English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 September 2018, 16:39   #2661
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 425
Is that purely running the PPC program in VGA memory or in combination with the PPC Memory?

Would it be possible to use VGA memory as secondary / page file setup. Or is that beyond the drivers ability / hardware possible?

As a side thought I wonder if it would be easier to add larger RAM chips on the K1 / M1 as long as there are enough address lines / a way to update the firmware?
kgc210 is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 17:11   #2662
jvaltane
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Radeon cannot be in 1x256mb mode. And that's all I can say, as the powerpc.library is not active yet, it's a pci.library problem.
Yes, definitely pci.library problem.


Tested with Voodoo3 and the same thing happens with it. Also pciinfo hangs machine as Wrangler told.
jvaltane is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 18:05   #2663
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
Is that purely running the PPC program in VGA memory or in combination with the PPC Memory?

Would it be possible to use VGA memory as secondary / page file setup. Or is that beyond the drivers ability / hardware possible?

As a side thought I wonder if it would be easier to add larger RAM chips on the K1 / M1 as long as there are enough address lines / a way to update the firmware?
Not sure if anyone has had success by adding memory.

And sure, a page file is possible. The cost versus benefit I'm not really sure of.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 18:13   #2664
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvaltane View Post
Yes, definitely pci.library problem.


Tested with Voodoo3 and the same thing happens with it. Also pciinfo hangs machine as Wrangler told.
Is there ANYTHING in the $20000000-$40000000 range like some expansion or something?
Hedeon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 04:22   #2665
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
Is that purely running the PPC program in VGA memory or in combination with the PPC Memory?

Would it be possible to use VGA memory as secondary / page file setup. Or is that beyond the drivers ability / hardware possible?

As a side thought I wonder if it would be easier to add larger RAM chips on the K1 / M1 as long as there are enough address lines / a way to update the firmware?

There seem to be enough address lines available and I say this comparing the chips on a K1 versus the next size up in RAM chips. I did try replacing them thinking at the least it would work but only set up the current 64MB but it didn't work. But this was probably because I didn't solder them properly and eventually popcorned the space between the chips.


The other idea for not updating the firmware is that there is a way to put the board into a hardware defined default mode which would ignore the firmware on the board and it could be set up via software somewhat like how the Sonnet and other PPC boards function. This would take a non-trivial amount of work on Hedeon's part.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old Yesterday, 09:13   #2666
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 419
actually i dont believe he can without taking the firmware off the card as he cannot do a HARD reset
so you either have to take it off or disable manually or flash with new
he cant do a power on reset with that firmware on at boot after it has been loaded you cant do another thats the only way to config those settings is at power on

CFG_RESET_SOURCE, CFG_CLKIN_DIV
is only set during PORESET
Although the configuration reset words are loaded during hard reset flows, the clocks and PLL
modes are reset only when PORESET is asserted, during a power-on reset flow

Default Reset Configuration Words
If the device is configured not to load the reset configuration words from a local bus EEPROM or I 2 C
EEPROM, it can also be initialized with one of five hard-coded default options, selected by the reset
configuration input signals, CFG_RESET_SOURCE[0:2]. In this mode, the device is assumed to be a PCI
agent, and therefore only clock modes differ among the four options

so you have to have it on local bus in eprom or set by jumpers
those hardware bits are trump over the firmware

Last edited by nexus; Yesterday at 09:33.
nexus is online now  
Old Yesterday, 11:56   #2667
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus View Post
actually i dont believe he can without taking the firmware off the card as he cannot do a HARD reset
so you either have to take it off or disable manually or flash with new
he cant do a power on reset with that firmware on at boot after it has been loaded you cant do another thats the only way to config those settings is at power on

CFG_RESET_SOURCE, CFG_CLKIN_DIV
is only set during PORESET
Although the configuration reset words are loaded during hard reset flows, the clocks and PLL
modes are reset only when PORESET is asserted, during a power-on reset flow

Default Reset Configuration Words
If the device is configured not to load the reset configuration words from a local bus EEPROM or I 2 C
EEPROM, it can also be initialized with one of five hard-coded default options, selected by the reset
configuration input signals, CFG_RESET_SOURCE[0:2]. In this mode, the device is assumed to be a PCI
agent, and therefore only clock modes differ among the four options

so you have to have it on local bus in eprom or set by jumpers
those hardware bits are trump over the firmware
He was talking about setting RAM size. What you are talking about (the clocks) can only be set once, that's true. For everything else I can do a soft reset.
Hedeon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:43   #2668
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
@All: I might have broken Harrier support (not yet tested) and the unofficial A1200 stuff. Please check.
397 installed and working exactly the same as previously on my A1200 with the K1. Nothing broken so far (based on what previously worked that is!) I shall play around a bit more

[edit] One initial thing I've noticed, the system is a LOT more stable after the powerpc.library is loaded and InitPPC has been called.

Last edited by indigolemon; Yesterday at 12:55.
indigolemon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 15:02   #2669
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 735
Compared to what? Previous versions or compared to a system without the library loaded?
Hedeon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 16:17   #2670
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Compared to what? Previous versions or compared to a system without the library loaded?
Sorry, I meant compared to previous versions. I only set it up to be loaded on demand as it made the system unstable to have it start with the machine. It would run a few things fine, but if I ran multiple apps that used the PPC it would eventually crap out. For example, QuakeWOS could be run once, then I'd need to reboot if I wished to start it again without the machine falling over.

With this version, those issues appear to be no more which is great!
indigolemon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14547 seconds with 15 queries