English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2013, 01:28   #1
juanmoreira
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 12
NTSC Amiga 600 on SCART UK TV

Hello,
Does anybody know if I can connect an NTSC Amiga 600 (bought in the US) to an RGB SCART TV (bought in the UK) using one of those SCART Lead TV Cables that can be found on ebay?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Commodore-Am...item3a627c9e5f

Thank you!
juanmoreira is offline  
Old 05 November 2013, 10:14   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Yes in 50Hz modes. Probably yes in 60Hz modes if the TV was made in the last 15 years.

I recommend that you ask if the cable is wired correctly

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=47281
alexh is offline  
Old 05 November 2013, 15:47   #3
juanmoreira
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 12
Thank you. Please excuse the fact that I'm a total ignorant here.
The TV was made in the last 15 years and supports RGB scart. (I use it with a ZX Spectrum 128K and the picture quality is amazing). My question is: How do you switch Hz modes? (50Hz, 60Hz)
Thanks!
juanmoreira is offline  
Old 05 November 2013, 16:07   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanmoreira View Post
My question is: How do you switch Hz modes? (50Hz, 60Hz)
Thanks!

You don't. The Amiga delivers 50Hz in PAL and 60Hz in NTSC mode. The TV has to support 60Hz in order to display NTSC correctly (most TVs made in the last 15 years do, hence the question).
thomas is offline  
Old 05 November 2013, 19:40   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,959
With an NTSC A600 you might well want to switch modes, in the sense of forcing the A600 to PAL mode, when booting PAL games. You can hold both mouse buttons to get to the boot menu then press a key to toggle between 50Hz and 60Hz. There are also various utilities like Degrader, AmigaToPAL etc. that could help.

Your TV should automatically handle both modes, increasing the vertical size in 60Hz mode.
mark_k is offline  
Old 05 November 2013, 20:09   #6
juanmoreira
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 12
That's awesome. Thank you guys for your help.
juanmoreira is offline  
Old 06 November 2013, 01:08   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
You can hold both mouse buttons to get to the boot menu then press a key to toggle between 50Hz and 60Hz
That is a kickstart 3.1 only feature
alexh is offline  
Old 08 November 2013, 13:01   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,494
Toggling between 50/60hz in early startup only affects the early startup menu. It does NOT affect which mode the Amiga boots in.

It's pretty cool that the OP lives in Sherman Oaks, SKR used to have an address there.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 22 November 2013, 18:50   #9
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,291
^ not true, you can make it boot to NTSC/PAL. You don't do it by just hitting a key, you select which mode and then click on the boot button on the screen.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 22 November 2013, 18:58   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
^ not true, you can make it boot to NTSC/PAL. You don't do it by just hitting a key, you select which mode and then click on the boot button on the screen.
In any case it's pointless as most A600s do NOT come with 3.1 therefore this feature does not exist.

I used to use DEGRADER to force the machine into a mode before boot, because even if you switch from commandline, some games switch it back. DEGRADER can force a mode after reboot if you want. It's consistent and great, and beats making a real 50/60 switch in your Amiga. Risk free.
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTSC A500 Pal/NTSC mod pics kipper2k Hardware pics 2 29 March 2009 07:56
WTB a Japanese SCART to European SCART converter... keropi MarketPlace 5 12 September 2008 16:58
Amiga 600 PAL with a 1084S-P NTSC enito support.Hardware 3 27 February 2008 13:41
Amiga Scart leads Mike UK New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 31 January 2007 14:35
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 03:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07020 seconds with 15 queries