English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2017, 15:34   #1
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 226
Did I just fry my A500?

Today I went to try my Amiga 500 again since it was left unused for a few weeks because I mainly use my Amiga 1200. I plugged the power supply into the wall and I heard a strange yet quiet pulsing noise coming from the PSU. I thought it was nothing so I then plugged the power supply into the amiga and then the Amiga made the exact same pulsing sound except louder and I immediately disconnected it. I then swapped the power supply with another working one but the Amiga 500 stays dead. I know this power supply works because I'm using it right now on my A1200. I threw the pulsing power supply in the bin.
Nightfox is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 15:55   #2
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 31
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacredbanana View Post
Today I went to try my Amiga 500 again since it was left unused for a few weeks because I mainly use my Amiga 1200. I plugged the power supply into the wall and I heard a strange yet quiet pulsing noise coming from the PSU. I thought it was nothing so I then plugged the power supply into the amiga and then the Amiga made the exact same pulsing sound except louder and I immediately disconnected it. I then swapped the power supply with another working one but the Amiga 500 stays dead. I know this power supply works because I'm using it right now on my A1200. I threw the pulsing power supply in the bin.
Save the pulsing power supply. Those connectors are hard to find! It could also be fixed by replacing the internals.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 15:56   #3
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 72
That's worrying. I guess you'll have to open the case and look for burnt components by the power socket. Any electrical burning smells?
Robbie is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 16:04   #4
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 226
I opened it up and didn't see or smell anything burnt but to be fair I have a cold right now so don't have much of a sense of smell. But yeah I think it is truly dead because not even the power light turns on.
Nightfox is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 16:57   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,509
Did your A500's power light normally come on dim, then bright, as on the A1200? If so, then for it to not even turn on the LED at all means there's something pretty fundamental wrong so it should be easy enough to find and repair. Of course, there could be other damage besides, but it could also be as simple as a single failed trace.

If your A500 is one of the older ones where the LED would be turned off instead of turned down, then there may be other issues involved...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 17:02   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Save the pulsing power supply. Those connectors are hard to find!
You can just gut the cable, that's what I would do. Then throw the rest.

If you heard a noise then it could be some capacitors. Probably your A500 got some damage too now, check the +12V line.

Did you not see any kind of smoke?
Akira is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 17:29   #7
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 226
Yeah the power LED used to work fine. It is a red colour LED. Now I get no response whatsoever.

I didn't see any smoke, I only heard the strange pulsing inside the amiga and immediately disconnected it
Nightfox is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 18:27   #8
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 72
as @Daedalus mentions, with the red LED the power could still be on but it won't indicate that until its passed all its checks. Does the caps lock light blink at all? see if any chips are getting hot with it switched on I suppose is something else to try.
Robbie is offline  
Old 18 May 2017, 01:11   #9
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie View Post
as @Daedalus mentions, with the red LED the power could still be on but it won't indicate that until its passed all its checks. Does the caps lock light blink at all? see if any chips are getting hot with it switched on I suppose is something else to try.
The caps lock LED stays off and nothing even gets warm
Nightfox is offline  
Old 18 May 2017, 09:39   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,509
Sounds like a pretty fundamental failure to me in that case, which should be an easy repair for anyone familiar with Amiga repairs, or electronic repairs in general.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 23:51   #11
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 561
Your power supply fried your motherboard. There is a 100% likelihood that multiple components on the 5V rail are dead (RAM is one of the first things to die, and you aren't even getting a green screen, so you have bigger issues). This will NOT be an easy fix, unless you are talking about replacing the entire motherboard with a new one.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 20 May 2017, 00:46   #12
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 226
Should I throw my beloved A500 into the bin? I might have to buy another one in the future if I can afford it which I can't right now. Luckily my A1200 is running perfectly and I've only encountered one piece of software which doesn't run on it which runs on A500 which is the game Zitrax. If anyone can patch that game it would be awesome
Nightfox is offline  
Old 21 May 2017, 14:15   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,509
No, don't throw it yet. There are people who will take dead motherboards off your hands either for parts or for practicing their troubleshooting. If I was in Australia I'd take it off your hands for the cost of postage. Also, there's also a chance that the board is mostly fine and that only minor repairs are necessary. It all depends on the nature of the fault, and I've seen and repaired failures like this that needed little more than a repaired track.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 21 May 2017, 18:05   #14
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 561
Not cost effective to repair unless you're doing it yourself, and your time is free. If you get another ECS machine, I would swap the major components in and out of the new machine to save whatever major chips aren't dead. The only IC to be super careful with is Fat Agnus, some machines (like the A3000) use a different revision with a different pinout.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 03:01   #15
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 331
Find someone in Aus to send it to. If you are in NSW I'm happy to take a look at it for you otherwise postage would probably be too dear. At least you'd know what can be saved. Otherwise pop it on gumtree or ebay and let someone who needs the parts maybe revive another system.
dalek is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 04:44   #16
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,549
How heavy was the A500 with case ?

It should go in to a 5KG Red Parcel post bag, (Biggest prepaid bag they have.)

If its less than the Prepaid 5KG weight, I'll take it
whiteb is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 18:10   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I wouldn't get into catastrophe territory like Shadowfire suggests before knowing simpler components died and it stopped there, which is very possible and an easy fix.

Why do people tend to diagnose with the worst case scenario in mind all the time? You gotta discard the easy fixes first, before you can blame more complicated stuff!
Akira is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 19:59   #18
darefail
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ελλάς
Age: 40
Posts: 93
I'm not an expert but the first thing that i'd do.. test the outputs of the psu with a multimeter..
of course there is something wrong with the mobo, but you have to start from somewhere..
darefail is offline  
Old 23 May 2017, 21:15   #19
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 226
I live in Perth so even sending to most Australian Amiga users would be expensive as the A500 is big and pretty heavy. I haven't thrown anything out yet. I am still deciding what to do. I don't have much knowledge regarding electronic fault diagnostics. I can solder stuff together but not much more than that.

I'm really not having much luck lately. Just today I damaged the ribbon cable for my A1200 keyboard and am awaiting the arrival of silver conductive paint to repair it. I am typing this on my A1200 by connecting a USB keyboard to it. A USB keyboard connected to an A1200? Sounds like the most redundant thing in the world.
Nightfox is offline  
Old 24 May 2017, 02:55   #20
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 331
You can try asking on OCAU if there is anyone in Perth that can help. Anyone happy to take a look would only need the mobo packed well in a cardboard box assuming it's not worth fixing the PSU.
dalek is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Amigas (3x a500, 2x a500+), 70 boxed games, 7joysticks,3mouses,200unboxed: value? junglist MarketPlace 12 27 August 2014 16:45
For Sale: 2mb RAM Expansion for A500/A500+ PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 1 22 November 2010 01:10
Woul A500 plus ram expansion work on A500? JACK98 support.Hardware 1 04 May 2010 01:15
Do G-Rex boards fry BPPC's???? keropi support.Hardware 11 03 March 2005 23:43
Did I fry my a6oo? oldpx support.Hardware 8 01 September 2002 18:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09072 seconds with 15 queries