English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2014, 22:26   #1
amigasith
Registered User

amigasith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wild South / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 233
Modded PC floppy disk drives

Cheers, folks! I recently started to spend quite some time converting PC floppy disk drives into Amiga drives. I cannot really say why I think I am just fascinated by all the different drive mechanics, different possibilities to mount the track 0 sensor, different eject mechanisms, different ways to convert them, etc. I simply find it worthwhile to tinker with...

There is one thing, however, where I haven't really found an answer yet, maybe somebody here knows. It seems to me that in order to test whether a PC floppy disk drive works "properly" like an Amiga drive, only testing for track loader compatibility is not enough. Most people seem to use the Sanity / Arte demo in order check for track loader compatibility. All my converted drives pass this test without any problems

I have found one (original) game, however, that really only works in some drives. This is "Flood" by Bullfrog and it really causes nasty noises when it loads Interestingly enough, this game also doesn't work on at least one real Amiga floppy disk drive (a Citizen one) that I bought way back in the 90s brand new when my good old Chinon broke in my A500. This makes me think that there is more to just check for track loader compatibility...

So for example, I just converted a TEAC FD-235HF 6291-U and it works just fine except when testing Flood. I don't think that it's heads are misaligned, since it loads literally dozens of other floppies without any single issue. And what's more is that disks that I write with this drive can be read without issues in 4 other floppy disk drives

So what could be the culprit here? Tiny controller incompatibilities? Any other idea ?
amigasith is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 22:59   #2
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 909
i have 20 different floppy for pc modded for amiga and 10 original in my amiga, but i don't have flood for test
i suppose a copy protection in sector 80 or 81 extra trace, you need copy with xcopy with dongle
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 23:15   #3
amigasith
Registered User

amigasith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wild South / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 233
Quote:
i have 20 different floppy for pc modded for amiga and 10 original in my amiga, but i don't have flood for test
Wow, nice Seems that there are more people than just me enjoying tinkering with floppy drives

Quote:
i suppose a copy protection in sector 80 or 81 extra trace, you need copy with xcopy with dongle
Hmm... I only have XCOPY, but not the dongle. But how would a copy of the floppy help?
amigasith is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 08:07   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
Flood has very picky track protection and will only work with the "better" of the floppy drives, Samsung and some panasonic drives. Another one is "Magic Lines" that is a real bitch to find a drive that will load it. I actually use Flood to determine just how good a specific drive is once i mod it, if Flood loads then it will pretty well load anything.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 08:47   #5
zyonee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 27
I remember Alien Breed not loading on my Amiga 500 original drive while it did load perfectly on my brother's Amiga 2000. When I connected my external drive to my Amiga 500 motherboard, the game booted. And this wasn't even an original disk.
zyonee is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 10:24   #6
amigasith
Registered User

amigasith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wild South / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 233
Quote:
Flood has very picky track protection..
Hi kipper2k, thanks for this info! I suspected something like this - thanks for confirming

Quote:
I actually use Flood to determine just how good a specific drive is once i mod it, if Flood loads then it will pretty well load anything.
That's really funny I do the exact same thing. When I figured out that Flood is really picky, I always used it ever since to determine if the drive is a "good one" or not.

Quote:
...not loading on my Amiga 500 original drive...
Hi zyonee, also a big "thanks" to you for posting So it seems there are even more games that are really picky. This makes me sleep better
amigasith is offline  
Old 02 June 2014, 22:36   #7
TomCrazy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 64
Pinball Dreams is another interesting game to try. I don't know if this applies to the cracked version though. I think it was the original that I noticed this with if I don't remember it wrong.
What happened was that while it loaded fine on a Panasonic JU-series drive, it wouldn't load from a modded PC drive, even though these modded PC drives did have the ready signal there as well. These modded PC drives did load every other game I tested it with, although I never tried it with Flood or any other game mentioned in this thread.
TomCrazy is offline  
Old 02 June 2014, 22:49   #8
JanciB
Registered User
JanciB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bratislava / Slovakia
Posts: 216
Pinball Fantasies cracked by Skid Row. On modded Sony MFP 920, after the cracktro the drive does not start reading. On modded Mitsumi D359T6 it is ok.
But Sanity Arte is working on Sony too. Everything I tested on Mitsumi worked.
I does not have original Flood.
JanciB is offline  
Old 02 June 2014, 23:11   #9
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,453
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
I have 3 differents moded PC drives, will test asap this Flood game and report if it's working or not.

