English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.KGLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2007, 20:23   #21
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Yeah it's mainly going to be for my whdload packs, which is why I want to get them finished first, then I at least have a complete listing of all the games ready and waiting.

As for settable tooltypes and so forth, yep they should all be configurable.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 07:53   #22
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
KG, so what is currently the recommended extraction of the KG Packs that will be compatible with the frontend? (e.g. should all of the packs be extracted preserving directories into the same directory, so that you end up with 1 directory with thousands of subdirectories, 1 for each game).
Calgor is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 11:39   #23
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 42
Posts: 5,238
i second that question and i would like to know also, there is a filter for let in / out the list the games that you don't have? meaning that the the program does parse the directories?

does also a central database means that when you release a new pack you have also an updated database with screenshots to download?

lastly, wouldn't be cool if, at this point you (and whoever is intersted) produce a very light version of a workbench, hidden away the GUI autoloading ? like a lite - lite - ClassicWB?
Marcuz is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 12:13   #24
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
a much needed tool for whdload!!! even on the 1st shot it looks AWESOME!
keropi is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 12:23   #25
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
Yes it does. Keep up the great work KG, I look forward to seeing the finished product!
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 16:21   #26
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
i second that question and i would like to know also, there is a filter for let in / out the list the games that you don't have? meaning that the the program does parse the directories?

does also a central database means that when you release a new pack you have also an updated database with screenshots to download?

lastly, wouldn't be cool if, at this point you (and whoever is intersted) produce a very light version of a workbench, hidden away the GUI autoloading ? like a lite - lite - ClassicWB?
Some good questions mate...

Firstly, I plan on making the scanning search subdirs.

I personally have all of my games in one partition called GAMES. But if you had them in Games:A/ Games:B/ etc. then it would still pick up the games.

It'll be searching by the names from my whdload packs, so if you are using other whdload games with different namings you'll either have to manually edit the database files yourself, or rename all of your directories to match mine.

The initial release of the frontend will include a database with all of the games currently in my packs (not those which have been found to have errors), and will come with screenshots for each game - probably one title screen and one in game shot (HOL have given me permission to whore their supply).

Every time I release an update pack I'll be updating the database and screenshots so you can keep up to date that way.

As for making a very light version of workbench...

My main aim for this program is to turn my A1200 into an arcade machine that I can load any game from, just using the joystick. Obviously the frontend needs some files from workbench (setpatch, assign, execute...), but it doesn't need workbench as such.

I have my workbench partition setup as DH1: on my real A1200, if I do need to boot into it then I set it as primary boot in the boot menu.

So, you are more than welcome to run the frontend on top of workbench, or like I do with very little going on in the background.

The menu will run on a standard A1200/CD32.

It kills itself before loading a script so that there is more memory available to whdload.

If anyone has anything they'd like to see the menu do then write them down here.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 16:40   #27
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
Thanks for the detailed infos, KG. Yep, that's how a decent WHD frontend should work. A direct boot into the GUI is a nice idea, saves some ram too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 19:39   #28
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
So I had a go...
Fairly pleased with the result (will change the background later). I think it would look better if the list of games was centered. Tell me what you think.
ppill is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 19:46   #29
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
The letters for Gamelist, Screenshot and Information are a bit overlarge, imho.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 20:34   #30
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
I think the screenshot is very good looking, i especially like those 'headings'.
Its all presented very clear.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 20:38   #31
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,451
Its too big letters I think also. And why write "screenshot" ? Clearly you see it. Maybe the logo on top should be - WHD launcher or something like this.

I also would like it be more Amiga style logo, maybe a boing ball or check or something also... Just some ideas here.
kriz is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 20:40   #32
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
Yep, the Gamelist and Screenshot sections needs no description, as kriz already said. Maybe you can use a nice logo or some Amiga game character pics.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 21:22   #33
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 42
Posts: 5,238
me too i think the letters are too big.

@KG thanks for the answers however it would be nice an option that let the gui stay or be reloaded when exitin' a game i think...
Marcuz is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 22:55   #34
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Thanks for the input. All windows are in fact self-explanatory so those headings will probably go or become somewhat smaller. Back to PPaint I would like to include some logos (tick!) but the palette is pretty limiting.


How about suggestions for a name?
ppill is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 22:58   #35
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
WHDLaunch? Not very exciting, I know.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:06   #36
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I really like those orange fonts. Yes, perhaps they need to be smaller, but you should use that style at least for the name of the launcher.

As for a name, how about LaunchPad?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:08   #37
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
WHDLoader!!
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:18   #38
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
Simian's Selector
ppill is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:20   #39
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
For the geeks: LorraineLoad.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:40   #40
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Game Gallery!!!!! and if you don't call it that I'm going to cry.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's tried KGLoad in the new ClassicWB packs? Bloodwych project.KGLoad 17 04 May 2012 04:50
where is kgload frontend? s4m project.KGLoad 6 04 May 2012 02:10
KGLoad Requirements killergorilla project.KGLoad 32 06 May 2010 09:55
KGLoad - Help Needed killergorilla project.KGLoad 34 11 March 2009 12:06
KGLoad - Feature List killergorilla project.KGLoad 0 20 January 2009 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09417 seconds with 13 queries