English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 December 2005, 22:15   #1
KeepGood
 
Posts: n/a
Help with AmigaOs 3.9 in WinUAE?

Hi guys.

This is my first post here so firstly...Hi everyone!

I hope you dont mind me bugging you about some Amiga stuff.

I have a bit of a problem and am needing some help. I am about to build an Amiga 1200 again. I had one a while back and started upgrading it until one of the IC's died and I sold it off for spare parts. Just before the machine died I bought an AmigaOS 3.9 pack.

I'm now missing my old amiga so I'm going to build a new one. I've orders a kick 3.1 kit and a motherboard. I'm going to build a keyboard adaptor for an external keyboard and some other bits of hardware and I've found a cool site for buying hardware. Its all going to go into a tower case. Until I get my hardware I've been trying to setup the same system in winuae.

Now my problem is... I've raked out my old OS 3.9 disc and its knackered, its got some nasty scratches on it and isnt reading properly. I've managed to recover quite a bit of it through making iso's, extracting files etc. I've rebuilt a disc but its still not working. I'm looking for something like a directory structure showing what files go where on the disc. Does such a thing exist? I'd rather not fork out the cash for another pack unless I have to.

Cheers for any help you guys can give.
 
Old 24 December 2005, 22:23   #2
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 97
Posts: 801
Because you require a perfect copy of the 3.9 OS to install boing bag 1&2 you will need a physical disk.

Therefore as I don't have knoledge of tool that could extract the directory structure for you I hope another user can help


PM sent {personal message }
woody57 is offline  
Old 25 December 2005, 00:01   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,937
Quote:
Because you require a perfect copy of the 3.9 OS to install boing bag 1&2 you will need a physical disk.
You don't need a physical disk to install the boing bags.. You just need a directory which is accessible through the assign or volume name AmigaOS3.9: which has *all* files from the CD on it, especially the video and audio files.

@KeepGood: you should try to polish the CD to remove the scratches. There are special CD polishing pastes available in electronics shops, but simple tooth paste should do it, too.

There are even CD polishing machines available. Search Google for "CD repair".

See attachment for the directory structure of my OS3.9 CD.
Attached Files
File Type: zip dir.zip (37.8 KB, 459 views)
thomas is offline  
Old 25 December 2005, 09:24   #4
KeepGood
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the help guys.

Merry Xmas...I hope the big guy in the red suit has been nice to you!
 
Old 26 December 2005, 02:42   #5
agent_jdh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 30
Hey, as you're in the UK you probably know of the product "Brasso" for cleaning er ... brass things. It's _excellent_ for cleaning scratched cd's/dvd's. Some Brasso, an old pair of 100% cotton underpants (preferably from Marks & Spencer), and some elbow grease will probably do the trick.

Remember to buff the disc up with some Pledge furniture polish afterwards. Mr Sheen is also a fine alternative.
agent_jdh is offline  
Old 26 December 2005, 23:46   #6
KeepGood
 
Posts: n/a
omg, I didnt think brasso existed anymore, I havent seen it in years lol.

Thanks for the tips, I've been giving the disc a good going over with no joy as yet, I'll keep at it though.

Thanks
 
Old 28 December 2005, 14:59   #7
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 834
iut should be possible to get a listing of "what goes where" with the DIR command done on the CD.......

something like "Dir cd0: all >ram:dirlist.txt" or the equivalent of the "all" optional to view all dirs.

and it redirects the output to (in this case) ram:dirlist.txt
Doc Mindie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does WinUAE Support AmigaOS 4.1? Oktai-Wanda support.WinUAE 1 15 July 2013 04:41
winuae on amigaos 4 turrican3 request.UAE Wishlist 4 01 April 2012 22:46
Installing AmigaOS using WinUAE alexh support.Apps 3 01 January 2010 23:35
Installing AmigaOS 3.9 with WinUAE!! Tbird support.Apps 7 03 February 2003 12:04
OSNews.com: Classic AmigaOS Emulation - A Guide for WinUAE MikeB Amiga scene 3 20 August 2002 09:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06628 seconds with 14 queries