English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2020, 17:43   #81
hammer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
if you do not see the differences I guess you simply are a "V1200" person..
as if you are into a 060 solution. you know why you do not want an Vampire.. simple.

PII level. well. that train left over 25 years ago...
For my Amiga 1200, I want something faster than 68060 50Mhz.

I have both Ryzen 9 3900X and Intel Core 9-9900K, hence I'm biased towards the application's performance results, not the CPU type.

I also have Amiga 500 with Freescale era 68000 at 50Mhz overclocked, 12MB ram and 16GB CF storage, hence I'm okay with CPU overclocks.

As I stated, I can source 68060 CPU on my own. I only need adapter card with about 64 MB fast RAM on it.

Last edited by hammer; 15 September 2020 at 17:53.
hammer is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 17:47   #82
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
060 can do up to 105MHz. if you want faster? well. emulator maybe?
to be honest. I do not know why I technically need more than 50MHz 060 being amiga.

for modern stuff I use my PC..
Chucky is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 17:59   #83
hammer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
060 can do up to 105MHz. if you want faster? well. emulator maybe?
to be honest. I do not know why I technically need more than 50MHz 060 being amiga.

for modern stuff I use my PC..
My PCs are busy with Blender3D RTX, Visual Studio/Unreal Engine 4 and PC gaming.

My Amigas are taking a break from it and Retro, but I don't mind faster 68060. I haven't overclocked 68060, I want' to try it.

For LOL, I installed 68010P12 on my Amiga 500 since I read about it from many years ago. I have a few 68000FN20 and 68010FN25 CPUs to burn through.

Last edited by hammer; 15 September 2020 at 18:06.
hammer is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 18:21   #84
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
just putting in an 20MHz 68000 will not do much..
will still run at 7.14MHz
Chucky is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 19:55   #85
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 983
Thumbs up

man I’m just so happy that the TF1260 is still a go and will be sold hopefully soon by trusted Amiga people t
klx300r is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 19:58   #86
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 983
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
The V1200 is not the "060 A1200 board market" it is a different thing. those who are looking for a 060 solution surly will not look at the "080"..
+ 1
klx300r is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 20:40   #87
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 1,017
I intend to have both!
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 20:41   #88
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
as told. the amigamarket is filled with crazy persons
Chucky is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 08:35   #89
hammer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
060 can do up to 105MHz. if you want faster? well. emulator maybe?
to be honest. I do not know why I technically need more than 50MHz 060 being amiga.

for modern stuff I use my PC..
I have seen your youtube video with faster than 50 Mhz 68060 for TF A1260.

Are you restricting my argument for faster than 50 Mhz 68060 while you enjoying your overclocked 68060 TF A1260?
hammer is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 08:37   #90
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
Overclocking the 060 is no woodomagic...
Chucky is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 08:38   #91
hammer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Overclocking the 060 is no woodomagic...
Why are you arguing against overclocking 68060?
hammer is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 08:38   #92
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
Since when I have argued against OC?
Chucky is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 08:42   #93
hammer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Since when I have argued against OC?
Originally Posted by Chucky
060 can do up to 105MHz. if you want faster? well. emulator maybe?
to be honest. I do not know why I technically need more than 50MHz 060 being amiga.

for modern stuff I use my PC..


--------------

PS, My gaming PC CPUs are overclocked, but they don't exceed the top SKU limits. I seen 68060R60 faster than 105Mhz e.g. 110Mhz

Last edited by hammer; 18 September 2020 at 09:08.
hammer is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 08:45   #94
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
well technically no real need. maybe to make some demos run smoother. but that's it. for "daily usage" on the Amiga. you will for sure be all fine with a 50MHz 060..
it doesn't mean I am against OC.. just that it is maybe somewhat "overhyped"
I will run my 060 machines at 95% at 50MHz anyway. both on my Warp 1260 or TF1260
Chucky is offline  
Old 18 September 2020, 15:55   #95
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,310
The cloning discussion can continue here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=103999
Jope is offline  
Old 20 September 2020, 12:47   #96
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,881
Haven't really been paying attention lately (so apologies if this has been discussed already), but speaking of TF1260. Did Stephen close down his YouTube channel? What happened?
eXeler0 is online now  
Old 20 September 2020, 12:48   #97
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 49
Posts: 918
Some guy apparenlty sold cloned TF536 cards. and he got pissed and removed stuff. .yes
Chucky is offline  
Old 20 September 2020, 22:50   #98
peo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ursviken
Posts: 99
This isn't exactly helping the current userbase, and is not stopping those who already have the ability to clone the TF536..

I created "clone_a_git_4.1-FE_Update_4.sh" a week too late...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Some guy apparenlty sold cloned TF536 cards. and he got pissed and removed stuff. .yes
peo is offline  
Old 20 September 2020, 23:34   #99
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Some guy apparenlty sold cloned TF536 cards. and he got pissed and removed stuff. .yes
Its a pity.. I hope he completes his projects anyway.
eXeler0 is online now  
Old 01 October 2020, 12:00   #100
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,881
@Chucky, you're still in the loop, just curious.. has Stephen reacted to the recent price hikes on 060 CPUs?

At some point when I mentioned a TF1240 variant as a low cost alternative in one of his YouTubve livestreams bascially the idea was shot down with arguments that 040 suck and why wouldnät you want a 060 card.
Well.. Now even ppl in the Amiga community (as opposed to ebay vultures) are asking for €350 for a rev6 060 (which really must be the worst performance /dollar for a CPU ever :-) ) And even old XC early revs have become scarce and expensive..
Problem is of course, even noble Amigans now wont (shouldnt!) sell for decent prices because then vultures will buy them cheap and shamelessly resell at double the price.. so now the cat is out of the bag so to speak..
eXeler0 is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (3 members and 1 guests)
copse, SukkoPera, AJCopland
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10096 seconds with 13 queries