English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 July 2018, 11:38   #1
Stratplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 13
A1200 I want to copy my hard drive to the Pc

I took my a1200 apart yesterday and checked the caps for signs of leaking, no sign of damage to the board. the rf shield has some corrosion spots on it, I got all the dust out of it, put it back together and turned it on and it works, but I can't load anything off of my hard drive, not enough memory, I think I used a full version of classic workbench and loaded my original disks onto whdload, and almost every game worked fine when I had my 68030 card in it with 8 maybe 12mb ram, The last time I used it back in 2007. So I basically need a cheap memory upgrade, or take the hard drive out copy its contents on to the pc and use amiga forever, I remember using a A500 PSU with the 68030 card, I only have the black Amiga magic PSU now, would that run a standard trap door 4mb 8mb expansion ? I want to play Wizzkid, Wings, Rodland, Pang, and lots of other whdload games on there but they wont load lol. So I think my cheapest option is to take out the hard drive try and copy it and use it on a emulator, how do I get windows to see the drive and copy it ? I know I need a ide to sata converter to read the hard disk but will read all the stuff on my disk ? I remember there was a boot option for the amiga to run older games, did that free up more memory or was it to disable the aga chipset ?
Stratplayer is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 11:46   #2
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 901
you can use `winimage` to copy your hard drive, download here:

http://www.winimage.com/download.htm
supaduper is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 12:44   #3
Stratplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
you can use `winimage` to copy your hard drive, download here:

http://www.winimage.com/download.htm

Thanks for that info I will download it later today, could i use a IDE to usb lead for that software or is a IDE to Sata conversion board the best way to go ?
Stratplayer is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 12:53   #4
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratplayer View Post
Thanks for that info I will download it later today, could i use a IDE to usb lead for that software or is a IDE to Sata conversion board the best way to go ?
You can use whatever you like my friend, I backed up an 2.5" Hard drive using USB to IDE and it worked no problem
supaduper is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 13:38   #5
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 213
I used WinUAE to do it.

Run WinUAE as Administrator, goto 'CD & Hard drives', click 'Add Hard drive', drop down the disk combo box at the top, and pick your HDD, then click 'Create Hard Disk Image File'
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 13:39   #6
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratplayer View Post
Could i use a IDE to usb lead
Yep. That's what I did.
Mikerochip is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to copy floppy contents to hard drive but cant Kola support.Other 6 30 July 2018 16:16
Best way to speed up hard drive (cf) on A1200? emuola support.Hardware 12 23 September 2013 07:48
Using large hard drive on A1200 christopherpm support.Hardware 6 11 April 2013 13:03
Hard Drive A1200 drusso66 support.Hardware 7 27 July 2004 20:00
A1200 hard drive question Akira support.Hardware 31 25 February 2002 00:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06713 seconds with 15 queries