English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 May 2020, 19:24   #1
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
A2024 emulation under 1.3

Hi folks,

I’m setting up a high-end 1.3 system and want to add an emulated A2024 monitor. To work under 1.3, it requires a replacement exec.library, graphics.library, and intuition.library to be softkicked. The 2024 disk comes with a tool, RamKick, to do this. The problem is that RamKick seems to conflict with the UAE ROM that contains the hardfile/directory filesystem drivers. In other words, I can only get RamKick to work if I disable the UAE ROM, which also disables my hard drive partitions.

Does anyone know if there are settings which would allow all these elements to work together?

I tried LoadModule from Aminet (the non-THOR version) as a replacement for RamKick and while it can kick in the replacement intuition and graphics, it can’t kick in the replacement exec. So alternatively, does anyone know the arguments to use on LoadModule so that it could kick in the new exec?
Matt_H is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 18:39   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,908
It seems to do something weird with autoconfig, not sure if it can be worked around. I'll try to debug it someday..

You can try selecting some hardware emulated HD controller, like A2091/A590 (but obviously it needs full RDB hardfile and directory filesystem is impossible)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 June 2020, 19:41   #3
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
Thanks, Toni!

I use an emulated 2091 for my SYS: partition and the directory filesystem for my Work: partition in order to share it with the host system (i.e., it doesn't need to be bootable). As a short-term workaround, I don't suppose the UAE ROM exists in a software/BindDrivers form that could live in SYS:Expansion? Would that bypass the AutoConfig conflicts?

Alternatively, is it worth playing with the expansion board order to move the UAE ROM into a different memory space?
Matt_H is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 07:35   #4
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
I don't know if it helps, but here is the verbose output when using Commodore's RamKick program to load in the replacement libraries. The command line for this was "ramkick -sum -verbose libs:exec.library libs:graphics.library libs:intuition.library".


Code:
ramkick: found option "-sum"...
Removing old entries from eb->KickMemPtr and eb->KickTagPtr
loadseg() "libs:exec.library"
Found resident tag : seg 0x20BAC, res 0x20C66
ramkick: replacing "exec.library"
Count == 1 resident tag(s) : seg 0x20BAC, res 0x20C66
Count == 2 resident tag(s) : seg 0x20BAC, res 0x22630
 2 resident tag(s) found in seglist 21CBA8
libs:exec.library: seglist 0x20BAC, res 0x20C66
loadseg() "libs:graphics.library"
Found resident tag : seg 0x2D12DC, res 0x2D12E0
Count == 1 resident tag(s) : seg 0x2D12DC, res 0x2D12E0
 1 resident tag(s) found in seglist 2B45E8
libs:graphics.library: seglist 0x21CBAC, res 0x2D12E0
loadseg() "libs:intuition.library"
Found resident tag : seg 0x2DD11C, res 0x2DD120
Count == 1 resident tag(s) : seg 0x2DD11C, res 0x2DD120
 1 resident tag(s) found in seglist 2BC170
libs:intuition.library: seglist 0x2AE3A4, res 0x2DD120

ramkick: successfully loaded 3 files...
CheckRes: chaining to 0x22C58
Count == 1 resident tag(s) : seg 0x205C4, res 0x205C8
Count == 2 resident tag(s) : seg 0x205C4, res 0x2062E
 2 resident tag(s) found in seglist 20B8A
CheckRes: chaining to 0x22C58
CheckRes: chaining to 0x22C58
ramkick: HIT CTRL-AMIGA-AMIGA TO REBOOT OR CTRL-C TO ABORT...
Matt_H is offline  
Old 13 June 2020, 17:49   #5
Juz400
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London
Posts: 105
Was wondering if this was a long persistance monitor for taming the Amigas interlaced modes, one of the comments says it had an internal framebuffer.
Learn something new everyday!

[ Show youtube player ]
Juz400 is offline  
Old 14 June 2020, 00:29   #6
ché
Registered User

ché's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Binningen/Switzerland
Age: 55
Posts: 5
https://bigbookofamigahardware.com/b...ct.aspx?id=864


The A2080 was a flickerfriend(lier) monitor, I used that in combo with the A-Max on my A1000.
ché is offline  
Old 14 June 2020, 01:39   #7
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juz400 View Post
Was wondering if this was a long persistance monitor for taming the Amigas interlaced modes, one of the comments says it had an internal framebuffer.
Learn something new everyday!

[ Show youtube player ]
That video is a bit hopeless, the guy doesn't use any A2024 modes with it! Just shows Workbench in normal hi-res and high-res laced. The board inside the monitor does de-interlace normal Amiga modes. It doesn't have long-persistence phosphor.
mark_k is offline  
Old 15 June 2020, 22:28   #8
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 215
It's basically a bit of hardware trickery to get high-res screens for PPage and similar productivity programs. Never had a real one, but it's fun playing around with it in emulation. In 1.3, the bundled libraries and utility programs represent early incarnations of what would become the display database under 2.0, as well as other 2.0 Intuition features (mouse acceleration) and one not carried through to release (two-dimensional/freeform screen dragging).
Matt_H is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2024 broken since WinUAE 4.0.0 superfrog support.WinUAE 3 08 November 2019 16:20
Remove A2024 artifacts option mark_k request.UAE Wishlist 4 11 December 2012 13:39
Another A2024-related suggestion mark_k support.WinUAE 2 04 December 2012 15:35
A2024 palette not exactly grey mark_k support.WinUAE 4 16 April 2012 19:46
Anyone got an A2024 monitor service manual? mark_k request.Other 0 21 October 2007 14:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07633 seconds with 15 queries