English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 April 2014, 18:41   #201
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc6809e View Post
I miss in 2.8.0 the ability to use F12 in Amiga Forever to bring up the WinUAE config screen. Is there anyway to bring this back? Works okay under 2.7
There should be enable option somewhere in AF Tools/Options menu. For better answer you probably should ask Cloanto, I only support standalone WinUAE.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 April 2014, 05:56   #202
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,150
I change from CGX 1280x1024x16 to 640x512x4 and 68020 + JIT goes to H1 state. I am using a huge Z3 FastRam size and some 32 bit ChipRam, I found that 16 MB Z3 FastRam only also did it, and the bug only disappeared with some 24-bit FastRam.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Logs.zip (58.4 KB, 115 views)

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 25 April 2014 at 06:55.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 08:40   #203
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
I change from CGX 1280x1024x16 to 640x512x4 and 68020 + JIT goes to H1 state. I am using a huge Z3 FastRam size and some 32 bit ChipRam, I found that 16 MB Z3 FastRam only also did it, and the bug only disappeared with some 24-bit FastRam.
Does not really help much, sorry. Too much important information is missing.

First I assume this has nothing to do with 2.7.1 or 2.8.0.. There has not been any interesting cirrus logic updates in this beta.
Second this kind of crash can also happen if stack is too low.
If by 4 you mean 4 colors, VGA planar modes are strange, they may not be fully JIT compatible.
MUST test without JIT too. If only happens with JIT: Fix can be annoying.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 09:27   #204
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does not really help much, sorry. Too much important information is missing.

First I assume this has nothing to do with 2.7.1 or 2.8.0.. There has not been any interesting cirrus logic updates in this beta.
Second this kind of crash can also happen if stack is too low.
If by 4 you mean 4 colors, VGA planar modes are strange, they may not be fully JIT compatible.
MUST test without JIT too. If only happens with JIT: Fix can be annoying.
No Toni, sorry, I mean 640x512 and 4 bits (16 colors) AGA mode. Sorry, I explained so quickly I didnt said the details.

Do you ask if it happens only with JIT, well, it happens only with JIT and Z3 FastRAM together.

You said that this bug kind can be a stack overflow, its yet possible but I did put this line at the top of startup-sequence:
Code:
C:MinStack 16384
Things changed, did get interesting now?

PREVIOUS CONTENT REMOVED

I was finishing to write for you that you can remove the last posts if you want, but after I entered the entire reply, I was surprised with a little issue. I commented all patches from my system and re-enabled they by two times and for my surprise, the side effect was different. I booted the system by two times with a CGX mode and always after the boot I changed to AGA. The first boot it worked, but after the first it not worked and WinUAE got H1 state after the screen mode change. Probably this means nothing, but I am surprised with the different behaviour of the patches each time always with the JIT together, that I thought could mean something.

Sorry, I will not bother* you anymore with this, I am only interested to help, but I think I am posting so many times for useless things, its beginning to look like I would be "forcing" you to make things you cant.

* Changed to a nicer word.

Last edited by TCD; 28 April 2014 at 00:24. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 10:56   #205
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Mysterious, random Amiga-side crashes are usually just a (hidden) bugs that may never trigger in "normal" situations, stack overflows or patch incompatibilities. JIT especially will trigger all kinds of hidden bugs easily.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 18:40   #206
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2800b18.zip

Beta 18: (RC1, possibly next week official release)

- 0xFFFF was not returned when reading write-only or non-existing custom register and previous cycle was idle cycle. Not exactly 100% correct but more compatible with programs that accidentally read wrong custom registers.
- Cirrus Logic emulation had some useless logging enabled.
- Added GUI option to enable/disable new automatic programmed mode resolution selection to Display panel, enabled by default. (For example if you want to use superhires all the time and use filter panel to scale the display back to correct aspect ratio)
- Unexpanded A1200 also reads last fetched opcode word when accessing non-existing memory, similar to unexpanded A500. (more compatible and cycle-exact only)
- Last possible displayable line was incorrectly drawn in border color in some situations when short field mode was active.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 00:32   #207
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 454
Since beta 5/6 I get an instant 8000000B with this config unless uaenet.device is disabled.

WinUAE_LogsAndConfig.zip
James is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 10:11   #208
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Since beta 5/6 I get an instant 8000000B with this config unless uaenet.device is disabled.
It is not uaenet specific, there was buffer overflow (since the beginning, no one probably expected that there will be 10 or more different modules in future..) if too many internal expansion resident modules was enabled and new native code support caused it to finally overflow if enough other modules were also enabled.

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip will fix it.

(Thanks for finding it now, it could have been quite annoying to debug later)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 April 2014, 00:03   #209
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 473
WookieChat returns "Emulator error'' on fresh AmiKit install.
arti is offline  
Old 28 April 2014, 08:35   #210
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
WookieChat returns "Emulator error'' on fresh AmiKit install.
I think required information is needed: does it work with 2.7.0 and when did it start? (and I am not so sure this has anything to do with emulation anyway)

EDIT: 99% software bug. Happens with older versions too. (It is Line F (or Line 1111) CPU exception, "emulator" only means it is also used for software emulating missing instructions)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 April 2014 at 18:54.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 April 2014, 18:56   #211
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2800b19.zip

Beta 19: (RC2)

- Increased space for UAE boot ROM extension resident module structures, it was too small and overflowed (causing boot crash) if too many UAE resident module expansions were enabled simultaneously.
- Windows specific configuration defaults were not set if config was command line or double click loaded (missed in b17 fix)
- AROS ROM updated.

64-bit version: http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64.zip
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 April 2014, 02:49   #212
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,475
Hi Toni, is there any noticeable differences between the 32bit and 64bit version?
Neil79 is offline  
Old 30 April 2014, 20:07   #213
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
Hi Toni, is there any noticeable differences between the 32bit and 64bit version?
It depends. No JIT, can support up to 2.5G of Z3 address space (any AOS supported combination of Z3 fast, Z3 chip and RTG total can be 2.5G), possibly slightly faster because x64 has more registers (big and fast L1 caches can hide it).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 April 2014, 22:52   #214
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Toni, before final release can you ensure that the MSI installer for WinUAE 2.8.0 correctly installs a Start Menu group and desktop shortcut? (Missing in 2.7.0 at least when I installed it.)
Mequa is offline  
Old 01 May 2014, 11:28   #215
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Toni, before final release can you ensure that the MSI installer for WinUAE 2.8.0 correctly installs a Start Menu group and desktop shortcut? (Missing in 2.7.0 at least when I installed it.)
Start menu will be added but I am not sure about desktop shortcut, apparently you shouldn't do it (but everyone still does it..)

(btw, wix is really annoying to use correctly and find good examples)
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 271 14 May 2013 16:51
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 10:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22133 seconds with 15 queries