English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 October 2016, 23:18   #1
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
AOS 4.1 problems on A4000T

I really do not get this.

Have installed this before with any issue.

After gotten my Cyberstorm repaired a while a go I have let it be for a while because of other projects.

Now I tried installing AOS 4.1FE and I get so far as to run Media Toolbox, right until the moment I try to save it to disk.

Then I get "Couldn't writew RDB to disk! Write error in sector 0".
I have tried several disks, and even got "new" disk that I would be very surprised of having any contact with an Amiga in their life.

I also tried a Jaz drive, and there I could write to disk, but sadly not install to it.

Probably tried 3-4 disk, and same problem an all of them.

I have active termination at the beginning and end of disk. Only other unit on chain is a cd-rom.

Hdd has id 0, cd-rom has id 1,m and Jaz(when installed) has id 4.

Tried to change RDBBlocksLo from 0-4, and no difference.

Also tried low level format one of the HDDs I have tried, but still nothing.

Any ideas of what is going on.

Don't have a working SCSI controller in a PC, so can't try via emulation.
Viserion is offline  
Old 20 October 2016, 08:35   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,695
Try HDToolbox from OS 3 or SCSITools from the CybPPC SCSI tools disk.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 October 2016, 23:07   #3
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Think I am going to give up on this till I get a SCSI card I can use in my PC.

Tried most of today to get it working.

With HDInstTools I can save and change the HD, but when starting Media tools it claims part of RDB is damaged and something was lost/truncated.

I am there for back to start regarding installing OS 4.1 FE.

There are also problems with CD-rom sometimes not being recognized. Missing uaefx.device or something like that.

This is to my knowledge part of the *uae emulating/custom drivers for the Amiga.

Some times it will load sometimes not. Can't understand why it do one thing or the other.

AS the CPU is a 060 it's a bit difficult too boot from floppy(gotek), to test from os3 or the cybppc disk as I could not get it to boot.
Viserion is offline  
Old 27 October 2016, 21:27   #4
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 259
Got some news.

Swapped the SCSI cable, and now it saves to disk, installs and boots.
New cable is a bit short, and not enough connectors.

Very impractical that Phase 5 didn't add termination to the card.

Next is to get the Adriane detected and working, and also the ATAPI zip drive to be detected.
Viserion is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000T OS 4.1 X-surf 100 problems Viserion support.Hardware 38 17 January 2017 16:15
Problems A4000T cyberstorm and OS4.1FE Viserion support.Hardware 9 18 July 2016 20:18
A4000T won't boot with A4000T ROMs, but boots with A4000D ROMs 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 13 16 December 2015 19:47
Help debugging differences and problems between aos and aros68k wawa Coders. System 1 23 April 2014 21:04
A4000T + Dead Battery = problems?? Dougal support.Hardware 8 13 September 2010 21:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05760 seconds with 15 queries