using both a HDMI output and RGB output and recording should be able to give a very good indication of lag. C0pperdragan says a few milliseconds, i am thinking about 3 - 5 milliseconds which is comparable with PC gaming. If wanting to buy a few PCBs btw remember to get the V2 version which allows use of the super denise. I will show a so far not yet mentioned option once i try it.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 00:54   #14
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 178
I have a few ideas for an adaptor for the A600 but haven't yet had time to knock anything up in KiCad. What I had in mind is pretty much plug and play and should fit under other cards and RAM expansions.

Be interesting to see what you manage to come up with.

And same over here regarding the Pi Zero. Only one per person. I generally stick one on any of my orders from places the sell them as they are great things to have lying about
Lemaru is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 01:09   #15
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 691
I like one for my A600. This is a great project and much needed. Great work.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 19:59   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
The Amiga version doesn't need the CPLD as it already has the Analog inputs.
Did you mean "The Amiga version doesn't need the CPLD as it already has the DIGITAL inputs"?

The CPLD seems to be a simple ADC for computers with no digital video outputs just integrated video DACs.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 January 2021, 20:31   #17
Ernst Blofeld
<optimized out>

Ernst Blofeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: <optimized out>
Posts: 275
Can you use it in an Amiga 1000?
Ernst Blofeld is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 00:14   #18
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 4,097
I will look at the a1000 later for you...

Here are some pictures i have just taken. I just received my boards and built 1 .

here are some pictures, i will show the smaller res ones first. I took some pictures during the built process


my server messin up,,, hang on



hmm, pictures won't show
not sure why

Last edited by kipper2k; 19 January 2021 at 00:26.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 00:24   #19
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 390
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Cool project, really.
For the A600, wouldn’t there be a way if we have A604 memory extension ?
The indivision ECS plugs in it and get all information it needs to « flicker fix » the video signal from it....
seb132 is offline  
Old 19 January 2021, 00:26   #20
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 390
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernst Blofeld View Post
Can you use it in an Amiga 1000?

A1000 is OCS Denise, it should work... providing the adapter board doesn’t need redesign in case of interference inside the case.
seb132 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Digital Video AJCopland News 24 10 February 2021 20:28
Digital video out options for AA3000+? matt3k support.Hardware 2 17 December 2020 05:40
Vampire 500 v2+: Is all video HDMI yet? Starglider 2 support.Hardware 37 06 April 2018 15:25
Review of No-name S-Video/composite NTSC to HDMI@720p Video scaler unit aperez support.Hardware 6 03 January 2011 20:39
Digital signals on Amiga video connector whitebird support.Hardware 7 26 September 2010 16:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15807 seconds with 14 queries