English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2006, 17:33   #1
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 44
Posts: 185
24 bits display mode (Genetic Species)

Hey,

I have Genetic Species running with RTG under WinUAE. But I can only choose from 8bits RTG modes, the 24 bits one doesn't appear. From what I've read on Marble Eyes' site it's because UAE only emulate a 32bits mode but doesn't have support for 24bits.

Anyone know how to emulate a 24 bits screenmode with Picasso96 under WinUAE? Or maybe there is a patch or some other workaround I'm not aware about?
z00mba is offline  
Old 14 June 2006, 18:36   #2
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
AGA in HAM8 mode is 24 bits. No need for RTG!
Choose a native screen mode.
amiga is offline  
Old 14 June 2006, 19:56   #3
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 44
Posts: 185
HAM-8 is... 8bits (hence the name), it use the same trick as the original HAM mode to display 262144 colors on screen. A true 24bits mode can display 16 millions colors... plus RTG ready hardwares are much, much (...much) more faster than Amiga's native modes.

Anyway it's not really the topic but thank for the input

I believe it have to deal with the uae Picasso96 monitors driver, or even worst (for my hope to play the truecolor version of GS) with the way uae deals with graphics modes internally.

Last edited by z00mba; 14 June 2006 at 20:24.
z00mba is offline  
Old 14 June 2006, 20:58   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
Modern PC display cards don't have support for 24-bit mode (3 bytes/pixel) anymore. Not much point in emulating them (without doing internal conversion -> slow...)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2006, 21:21   #5
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 44
Posts: 185
What?!? Are telling me that it doesn't worth the time to develop this for 1 game?!? But it's Genetic Species... ! Oh duh

I guessed it have to deal with those 8/16/32 bits cards we have nowadays (can't remember the last time I've seen a PC graphics card with a 24 bits mode.

Anyway it's the only time I've seen a game that really require a 24bit mode (and it is the only truecolor game on the miggy?) but the graphics are cool enough in 8 bits. I had to ask tho.
z00mba is offline  
Old 15 June 2006, 08:55   #6
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
As I suggested earlier, choose a native screen mode.
On WinUAE on a powerful PC, the speed issue is not a problem.
amiga is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Genetic Species Dave_wb support.Games 19 18 August 2019 09:23
Genetic Species NewDeli Games images which need to be WHDified 8 11 July 2008 11:42
Genetic Species Stig Amiga scene 9 04 October 2006 23:39
T-Zero, Genetic Species... ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 19 08 March 2005 09:18
Help with Genetic Species colin2712 support.Games 1 19 February 2002 17:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10903 seconds with 13 queries