English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 September 2017, 20:23   #221
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
To be honest I don't know what's the problem. There are RedPill games that use 32 color images without problems. First, I would try to find out if the problem is in the program or in the image.

Could you share the image to do some tests?
Zener is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 September 2017, 02:18   #222
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
To be honest I don't know what's the problem. There are RedPill games that use 32 color images without problems. First, I would try to find out if the problem is in the program or in the image.

Could you share the image to do some tests?
Here are the images, the 32 color one is causing problems in my system.
I just converted the image to 16 colors, and it displays fine, no crashes.
Attached Files
File Type: zip backgrounds.zip (31.1 KB, 17 views)
amiman99 is offline  
Old 15 September 2017, 03:02   #223
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
So I gave redpill a run today. i don't think it works well right now on a Vampire A500 via the RGB output. I think a lot of the screen gets cut off in the editor mode but I don't know because I haven't seen it any other way with projects loaded. I'll try again in Win UAE at some point to see the difference. also, whether I play any project via the editor or the player, the screen is shifted 50% to the sides. meaning, down the center is where the left and right edges of the screen meet (touch). I'll post this at some point to the apollo forums and see if I can't get one of the guys to test it on Goldv3.

Anyone else here using redpill on a vampire Amiga?
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 13:52   #224
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
Could it be that you are using a NTSC mode?
Zener is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 14:06   #225
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
Could it be that you are using a NTSC mode?
Yes, it probably is, didn't know that could be an issue.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 19:43   #226
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 716
Launching example games poses no problem for my A1200.
The editing does. For some reason, when trying to create new game, I have problems and crashing. I tried booting into PAL, same issues.
When I use 32 color graphic, crash, when auto slicing sprites, crash. Same with 16 col backgrounds.
I also tried my A600 with ACA 630 accelerator with 32MB RAM, same thing crash while editing my new project.
Both PCs have Classic WB installed.

I was able to crash emulator also. I used the 2012 Amiga Forever, WB3.X install, the emulator crashed when slicing the sprites.

Something is going on.

I will try a clean WB install as my next setup and see if I can get it to work. I will do controlled experiment to find what works for me.

Can anyone who works with RedPill tell me what WinUAE settings / configs they use?

Is there a limitation on how large the sprites can be?
What is the preferred work flow, which steps need to be performed first etc?

Thanks.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 16:36   #227
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
If it crashes when autoslicing it is probably an issue with autoslice. Try with grid slice and make sure your transparent color is color 0, otherwise it will try to create a sprite the size of the bitmap
Zener is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 16:37   #228
Lemming880
Registered User

Lemming880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 111
I haven't properly tested but I also noticed that after v0.5.5 I can't load projects anymore. The program just freezes.

Never mind it seems to work now. I swear it tried several times with freezing but I just tried again and it works. Ah well. I'll let you know if it happens again.

Last edited by Lemming880; 19 September 2017 at 16:43.
Lemming880 is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 16:41   #229
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
Any specific project? one of the examples? player or editor?

There is some project updating going on when loading, does it help waiting a bit?
Zener is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 16:44   #230
Lemming880
Registered User

Lemming880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 111
hey I edited my above post. I tested several projects like astro and puzzle. I waited for 10 minutes at some point and nothing would happen. Now it works.

Edit . I know what the problem was. I forgot to add 4MB fast ram on A1200 in WinUAE.

Last edited by Lemming880; 19 September 2017 at 16:58.
Lemming880 is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 21:00   #231
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
Please try new version 0.5.6 with proper (I hope) NTSC support.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bz...ERhbXVPb3Zndzg
Zener is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 03:12   #232
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
If it crashes when autoslicing it is probably an issue with autoslice. Try with grid slice and make sure your transparent color is color 0, otherwise it will try to create a sprite the size of the bitmap
I redid my sample sprite sheet and it seems to work now without crashes.
The 32 color mode works fine too, I'm not sure what was the problem with my previous graphics.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 06:05   #233
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 716
Hmm, something happened to my last post???

Is there a way to have individual counter and timer per enemy?
I would like to add multiple shots per enemy to kill them. Is it possible?
Also, I need a delay per enemy before they attack.

I have been playing with Redpill and so far so good. Definitely I see slowdown when multiple enemies are displayed on screen. I may have to lower the number of frames in animation.

Thanks.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 15:52   #234
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
Hi,

I'm thinking about adding energy to enemies. If you are instantiating enemies a way to time their attacks is using the animations, there is a trigger named on animation finish you can use.
Zener is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 19:25   #235
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
Hi,

I'm thinking about adding energy to enemies. If you are instantiating enemies a way to time their attacks is using the animations, there is a trigger named on animation finish you can use.
Yes, energy would be nice.
Can I play some animation for a second or more and then switch the animation?

I found few issues with Redpill:
1. The Player object cursor appears behind the enemy sprites, can the cursor be moved to the front?
2. Expending on the first point, can I layer the objects on screen, put some objects in front and some behind?
3. The HUD always stays on the bottom, even if checked to be on top.

Thanks.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 09 October 2017, 14:22   #236
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
Thank you,

for now only the HUD at the bottom is implemented, HUD on top will be ready in the future. Z sorting can be a bit complicated, but it is doable.

Here is the list of upcoming features for v0.5.7:
-You can select the font to be used in the game inside the Game Setup menu.
-Each Object now has Custom1 and Custom2 vars that can be used for energy, health, shots, etc.
-Condition and action triggers have been added to set, modify and check the object custom vars.
-A custom object timer has been added too, use Set GO Timer to start it, and GO Timer Trig to check if it has been triggered.
-Options key is now supported, a condition trigger added to check it.
-When enabling and disabling HUD objects, HUD will be cleaned up only if a change has been done.
-Fixed a bug in RedPillPlayer when using tooltypes that prevented the games from starting.
-Fixed a bug in RedPillPlayer causing Reload level to act like Restart level.
Zener is offline  
Old 12 October 2017, 20:46   #237
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
And the new version is out (v0.5.7)

As a reminder there are a couple of game competitions where you can submit your RedPill games:
http://capacitorparty.com/
http://www.retroaccion.org/concurso-...ommodore-amiga
Zener is offline  
Old 14 October 2017, 02:02   #238
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zener View Post
And the new version is out (v0.5.7)

As a reminder there are a couple of game competitions where you can submit your RedPill games:
http://capacitorparty.com/
http://www.retroaccion.org/concurso-...ommodore-amiga
Thanks, I will try to play with it this weekend.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 15 October 2017, 16:51   #239
Zener
Registered User
Zener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barcelona / Spain
Posts: 96
And next version is ready, Get v0.5.8 now!

List of changes:
-Added action trigger to set a random value to Custom Object var 1.
-Added action trigger to set a random value to Custom Object var 2.
-Added action trigger to set a random value to Custom Object timer.
-Fixed a bug when detecting if joystick buttons were released
-Fixed UI bug that caused a change in the action when changing second parameter of a condition.
Zener is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tracking a game/program's memory usage clebin Coders. General 2 26 April 2017 14:55
Amiga Demo Creator to save as ''DMS'' DerekAutista123 support.Demos 10 01 November 2016 19:27
Amiga Game Creator with Sonic?? DerekAutista123 Amiga scene 1 06 March 2016 23:32
Commodore 64 D64/D81 image creator for Amiga? Akira request.Apps 11 13 December 2012 00:27
old game review tv program gimbal Retrogaming General Discussion 10 11 July 2006 02:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33079 seconds with 15 queries