English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 October 2016, 13:32   #1
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
Space bar on A1200 is dead. Do i need a new keyboard?

hey guys

after opening my case to find out why my a1200 wouldnt turn on it eventually sprang back to life.

unfortunately now the space bar doesnt work.

i pulled out and checked the ribbon that goes into the white box which sits on the motherboard and cleaned it with a hanky.

looks clean and no damage but spacebar wont work. all other keys are fine

ive read about cutting the ribbon to create a fresh set of tracks? scares me to think i might do more damage lol

would it be easier to just buy a new keyboard and do you know any reputable sellers on ebay for this sort of thing?

thanks for any help
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 16:50   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,637
Could be that the pads on the keyboard membrane is just worn out.

Try to dismantle the keyboard, clean the contact for the space bar (both the fork-like rubber thing below the key and the black pad on the membrane, then draw on the pad using a pencil.
idrougge is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 18:24   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,992
And I wouldn't try to cut the membrane, it has never worked right for me.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 24 October 2016, 17:51   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I never had to do the membrane cutting to a 1200. If ONLY the space bar is bad, it probably has to do with that key's pad on the membrane and not with the contacts on the connector (I don't think the space bar is on its own data line but I could be wrong). Try what idrougge suggests, otherwise I'd get a new membrane.
Akira is offline  
Old 24 October 2016, 18:05   #5
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
thanks guys, il give it a go and try and clean it up

ive seen a replacement keyboard on ebay for around £25

or i could spend another £50 and get an entire working a1200 lol

so we shall see...
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 24 October 2016, 18:15   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
You only need the membrane, not the whole keyboard.
Akira is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 10:39   #7
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 134
The space bar is a matrixed key not an individually addressed so if it's the only key not working the problem is with the contact at the switch and not the ribbon cable. The space bar takes a bashing and this wear and tear makes it more likely to fail so try cleaning the membrane and swap the key plunger with one that isn't so important e.g. one from the numeric keypad.
IanP is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 18:17   #8
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
The space bar is a matrixed key not an individually addressed so if it's the only key not working the problem is with the contact at the switch and not the ribbon cable. The space bar takes a bashing and this wear and tear makes it more likely to fail so try cleaning the membrane and swap the key plunger with one that isn't so important e.g. one from the numeric keypad.

thanks. i have nothing to loose by having a play and your explanation gives me confindence it can be repaired
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 27 October 2016, 01:22   #9
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 928
The 'S' key on my 600 suddenly stopped working
So I popped it off and now it works --- weird ?!?!
Nobby_UK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 dead keyboard replaced but still not working properly Amiga500Forever support.Hardware 8 12 February 2017 14:12
A4000 keyboard: space bar not working DarrenHD support.Hardware 8 24 August 2014 21:55
Amiga 500 ION ITX PC Mashup. ElectroBlaster Hardware mods 0 30 April 2013 00:47
A1200 Dead ? Wasagi support.Hardware 20 02 July 2010 00:16
Premiere - space bar skips levels? MethodGit project.WHDLoad 8 18 April 2007 18:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07167 seconds with 13 queries