English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2013, 22:13   #1
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
RMB not working on A1200 with Mouse Adapter

I just got an A1200 motherboard, and after setting it up I found that when using my USB mouse adapter I bought from Ebay a few weeks ago (I don't have a proper Amiga mouse to test), the Right Mouse Button does not work. I tried more than one mouse.

Interestingly, when I press LMB + RMB while booting I *DO* get to the boot menu...

I tried a little program called 'FixRMB', but it just seems to force right mouse button down all the time as I cannot get rid of the Workbench menu at all after running it.

Help please


PS. This is the adapter I bought: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Amiga-USB-mouse-adapter-Brand-new-/120814385754?pt=UK_VintageComputing_RL&hash=item1c21193a5a/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=120814385754
Nostromo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 November 2013, 00:32   #2
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 564
The problem here is that when a microcontroller drives the RMB pin low, it doesn't drive the voltage low enough for some Amigas to register a button press.

I'm surprised this isn't common knowledge among mouse adapter developers now, because RMBFix was written for the EyeTech EZMouse, like 15 years ago. It works by turning off the Amiga's internal pullup on the RMB pin, but that only works if the adapter itself has a pullup. If it doesn't then the button appears to be stuck down all the time.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 00:42   #3
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Interesting...

Robinsonb5 - can what you've explained vary from one amiga to another as I might have the same issue with a mouse but which works on my mate's amiga.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 01:04   #4
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
Robinsonb5 - can what you've explained vary from one amiga to another as I might have the same issue with a mouse but which works on my mate's amiga.
Yes, it definitely varies from Amiga to Amiga - which is why it seems to have snuck past the design-and-testing stage of so many mouse adapters!
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 12:16   #5
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 572
Interesting. Not sure if I'm suffering from the same thing coz in my case it seems to improve once I've loaded up a game!!??!!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 12:46   #6
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
The problem here is that when a microcontroller drives the RMB pin low, it doesn't drive the voltage low enough for some Amigas to register a button press.

I'm surprised this isn't common knowledge among mouse adapter developers now, because RMBFix was written for the EyeTech EZMouse, like 15 years ago. It works by turning off the Amiga's internal pullup on the RMB pin, but that only works if the adapter itself has a pullup. If it doesn't then the button appears to be stuck down all the time.
So in other words I have been just unlucky and the best bet is a real Amiga mouse?
Nostromo is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 17:00   #7
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
So in other words I have been just unlucky and the best bet is a real Amiga mouse?
or, if you're keen, add a small transistor to your adapter which will drive the pin lower. Or, use RMBFix and add a large pullup resistor to the adapter..

Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
Interesting...

Robinsonb5 - can what you've explained vary from one amiga to another as I might have the same issue with a mouse but which works on my mate's amiga.
it will differ between amigas, but it should not depend on the usb/ps2 mouse, only the adapter..

Last edited by hooverphonique; 26 November 2013 at 16:53. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 19:26   #8
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 572
I'm experiencing this sort of problem with a wireless optical mouse modified to work on the amiga.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 26 November 2013, 07:04   #9
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
I just tested my A1200 with a proper Amiga mouse and it worked fine, including RMB.
Nostromo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga PS/2 mouse adapter available now. Mounty MarketPlace 47 09 August 2014 18:20
They're here - the new MKII £9.99 PS/2 mouse adapter! ! Mounty MarketPlace 22 23 July 2013 06:54
"MiggyMouse" PS/2 mouse adapter bundled with brand new optical mouse. Mounty MarketPlace 6 30 January 2013 10:50
USB Mouse Adapter not working on A1200 clebin support.Hardware 5 29 May 2012 12:31
Make an A1200-PS2 mouse adapter Dreamcast270mhz support.Hardware 4 16 October 2009 00:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06750 seconds with 15 queries