English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 February 2020, 16:30   #1
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
Amiga 600 Rev2A gerber files

This one is for Mick

I've converted the Amiga 600 Rev2A SVG data from amigapcb.org into gerber files:
https://github.com/cd32freak/Amiga-600-Rev-2A




Feedback is welcome

Last edited by CD32Freak; 10 February 2020 at 16:41.
CD32Freak is offline  
Old 10 February 2020, 18:20   #2
hiddenvs
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Bratislava/Slovakia
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to hiddenvs
Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
hiddenvs is offline  
Old 10 February 2020, 20:50   #3
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 96
One suggestion. I noticed that the Gerber layers are very incoherently named throughout your repositories. Can you decide for a unified naming convention and name all the files accordingly? That would be awesome.
torsti76 is offline  
Old 10 February 2020, 20:52   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,393
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Thanks a lot !!!
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 10 February 2020, 21:04   #5
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 915
Very nice
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 16:05   #6
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
One suggestion. I noticed that the Gerber layers are very incoherently named throughout your repositories. Can you decide for a unified naming convention and name all the files accordingly? That would be awesome.
Yes, you're right. It's because sometimes the Gerber export is from Sprint-Layout (CD32 and A1200) and the others are a direct Gerber export from FAB3000. I could rename the files by hand. How would you prefer the naming convention? I think {motherboard name}{revision}{[top/bottom}{layer}

Last edited by CD32Freak; 13 February 2020 at 05:16.
CD32Freak is offline  
Old 11 February 2020, 16:16   #7
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 552
Cheers CD32Freak, I'm a bit busy playing with your A1200 ones atm though.
Mick is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 19:30   #8
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 552
I just had a quick look at the files how come there is a VCC and GND plane? I thought the A600 was a 2 layer board? it had planes as well as the tracks?
Mick is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 22:37   #9
rvctech
Registered User

rvctech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Sydney / Australia
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
I just had a quick look at the files how come there is a VCC and GND plane? I thought the A600 was a 2 layer board? it had planes as well as the tracks?

The AmigaPCB data has the A600 as a 4-layer board, perhaps Commodore was thinking of doing this or perhaps it's an error on AmigaPCB. In reality it's a 2-layer board.
rvctech is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 08:24   #10
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by CD32Freak View Post
How would you prefer the naming convention? I think {motherboard name}{revision}{[top/bottom}{layer}
Well, I personally would pick one of the popular boardhouses, like Oshpark or JLCPCB and follow their suggested naming scheme.

Of course, the base name should be {motherboard}{revision}.

Thank you very much for your work!
torsti76 is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 07:42   #11
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
Well, I personally would pick one of the popular boardhouses, like Oshpark or JLCPCB and follow their suggested naming scheme.

Of course, the base name should be {motherboard}{revision}.

Thank you very much for your work!
JLCPCB suggests {boardname}.{layer extension}: https://support.jlcpcb.com/article/2...aming-patterns but personally I don't find it very clear. So I will stick with {motherboard name}{revision}{[top/bottom}{layer}
CD32Freak is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 10:31   #12
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 85
@CD32Freak
One layer is missing - BOARD OUTLINE!
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 10:42   #13
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 552
The scale seems off with these, when I import them into Kicad the longest part of the board measures around 270mm when it should be closer to 317mm.
Mick is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 09:04   #14
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
@Boboo_SK
Sorry, there is no outline layer at amigapcb, so you will have to draw it yourself in your EDA :-)

@Mick
I'll have a look at it when I have the time. I could have used the wrong scaling factor while printing the HTML layer to PDF in Chrome.
CD32Freak is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 19:59   #15
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
@Mick
I've discovered what I did wrong and the scale should be correct now. I've uploaded the new Gerber export to my repository. Thanks for noticing!
CD32Freak is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 07:53   #16
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 85

Beware of these errors.
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 10:18   #17
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
@Boboo_SK
Relax, those corners are not tracks and you can remove them, because they are meant to align the layers. You can also use them to create a border outline easily
CD32Freak is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 19:52   #18
arananet
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Madrid
Posts: 41
Great work @CD32Freak I got a few dead a600 and this will help to revive them! Let me know if you need extra help.
arananet is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 23:09   #19
Ceason87
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Redcar, UK
Posts: 21
Hi guys,

sorry to revive an old thread but i'm in need of help

has anyone had this board manufactured as i've never bought a blank pcb from anywhere am am getting seriously confused with it all.

are the GND & VCC files not needed?

also if anyone has had one made how much did it end up costing and where from?

Thanks in advance
Chris
Ceason87 is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 15:19   #20
CD32Freak
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 57
Hi Ceason87,

These Gerber files are meant to be used as an offline reference and I cannot guarantee it will work when you use them to manufacture a real PCB. However, if you can afford it, please go ahead!

Hey, I'm going to use that as an disclaimer

Last edited by CD32Freak; 22 February 2020 at 15:50.
CD32Freak is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga CD32 Rev4.1 Gerber files CD32Freak Hardware mods 45 29 February 2020 13:01
A4000T Rev4 gerber files CD32Freak Hardware mods 8 22 February 2020 19:51
Amiga 4000D Rev B gerber files CD32Freak Hardware mods 16 14 February 2020 23:01
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 18:31
Gerber files Kristian95 Hardware mods 19 14 June 2008 19:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09032 seconds with 14 queries