English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2021, 10:54   #1
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Having Problems Installing LHA Unity

I'm following a guide trying to install the unity for unpacking LHA files in WB3.1 and keep getting a command line error when I try to unpack it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae64_2021_01_14_02_49_42_753.png
Views:	43
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	70344  
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 14 January 2021, 11:31   #2
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
Remove //

Which guide?
Aardvark is online now  
Old 14 January 2021, 12:00   #3
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
Remove //

Which guide?

I was following the instructions on this page

https://www.everythingamiga.com/2017...bench-3-1.html
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 14 January 2021, 12:15   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,731
The answer is in your screenshot (second line). The "//" from the instruction page mark the comment following. I.e. it is not part of the command line.
daxb is offline  
Old 14 January 2021, 12:53   #5
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Okay, I went through all the steps and it seems to have unpacked it to c: correctly but the lha x file command still won't work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae64_2021_01_14_04_51_28_733.png
Views:	20
Size:	4.1 KB
ID:	70347   Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae64_2021_01_14_04_55_07_771.png
Views:	24
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	70348  
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 14 January 2021, 13:42   #6
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,177
Looking at your second screenshot; the LHA exes are still named "lha_68020" and "lha_68040"...

In CLI / Shell do the following:

Code:
CD DH0:C
Dir lha#?
Note what LHA files are there.

You then need to rename LHA_68020 --> LHA so:

Code:
Rename LHA_68020 LHA
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 January 2021, 14:00   #7
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Looking at your second screenshot; the LHA exes are still named "lha_68020" and "lha_68040"...

In CLI / Shell do the following:

Code:
CD DH0:C
Dir lha#?
Note what LHA files are there.

You then need to rename LHA_68020 --> LHA so:

Code:
Rename LHA_68020 LHA
Thanks

The guide I used just kind of said "run these commands to unpack it and you're done" without mentioning that part
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 14 January 2021, 17:27   #8
andy2004
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hampshire
Age: 45
Posts: 173
Send a message via Yahoo to andy2004
after looking at the page you posted about the lha command.. i see where you went wrong..
They where using // to seperate the command from some info, like a programmer would use to comment their code.

Type: lha.run Ram: // LHA will be extracted onto the Ram Disk

the commands for lha are pretty easy..
Lha x filename.lha destination: //for extraction
Lha -r a filename.lha source: //for creation
where -r is recursive..

you should also install the LZX archiver aswell.. as it has better compression and some uploaded dated on the server is LZX'ed.
andy2004 is offline  
Old 15 January 2021, 09:39   #9
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Looking at your second screenshot; the LHA exes are still named "lha_68020" and "lha_68040"...

In CLI / Shell do the following:

Code:
CD DH0:C
Dir lha#?
Note what LHA files are there.

You then need to rename LHA_68020 --> LHA so:

Code:
Rename LHA_68020 LHA
Remaned the file and still getting the same error. Also I'm getting error when I run the process of copying the LHA to C if that helps anything.

Edit: and have some fiddling it's randomly working now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae64_2021_01_15_01_37_40_024.png
Views:	12
Size:	7.4 KB
ID:	70372   Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae64_2021_01_15_01_37_09_723.png
Views:	11
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	70373   Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae64_2021_01_15_01_50_58_337.png
Views:	16
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	70374  

Last edited by CryptidWorks; 15 January 2021 at 10:05.
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 15 January 2021, 12:40   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,731
The syntax of your copy command is wrong. There is a space between "ram:" and "lha_68020". Remove it. If you want to copy lha from Ram: to C: then use this:
Code:
copy Ram:lha_68020 c:lha
First, check where the content of Ram: was copied to and clean it up. I don't know what happened with the wrong copy command from your screenshot.
daxb is offline  
Old 15 January 2021, 12:41   #11
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
"Copy Ram: lha_68020 C:lha"

Don't put space between Drive and File, this ended up creating "lha" directory to C: and copying everything from Ram: there.

First remove unwanted C:lha directory by "Delete C:lha all".
Then "Copy Ram:lha C:" (or lha_68020 if it's not renamed yet).
Aardvark is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unity / Ubuntu performance problems (was: mouse issue) [Solved] DaveMB support.FS-UAE 11 25 November 2012 21:38
Lha problems. Thorham support.Apps 13 18 October 2009 15:24
Lha.run problems RonL support.WinUAE 3 18 August 2008 19:38
LHA Extraction Problems THX1138 support.Apps 1 16 February 2004 06:40
LHA problems?! Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 15 November 2001 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14009 seconds with 15 queries