English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: What Amiga do you game on? ("region")
I play NTSC games on my NTSC Amiga and the PAL ones that work. 1 3.57%
My outlet is 60Hz, but I have a converter to play all the PAL games. 0 0%
My outlet is 50Hz, and play PAL games. 22 78.57%
I game on emulators, so I can do both. 3 10.71%
Other (comment if you want!) 2 7.14%
Voters: 28. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 19:33   #1
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,550
POLL: What Amigas do you game on?

We began talking in another thread about NTSC ports and vice versa back in the day. Or at least I started thinking and got curious. How many American Amiga Fans retrogame, and what do we game on NOW?

Answers could help convince a dev to tune/port a game to the faster framerate!

(If you do more than one of the above, please vote for the one you do most, or would like to do most. And all answers except the PAL one for European etc gamers could help give an idea for devs regarding NTSC. I.e. if you emulate mostly, put that and since most PC and phone screens do 60Hz, not 50, this is informative.)

Last edited by Photon; Yesterday at 20:21.
Photon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:07   #2
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,200
On my Amiga 1000, as it is NTSC only, I only play NTSC games on it. ;-)
On my A1200, I use an RGB monitor. It boots in 60hz, and I use a PAL WB.
I use WHDLOAD to run almost everything there in PAL, unless it needs NTSC.
(Which reminds me of a complaint about WHDLOAD. Unless it has changed, I can set a default PAL for all games, but then I can't set specific games for NTSC or it complains because I have it set twice. So I have to set each game manually.)
Generally that works, EXCEPT...
There are a few non-WHDLOAD games that don't automatically pop into PAL mode. (I think Tanks Fury??? One of the SQRXZ games?)
So for those, I need to reboot my Amiga and go into early boot to force PAL.
Not a huge hassle, but something I wish wasn't necessary...
(Yes, I realize I could bend out a pin on Alice to force PAL all the time, but I am hesitant to do so..)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:15   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,126
I voted for "I game on emulators, so I can do both."

...but even in emulation I never use NTSC as that's not how I remember things in terms of display, timings, being sped up.

Back in the day though it was PAL; being from Australia.
DamienD is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:35   #4
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I voted for "I game on emulators, so I can do both."

...but even in emulation I never use NTSC as that's not how I remember things in terms of display, timings, being sped up.

Back in the day though it was PAL; being from Australia.
That's excellent, and even with emulators it's still up to which games got ports - but some PAL-only games (especially non-action-intense games) could play smoothly at 60 FPS in WHDLoad with an accelerator. Others might stutter regardless of acceleration.

Some games may already require acceleration, for example, and then if the devs want to support Amigas/emulators @ 60 Hz, they could port or add a mode to make it smoother on modern or NTSC screens. (But: if they target A500, it will be a very hard ask to suddenly make their already optimized game suddenly run 17% faster. )

And what you refer to is the tuning of the gameplay. In action games, the difficulty is affected by the framerate, unless there's separate tuning of the gameplay as well (for 'demanding type action games).
Photon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:45   #5
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 425
What about an option for RTG? Also if you can software force 60hz on a PAL system (I don't know if you can or not) an option for I have a Tri-Sync broadcast monitor so can play anything odd you through at it?
kgc210 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:18   #6
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgc210 View Post
What about an option for RTG? Also if you can software force 60hz on a PAL system (I don't know if you can or not) an option for I have a Tri-Sync broadcast monitor so can play anything odd you through at it?
This is why I put Other. There are quite a few combos, f.ex. I just found out on my same poll on Facebook that someone runs a PAL Amiga in an NTSC country, with Indivision 60Hz display.

But this poll is about the classic "trouble with NTSC and PAL games" - compare to console games, "regions", etc. When you've bought an RTG card, you've sort of made yourself free from this region business. The game doesn't need adaption (other than to fix any bugs with a specific gfx card, just like on PC etc., i.e. not region).

So I guess you could either put Other if you game mostly on RTG, but if you have a dual display setup to run old and new games made for NTSC/PAL and game mostly on the other display, you should select region.
Photon is offline  
Old Yesterday, 21:23   #7
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 425
I put other as the option as I can play anything some one decides to make
kgc210 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:55   #8
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
On my Amiga 1000, as it is NTSC only, I only play NTSC games on it. ;-)

There are a few non-WHDLOAD games that don't automatically pop into PAL mode. (I think Tanks Fury??? One of the SQRXZ games?)
So for those, I need to reboot my Amiga and go into early boot to force PAL.
Not a huge hassle, but something I wish wasn't necessary...
(Yes, I realize I could bend out a pin on Alice to force PAL all the time, but I am hesitant to do so..)

desiv

You need some tools called PAL, BootPAL or AmigatoPAL. You run these right before you run that program and it opens up in PAL mode.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old Today, 00:13   #9
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
You need some tools called PAL, BootPAL or AmigatoPAL. You run these right before you run that program and it opens up in PAL mode.
Thanx, I was aware of BootPAL which I thought would just reboot the Amiga into PAL mode. That could work, but it's another step.


The AmigatoPAL looks promising... (Just looked it up on Aminet)
I'll test it out.


Thanx!


desiv
desiv is offline  
Old Today, 00:24   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,132
Yeah, I'd also put down RTG, and when I was using a CRT I would run applications and Workbench in an NTSC mode to eliminate the flicker. But whenever I play a game on native screenmodes, it's PAL/50.
Daedalus is offline  
Old Today, 04:29   #11
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,319
Now: I game on emulators, so I can do both.

Used to: I play NTSC games on my NTSC Amiga 500 and the PAL ones that work. Most of my collection is NTSC patched.

Occasionally: My outlet is 60Hz, but I have A1200 to play all the PAL games.
demoniac is offline  
Old Today, 06:51   #12
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,612
You're lacking the option to play NTSC games on a PAL Amiga. I often set the NTSC flag in WHDLoad on American games, or even European games that run in 320x200.
idrougge is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New game - poll Epo Retrogaming General Discussion 14 17 September 2018 23:04
Elfie - The Unicorn - new game for classic amigas Foxman News 15 30 July 2018 10:49
Yoomp! game on OCS Amigas. Toni Galvez Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 27 March 2018 09:09
New comercial game for classick amigas.. for two years?? utri007 News 0 21 December 2005 11:29
Hardest Fantasy Strategy Game Poll EVER!!! Zetr0 Nostalgia & memories 20 01 December 2005 15:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06993 seconds with 16 queries