English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2019, 07:44   #1
superfrog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, USA
Posts: 136
Incorrect ROM ID strings for A1200 Blizzard hardware

This is a minor issue, but one that did cause me a few minutes of genuine confusion, and it seems like an easy fix. The main ROM scanner returns incorrect ID strings for some of the A1200 Blizzard ROMs. I'm talking about the main ROM scanner--on the Paths panel--not the ROM ID strings for devices on the Expansions panel, which are correct.

The relevant ROMs are listed below. The incorrect IDs are indicated with a '*' followed by the correct strings that should appear instead. The SCSI ROMs don't ID by themselves, because these SCSI devices are add-ons for accelerators, and cannot function independently. The device ROMs they depend on are also listed below, but the dependencies are all correct.

As you may recall, the Blizzard 1230-IV and Blizzard 1260 accelerators both use the same SCSI ROM--the Blizzard SCSI Kit IV--but will show up as different devices depending on which accelerator it is used with.

ROM File Present | Scanner Identifies As

Blizzard 1230-III | Blizzard 1230-III

*Blizzard SCSI Kit III | Blizzard 1260 (Dep: Blizzard 1230-III)
Should be: | Blizzard 1230-III/SCSI

Blizzard 1230-IV | Blizzard 1230-IV

*Blizzard SCSI Kit IV | Blizzard 1230-III/SCSI (Dep: Blizzard 1230-IV)
Should be: | Blizzard 1230-IV/SCSI

*Blizzard 1240/1260 | Blizzard 1230-IV/SCSI
Should be: | Blizzard 1260

Blizzard SCSI Kit IV | Blizzard 1260/SCSI (Dep: Blizzard 1260)

* = Incorrect Identification
All Dependencies Are Correct

Thanks!

Last edited by superfrog; 08 November 2019 at 07:49. Reason: Make borders between fields in table easier to see
superfrog is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 20:02   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,358
"ROM ID string" does not mean much..

Do you mean the text box that lists detected stuff after scan? It is known to have crap design and lacks also many new items..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 01:43   #3
superfrog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, USA
Posts: 136
Yes, I am referring to the text box that appears after doing a ROM scan from the Paths panel.

I am aware that the list has not been kept up to date, and that the benefits of doing so probably outweigh the required effort. I only chime in about this particular instance of ROM (mis)identification, because it results in output of incorrect or misleading information, which as I said, caused me some confusion.

The internal logic is already in place and works correctly; only 3 strings need to be changed for the output to be correct.
superfrog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sell Blizzard 1230 and buy Blizzard 1260 for A1200 gntavelis support.Hardware 29 29 October 2014 12:30
IK+ incorrect sound (CD32/A1200) Ian support.WinUAE 12 23 August 2013 09:17
A1200 + Blizzard 1260 + Blizzard SCSI + ACard + CF test setup Toni Wilen Hardware pics 69 18 August 2011 14:49
WTS: Blizzard PPC hardware for A1200 Vairn MarketPlace 8 19 November 2010 00:09
A1200 / Blizzard 1230IV / CD Rom Problems - Please Help [Mr_L] support.Hardware 6 07 January 2004 18:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05784 seconds with 13 queries