Foul is offline  
Old 03 June 2014, 05:25   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,574
I'm assuming that its the copy protection in Flood which causes it to not work on many drives? Or is testing a cracked version still useful?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 June 2014, 16:37   #11
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,492
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
So far I have only converted one drive which is a Sony MPF920. Stuffed that into an external drive case.

I will eventually do more.

I seem to be fixated with repairing and restoring old amiga drives at the moment!
Saved 3 so far that had fubared capacitors and then cleaned them inside and out, oiled/greased etc.

This Flood issue has me a little worried but then again its one game, hardly ever played it tbh.

Last edited by ElectroBlaster; 03 June 2014 at 17:01.
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 03 June 2014, 16:49   #12
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,943
there is one ADF of flood (can't remember which one off hand) that also refuses to load too (Purple screen after a while) I think it has something to do with the track loader that it doesn't like
kipper2k is offline  
Old 03 June 2014, 16:56   #13
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 49
Posts: 835
Probably a mechanical issue, some drives cannot reliable read past track 81, but there might be copy protections that ask for some checks on track 82 or beyond ?!
Also, I can imagine some stepper motors not being fast enough on some drives, resulting in copy protection failures ?
Overdoc is offline  
Old 04 June 2014, 21:52   #14
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,453
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
I have 3 differents moded PC drives, will test asap this Flood game and report if it's working or not.

Flood Test : (Flood (1990)(Electronic Arts)[cr Angels][t +3 Angels].adf)

ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H(121G) : Working
ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H090F : Not Working
ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H090F (other) : Not Working
Real Amiga Floppy Disk Drive (FDDAMI001) Sold by amigakit : Not Working

Last edited by Foul; 04 June 2014 at 21:59.
Foul is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 10:41   #15
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 909
Flood Test : (Flood (1990)(Electronic Arts)[cr Angels][t +3 Angels].adf)

working on chinon fb354
not working on epson smd300, sony mpf 520-1, sony mpf 920 and more
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 11:56   #16
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,062
do these mods use a real 'ready' signal, or is that just hooked up directly to sel/mtr?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 13:05   #17
JanciB
Registered User
JanciB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bratislava / Slovakia
Posts: 216
Mitsumi D359T6 is using real ready signal.

J.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
do these mods use a real 'ready' signal, or is that just hooked up directly to sel/mtr?
JanciB is offline  
Old 22 June 2014, 09:57   #18
zyonee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Flood Test : (Flood (1990)(Electronic Arts)[cr Angels][t +3 Angels].adf)

ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H(121G) : Working
ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H090F : Not Working
ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H090F (other) : Not Working
Real Amiga Floppy Disk Drive (FDDAMI001) Sold by amigakit : Not Working
I've ordered a ALPS ELECTRIC CP., LTD. DF354H(121F) (not 121G). Hopefully this'll work well with trackloaded games. It's pre-modified, so it should just plug and play. Will this fit properly as a replacement of the internal drive in an Amiga 1200?
zyonee is offline  
Old 22 June 2014, 10:43   #19
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,743
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Real Amiga Floppy Disk Drive (FDDAMI001) Sold by amigakit : Not Working
Got a picture of the drive?
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2014, 13:51   #20
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,453
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Foul is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy drives rune Hardware mods 2 11 January 2014 23:26
Xbox console hard modded, Xbox Crystal soft modded blast MarketPlace 0 23 May 2010 19:22
Floppy drives brokenangel support.WinUAE 3 18 May 2009 14:40
Modded Sony floppy drive on A500? chaoticjelly support.Hardware 5 25 March 2008 01:53
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11850 seconds with 13 queries