English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2017, 20:40   #1
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
PCMCIA to Amiga 1200 HDD transfer - WhDLoad games and expansion cards question

Hi guys,
Ive slept since I last setup a HDD and used my A1200s.
I have 2 working 1200s - one with a flashcard and Blizzard 030 expansion card running 3.1 kick.
This machine I have setup with my own registered version of whdload and workbench. I only have a few WHDload games installed on it and haven't used it for ages. The odd game I have played on there seems to crashing and giving emulation errors.
I want to install a lot of KG's pre-installed whdload packages and copies of word processing software - is the easiest way to do this by using my PCMCIA slot (I have the easy transfer kit -- somewhere in the huge pile of floppies and retro games boxes in the loft). I presume I can just download straight to my flash card an PC and then copy across via the PCMCIA?

My other 1200 has a laptop drive and 3.0 kick and no expansion card - will whd load still work on this machine? Also am I ok to use my registered copy on more than one machine?
Thank you for helping me,much appreciated,
Steve
ps - itching for a good game of Total Chaos
pubzombie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 February 2017, 20:48   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Yes, PCMCIA transfer is probably the easiest.

Yes, you can use WHDload on a plain A1200, but turn off PRELOAD and hope that you have enough memory.

Yes, you may use WHDload on more than one machine, but that doesn't really matter since it is free since a year back.
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 06:42   #3
powrslave
A1200
powrslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA-East Coast
Posts: 90
check this vid out specifically at this time
[ Show youtube player ]

easiest way is to mount the cf in winuae and dump the games

and yes WHD Load is free now
powrslave is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC -> Amiga 1200 transfer using AExplorer Hache support.Hardware 5 11 December 2013 17:58
CF cards bigger >4GB on a 1200, and HDD ? marcfrick2112 support.Hardware 4 30 November 2011 15:18
USB/PCMCIA PC<>Amiga transfer Djay support.Hardware 13 28 April 2006 20:06
Question about PCMCIA cards Gavilan support.Hardware 5 19 January 2006 18:38
512kb & 1Mb PCMCIA SRAM Mem cards - for Amiga 1200 / 600 on ebay drebhaklett MarketPlace 0 25 February 2005 02:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15125 seconds with 14 queries