English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2020, 03:01   #1
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 55
Winuae 4.2.1 64 bit problem

I have asked for help on this before but it was so long ago I do not remember everything that was explained to me.


So I open a config file and I press F12 and I get a black screen and end up having to alt-tab my way out of it.


I remember this having to do with choosing Direct3D for the API, but I also remember finding a work around and keeping Direct3D, maybe something to do with RTG or something I just do not remember.


Does anybody have a work around this without using DirectDraw instead of Direct3D (I like using Direct3D filters). I like to use F12 a lot to customize my screen filters and to save state files so it is a bummer not be able to do this.



Thank you in advance.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 22 June 2020, 03:13   #2
coldacid
Registered User

coldacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 159
How long do you wait before you Alt-Tab out? A lot of my environments start off with a black screen for a few seconds before Workbench comes up. It's never instantaneous.
coldacid is offline  
Old 22 June 2020, 03:17   #3
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 55
I will try waiting for a while and get back to you.

Well the Winuae screen does not popup even after 2 minutes, just the black screen. I am using a custom config to enter a WHDLoad game so I am not in workbench. Thanks to Hoborg for his HWA automatic loading of games, I love that guy.

I just changed to DirectDraw on one config and the problem went away like I figured but there has to be a work around right? games like Abandoned Places: A time for Heroes looks terrible with its color scheme so with filters it looks a little more playable. I mean I could play it anyway but it really looks better with anti-aliasing.

Is there a older or recent Winuae maybe even a x86 version that will fix this?

Edit:
I just installed WinUAE 4.3.0 and its the same thing.

Last edited by bobrpggamer; 22 June 2020 at 03:35.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 22 June 2020, 11:26   #4
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 61
Does it happen when on Display tab you use Full-window instead of Fullscreen?
rutra80 is offline  
Old 22 June 2020, 11:53   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,752
Maybe there could be a relation to some other problems that I sometimes have with WinUAE 4.x and the screen switching under D3D11. In my case WinUAE just gets paused and I can continue after clicking onto the "Pause" key. The desired screen opens then.

Check your WinUAE settings under "Pri. & Extensions" for "Pause emulation", too.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98854
PeterK is offline  
Old 22 June 2020, 12:53   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,908
Enable path panel full logging option, start emulation (in windowed mode if it also happens in windowed mode), trigger the problem, wait 5 seconds. Exit.

Attach winuaelog.txt (check winuaebootlog.txt last line for winuaelog.txt path)
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem loading Project-X on WinUAE 4.0.1 64-bit yorgos support.WinUAE 4 06 December 2018 09:54
64-bit WinUAE doesn't work on 64-bit Windows XP mark_k support.WinUAE 6 24 December 2017 21:17
64-bit WinUAE? little request.UAE Wishlist 56 05 June 2015 16:56
Winuae 1.60 64-bit? zambot3 support.WinUAE 3 15 March 2015 14:02
64-bit version sound problem Evore support.WinUAE 10 02 October 2010 12:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06754 seconds with 13 queries