English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2017, 18:06   #21
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Yeah if you definitely want the accelerated Amiga, Fúria is an amazing option.
I Would suggest the 4MB/8MB Fast RAM adapter route IF kipper would be available to sell them to you. It seems to me he is only focused on Vampire now which is a great shame

So yeah that Fúria without FPU is basically what an ACA620 used to cost but better performing, I would totally get it!

The only disadvantage I see to the Fúria is that you need to disable some RAM to access PCMCIA. ACA620 doesn't need that and all RAM is available with PCMCIA compatibility intact (10MB or so of Fast RAM). Since I use PCMCIA all the time, this would be a pain in the ass for me at first.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 February 2017, 19:22   #22
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,612
I use an old Sandisk card with my Furia. No problems there.

I agree about the PCMCIA, it saddens me each time I have to restart the A600 and lose 4 MB just to use a LAN card.
idrougge is online now  
Old 23 February 2017, 22:38   #23
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Yeah if you definitely want the accelerated Amiga, Fúria is an amazing option.
I Would suggest the 4MB/8MB Fast RAM adapter route IF kipper would be available to sell them to you. It seems to me he is only focused on Vampire now which is a great shame

So yeah that Fúria without FPU is basically what an ACA620 used to cost but better performing, I would totally get it!

The only disadvantage I see to the Fúria is that you need to disable some RAM to access PCMCIA. ACA620 doesn't need that and all RAM is available with PCMCIA compatibility intact (10MB or so of Fast RAM). Since I use PCMCIA all the time, this would be a pain in the ass for me at first.
On the Furia, if you hold down Amiga+Amiga+Alt to reboot, but hold them down for 3 seconds, it reboots and cuts the RAM to 4MB and the PCMCIA slot works again, TBH its not really a hassle. The Furia performs on a par with an ACA630, and that runs a 68030. i cant recommend it enough.


Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 23 February 2017, 22:40   #24
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 43
Posts: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
Great setup That's pretty much what I'd want! Any problems with whdload games?
It works very well. There are the odd games that can crash but usually they can be fixed by adding NOCACHE or NOAUTOVEC in the games tooltype options.
Superman is offline  
Old 24 February 2017, 03:21   #25
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 76
I just picked up an A600 and am "pimping it out" so to speak. Personally, I prefer stock machines that run mostly as originally designed. If I wanted a FAST Amiga, I'd get a 4000 or just use FS-UAE. Anyway, I have upgraded the ROM to 3.1 from Amikit, bought an Individual Computers A604N for 2MB chip RAM, picked up a 4MB PCMCIA SRAM for fast RAM off of eBay, and swapped out the 40MB HD for a CF card reader also form eBay. That should make a "close to stock" WHDLoad machine. I love old-skewl floppies, so I kept the original floppy drive.
mattsoft is offline  
Old 24 February 2017, 07:31   #26
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsoft View Post
I just picked up an A600 and am "pimping it out" so to speak. Personally, I prefer stock machines that run mostly as originally designed. If I wanted a FAST Amiga, I'd get a 4000 or just use FS-UAE. Anyway, I have upgraded the ROM to 3.1 from Amikit, bought an Individual Computers A604N for 2MB chip RAM, picked up a 4MB PCMCIA SRAM for fast RAM off of eBay, and swapped out the 40MB HD for a CF card reader also form eBay. That should make a "close to stock" WHDLoad machine. I love old-skewl floppies, so I kept the original floppy drive.
I like that approach also, but I still want to run most of the whdload slaves, which is not possible with plain 68000. Or that's at least what I've understood. Some people have upgraded the cpu to 68010 for the quit key to work.
emuola is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 07:06   #27
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 438
Now she's ready

-JuneBug rev 1.1 (caps replaced)
-Furia (without fpu)
-A604n
-Ide riser
-Ide to SD converter
-MicroSD to MicroSD extension cable (through an SD/MicroSD adapter) to make the sd accessible from the back without opening the computer
-32GB MicroSD with PFS3 (I know, way too much disk space...)
-KS3.1

Works like a charm

The MicroSD to MicroSD extension cable is very handy and super cheap, check here

A few pics. It ain't pretty, but it works perfectly

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5a...ew?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5a...ew?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5a...ew?usp=sharing

Sorry about the picture quality :/
emuola is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 15:04   #28
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
Now she's ready

-JuneBug rev 1.1 (caps replaced)
-Furia (without fpu)
-A604n
-Ide riser
-Ide to SD converter
-MicroSD to MicroSD extension cable (through an SD/MicroSD adapter) to make the sd accessible from the back without opening the computer
-32GB MicroSD with PFS3 (I know, way too much disk space...)
-KS3.1

Works like a charm

The MicroSD to MicroSD extension cable is very handy and super cheap, check here

A few pics. It ain't pretty, but it works perfectly

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5a...ew?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5a...ew?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5a...ew?usp=sharing

Sorry about the picture quality :/
nice

what did you think of the Furia then? i have two of them with FPU, but only because it wasn't much more expensive.
Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 16:08   #29
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 438
Furia works great 👍 The computer seems to be very fast indeed and I have not encountered any compatibility problems with whdload etc. I chose he model without fpu, because only a few games use it.
emuola is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 16:09   #30
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 438
Also the Furia produces only a little heat compared to aca620
emuola is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 16:52   #31
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I See no point on a 604n unless you want a Clockport (what for?)
What for? For USB. I refuse to use any Amiga without USB expansion. USB mouse is so much more accurate and responsive and even though PCMCIA + CF card or network card can be used to transfer files, using USB sticks are so much easier.

Of course if ONLY use case is WHDLoad then it really does not matter. That's what I thought also. But when I bought Furia it was so fast that using workbench and testing out software out there became interesting. And then USB became handy.

Ps. I really love my Furia. Even though I now have Vampire, it still is very solid performer and I just built another A600 so that I can use Furia again...
jarp is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 17:15   #32
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarp View Post
What for? For USB. I refuse to use any Amiga without USB expansion.
You're a special case. I am sure 99% of people have no need for that.
My point was that it is not an essential thing. Far from it. Especially when adding USB functionality to an Amiga comes at a steep price.

Also all your favorite games are not going to work with your fancy USB controllers and mice...
Akira is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 11:15   #33
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
The A604n is primarily a 1MB CHIP RAM upgrade - to add value to the product there is a RTC clock, Indivision ECS expansion port and a Clock Port - great ways to add value to the product for the end user without to much outlay to ensure the product sits in a reasonable price range for its primary function.

I am lucky to have an A600 equipped ACA620 + indivision ECS + A604n LOL My A600 sponsored by Individual Computers LOL - this little monster sits alongside my other A600 with a Vamp2 A600 and A604n - I need to invest in a clock port based USB adaptor - or hack a Zorro one in .... hmmmm Thylacine 600 anyone ?
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whdload A600 with 2mb Chipram - Tips, Questions and suggestions Shatterhand project.WHDLoad 59 08 February 2016 13:53
A few suggestions Eclipse HOL suggestions and feedback 4 09 March 2011 21:19
A few suggestions thomas request.UAE Wishlist 14 10 March 2009 22:11
Suggestions killergorilla request.UAE Wishlist 7 09 September 2005 12:46
Your Suggestions Mick_AKA support.Hardware 5 15 July 2002 04:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10103 seconds with 15 queries