English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 June 2020, 05:32   #1
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 307
4GB limit: How can I overcome with 3.1 (not 3.1.4)

Hello all,

I have just purchased the Hyperion 3.1.4 ROM-Workbench Diskettes pack for my A1200 (Escom), but I really enjoy using Bloodwych's *ready-made* Classic Amiga Workbench, since they have awesome customization, and contain all the most frequently used utilities in them.

1) Can I upgrade, (that is, to install on top of), my *existing* Classic Amiga Workbench, with Hyperion 3.1.4?

In other words, replace my two Kickstart ROM chips, with the Hyperion 3.1.4 ROM chips, and then insert the new Workbench 3.1.4 diskettes, and install them over my existing 3.1?

2) If not, is there a *patch* that allows me to convert my Classic Amiga Workbench to the Hyperion 3.1.4?

p.s. sorry, the title should have been "Can install 3.14 on top of 3.1".
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 18 June 2020, 16:06   #2
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
Yes, installing 3.1.4 on top of 3.1 should work fine. I don’t know the particularities of Classic Amiga Workbench, so just make sure to do a backup first in case something unexpected happens.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 18 June 2020, 17:41   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,815
It is not an easy thing to integrate or use to install OS 3.1.3 on ClassicWB, read here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94493

If you are an expert, my advice is to install ClassicWB and then integrate libraries, devices, etc... of 3.1.4 manually, another work is to integrate parts of the startup-sequence omitting the specific commands used by OS 3.1.4, not easy but feasible.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 June 2020 at 17:47.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scsi.device 43.45 patched IDE A1200 4GB LIMIT PARTITIONS ? drluking support.Apps 11 06 November 2016 10:43
How to overcome this OS 3.9 picture.datatype issue? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 4 14 August 2014 01:27
AmigaOS 3.1 - Partions above 4gb limit ancalimon support.Apps 3 24 June 2014 13:46
Partition 80GB HDD over the 4GB limit... 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 5 12 March 2010 19:38
AVI recording 4GB limit trance007 support.WinUAE 13 01 July 2003 14:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06999 seconds with 15 queries