English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2014, 13:50   #1
eroom72
Registered User

eroom72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: doncaster/uk
Age: 46
Posts: 36
Checkmate 1500 Refresh

OK, so I got one of Kipper2K's 8MB fastmem boards with the ide interface (which is great Kipper2K) and was going to install it into one of my A500's but then I remembered that I had a Checkmate 1500....

The Checkmate came with a rather dusty Rev5 500 board, I swapped that with a Rev8A 500+ board.
Added a Indivision ECS.
Added Kipper2K board with an 64MB CF Card. (big enough for the moment)
Added 3.1 rom.

Theres a bit more to do yet, replace the floppy drives with new, clean the keyboard. I'll add pics more pics over the coming weeks.

I'll let the photos do the talking now























You may have noticed that Kipper2K's riser board is mounted the other way round to normal, this was to clear the Indi. Even though I knew it would be ok I still PM'd Kipper2K to make sure .

Was going to mount an external LED as well but cant bring myself to drill the Checkmate case so I think Ill leave as is.

Paul.
eroom72 is offline  
Old 17 September 2014, 19:24   #2
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Really nice beefing man.
I'd suggest a big bigger CF (lets say 4GB) and you're good to go
mfilos is offline  
Old 27 September 2014, 17:33   #3
eroom72
Registered User

eroom72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: doncaster/uk
Age: 46
Posts: 36
Just got round to uploading the last pics...

Cleaned the keyboard first and tidied the cabling up which was hanging out of the back.





Cleaned out.



And reassembled.



Removed the old battery and fitted a new coin type holder.



Header soldered onto Fastmem/ide board for remote LED.





Homemade LED holder for one the existing cutouts in the 1500 case.





Reassembled with the new disk drives.







All back together.



Well pleased with how it turned out. Have got 3.1 installed along with some patches and whdload
eroom72 is offline  
Old 02 October 2014, 22:31   #4
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 728
If these cases where for sale again I would buy one immediately.
cv643d is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 19:59   #5
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 966
They are not too complex either. Maybe Loriano could take a look and see what he can do Maybe an improved batch...
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 04 October 2014, 15:19   #6
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sydney / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 181
I sent him an email and asked him! His X500 cases are outstanding

What is the D-type blank plate on the front of the case likely for (under the left floppy)?
voyager_1701e is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 13:22   #7
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
If these cases where for sale again I would buy one immediately.
So would I!

Members on here will sometimes start a thread about "Would you buy a new Amiga?"

Imho! Start churning out these A500 cases, make one for the A1200 at the same time. Im done with towers. These checkmate things are great
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 09:14   #8
eroom72
Registered User

eroom72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: doncaster/uk
Age: 46
Posts: 36
After working on this one I definitely would buy one for the A1200 if available. I did think for a bit while I was putting this together shall I modify it and fit a 1200 board instead but that would have meant cutting up a rare case which I couldn't bring myself to do :-)
eroom72 is offline  
Old 16 October 2014, 15:23   #9
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 728
For the A1200 you could simply get a short depth 19" 1u rack case and put the mobo in that, but you would not be able to fit a PSU internally on the 1u rack if you want to run a turbo board.
cv643d is offline  
Old 17 October 2014, 17:26   #10
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
For the A1200 you could simply get a short depth 19" 1u rack case and put the mobo in that, but you would not be able to fit a PSU internally on the 1u rack if you want to run a turbo board.
Whilst that is feasible, easy to do etc! I still think one of these checkmate's re-jigged for an A1200 would just rock big time

I remember an Atari ST version which just looked FUGLY in comparison to this Checkmate.

If somebody like Jens started churning these out, I would buy one asap!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 21 October 2014, 15:09   #11
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 728
Yes I have to agree, the Checkmate looks like an oldschool "professional" workstation.
cv643d is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 13:17   #12
clusteruk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Marston Moretaine
Posts: 4
Wow that looks great, it took me over twenty years to get myself another Checkmate 1500 as a memento of all the work I did on them and inspired me to re make it as you may know.

Sorry for the blatant plug but down to 9 days :-)

Steve

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects...-desktop-compu

clusteruk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amiga 1500 help minimiger support.Hardware 1 01 August 2011 21:32
Amiga 1500 woes rave support.Hardware 13 16 March 2008 19:50
Amiga 1500 for Sale lopos2000 MarketPlace 20 05 April 2006 15:34
Save game in CHECKMATE oolong support.Games 0 23 May 2002 18:09
Looking for CHECKMATE (Interplay) oolong request.Old Rare Games 6 15 May 2002 09:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07187 seconds with 13 queries