English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2020, 10:37   #1
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Floppy disk Can't Get Kickstart 2.05 to Recognise CF Card

Hi,

I'm trying to configure a 4GB Transcend CompactFlash card in WinUAE so that I can use it in my A600 with a 44-pin IDE-CF adapter (V.H2). I'm using a 'King of Flash' USB CF reader on a Windows 10 machine.

I can only see the drive in HDToolbox (or HDInstTools) if I tell WinUAE to run a Kickstart 3.0 or 3.1 ROM. If I run a 2.05 ROM, HDToolbox shows 'Driver not installed', while HDInstTools tells me in German 'Keine Gerate gefunden'. Google Translate tells me this means 'No devices found', but I could have probably guessed that.

Have I missed something fundamental here? I've tried setting up the hard drive in WinUAE as 'UAE uaehf.device' and also 'IDE (auto)', but neither works.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm itching to get this running on my A600!

Thanks
amigatime is offline  
Old 14 June 2020, 11:25   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,035
For uaehf.device you need to tell HDToolbox to use that. Either put SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=uaehf.device in the icon tooltypes or run HDToolbox from the shell as hdtoolbox uaehf.device.

For "IDE (auto)" you have to configure WinUAE to use an A600 chipset and remove tooltypes from HDToolbox.

In any case you have to run WinUAE as administrator to access the real CF card.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 June 2020, 15:13   #3
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
For uaehf.device you need to tell HDToolbox to use that. Either put SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=uaehf.device in the icon tooltypes or run HDToolbox from the shell as hdtoolbox uaehf.device.

For "IDE (auto)" you have to configure WinUAE to use an A600 chipset and remove tooltypes from HDToolbox.

In any case you have to run WinUAE as administrator to access the real CF card.
That works, thank you
amigatime is offline  
Old 14 June 2020, 20:47   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,908
Running winuae as admin is not necessarily required when using CF cards, I don't even remember when I last needed it. I think it depends on Windows version and drivers.

Other types of drives (USB, IDE etc) usually require admin.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Amiga - SD Card and Kickstart question jlf New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 07 April 2020 02:14
Anybody recognise this 'did did did' screen? Is it a virus? MrD support.Other 4 20 November 2016 17:18
Does anyone recognise this music? pingu Retrogaming General Discussion 2 07 April 2015 02:05
accelerator card kickstart 3.1 update giannis_vassili support.Hardware 24 11 February 2008 03:13
How do I recognise my Amiga Drive... jambamiga support.WinUAE 3 28 November 2002 21:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06701 seconds with 13 queries